Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ridge View Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 480 students

We have made AYP every year since opening our doors!

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 18, 2013

My family loves this school! Ridge View has a beautiful campus. The teachers are excellent and seem to work extremely hard to ensure the children's experience is a positive one. My daughter has actually expressed disappointed when the weekend comes and she doesn't get to go to school! I did not have any experiences with the principal mentioned in the previous reviews, but I can say that the new principal (Mr. Johnston) has been a pleasure! He seems to genuinely care for his students and staff. He encourages suggestions and has always taken time out of his day to address my concerns when I call or stop in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

I agree 100% with the previous Nov 2010 reviewer who said the teachers are great, but does not know how the principal obtained his job. There is absolutely no leadership from him. If it wasn't for the shoddy principal, I would give this school 5 stars. The teachers go above and beyond to help our kids succeed. They are excellent. The principal is waiting out his tenure until retirement. And this school is K-3, not K-4.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2011

Ridgeview is a great school with great teachers. My son loves going to school and the entire staff is dedicated to the children. Love this place!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

Love this school! The teachers are amazing and they really care about the kids. The PTC is very active and so is the principal. I soon will have 3 kids in this school and would not send them there if I did not think they were amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2011

My son attends this school and every teacher I have met is AWESOME! They picked up that he needed Speech Therapy, and they got him in the program and it is already helping. I love that they do the "walk to read" program so they group the kids according to their needs. The principal is hands-on and is great. He knows my child by name and he is often in the classroom checking on things. There is many aids, and they have many programs to help the children that need extra help like my son. This is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

I would rate this school lower except I do like the teachers. I am not sure how the principal got the job. I have a disabled child as well whose needs have not been met and had to fight the school. The teachers are great, but do not have the backing of the district and I feel bad for them Its definitely left up to the parents and the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

Great place to educate! A source of excellent education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2006

We love the school. Excellent location within River Rock subdivision, great teachers, great space!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

The teachers I have met here are great! My daughter is disabled and she is now starting 1st grade. Her kindergarten teacher was the best. I felt that her needs were being met. The resource teacher is awesome. She really cares about the kids and their familes. I am looking forward to another great year for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students89%
Black or African Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic91%
Participates in free/reduced lunch80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students96%
Black or African Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic97%
Participates in free/reduced lunch88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Studentsn/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanicn/a
Participates in free/reduced lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanicn/a
Participates in free/reduced lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanicn/a
Participates in free/reduced lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 81%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 12%
Black 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Academic Achievement Award (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mat Johnston, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (406) 388-4569

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Girl scouts
  • Girls on the run
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Belgrade Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

117 Green Belt Dr
Belgrade, MT 59714
Website: Click here
Phone: (406) 924-2037

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Monforton School
Bozeman, MT


Springhill School
Belgrade, MT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT