Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grace Montessori Academy

Private | PK-6 | 130 students

Christian Foundation & Low Teacher/Student ratio

 

Living in Billings

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $173,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 14, 2014

Love the Montessori philosophy, however, I was very disappointed with our experience at this school. I'm quite sure it was teacher specific as the principal was very pleasant to work with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

GMA is a cut above the rest. My son has learned so many valuable lessons in such a short time. I love knowing he is starting out with such a great foundation for a lifetime of learning. Thanks to the entire staff and other parents for your support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

Grace has been amazing for our daughter. She is entering kindergarten next year and will fee already reading. The choices that she is allowed to make with the guidance towards challenging herself has continued her to push herself and excel even further. I highly recommend gma to anyone and everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2014

This school is amazing! The nurturing environment and teachers helps my children flourish. This is an excellent school with an excellent philosophy. I would recommend Grace Montessori Academy to friends and family. My kids love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

LOVE LOVE LOVE what my kids are coming home with daily & LOVE the great communication with the teachers. My children are 9,8,4 & 3 and I feel strongly that they are getting a much better education than when I tried to homeschool them last year whilst running my businesses. I feel like this school couldn't be better & I love the Montessori philosophy too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

Both my kids attended Grace Montessori for pre-K and Kindergarten. I love the opportunities to be involved as a parent. Parents are encouraged to observe and help in the classroom which I didn't find at the other Montessori in town. Teachers truly care about their role and are caring to the kids. The only thing that I've been frustrated with is the teacher turnover rate which I know is difficult to control. That's the only reason I give a 4-star review instead of a 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

As a first-time mom of a preschooler, I did a massive amount of homework prior to enrolling my son. When I chose Grace as our school, I suspected it was a good decision. Since then, I have been absolutely blown away by how incredible our experience has been. From summer camps to "composer of the month," I have been tremendously impressed. And on a daily basis my son is excited to go to school and learn--what more could a parent ask for? The communication is fantastic, teachers are grade-A+ and the head of school takes time for each parent's questions and concerns. I am thrilled and highly recommend Grace Montessori Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

5 years ago a school in Billings Montana Grace Montessori Academy. My only son 3 1/2 at the time was ready for preschool we had not 100% accomplished no accidents 99.9 but not 100% we were enrolled in a different school at the time. I had called to ask that school what would happen if the child DID have an accident? Their answer was NO accidents child must be 100% poddie trained! we never attended that Montessori. Grace Montessori called back Her response , "Their children they probably will and we will graciously help that child as to not embarrass him or her to take care of the problem." add to that an EXCELLENT staff and teachers, Children who are advanced in areas of Math, science, Language, and did I add they pray! for the sick, the homeless, family members of other children, they sing grace before a meal, and are taught peace keepers to calmly solve disagreements between each other. It is a small school branching out that can use all the help they can get. Most of the financial comes from parents. Please consider our little school where LOVE of children and education meet and grow! Thank you for your consideration many Blessings
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2013

Our grandchildren attend Grace Montessori Academy and seem to flourish there. When asked "how was school today", they always reply with great enthusiasm..."It was good!". We really feel good about them being there and having the individual hands on approach to learning at their own pace. We feel that there students are not being held back if some in the class may not have progressed as quickly as others.


Posted October 3, 2013

Wonderful learning environment where the students are put first. Grace has the most wonderful leadership, teachers and parents. I highly recommend Grace Montessori Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

We moved to Billings, MT from Rochester, NY this past July. While we were looking at different preschools in the area, Grace Montessori stood out in every way. They had the best student to teacher ratio, the best materials in the classroom and educational philosophy (combining both Christian values with Montessori). My son had a difficult time adjusting to preschool but the teachers were so patient, loving and kind with him. My husband and I are very happy with Grace Montessori. We would wholeheartedly recommend Grace Montessori to anyone looking for quality education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

We love the school and the sense of community! We would recommend this school to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

This school is a blessing to our community. I am so glad my child can be in a school with a christian foundation. I really love the hands on approach and the ability for my child to work at her pace. It is wonderful that the student/teacher ratio is so low. (1/10 in Preschool/Kindergarten. 1/12 in elementary.). The classroom environment is very peaceful which I believe helps my child have a wonderful learning experience. I would highly recommend Grace Montessori Academy to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

The staff is amazing at GMA. They encourage growth in all of their students, and truly lead in a caring way. Watching the growth in my child has been amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

I am a parent of a child who attends Grace Montessori Academy and I am thrilled that my child goes to this school. It is a loving, Christian environment filled with hands-on, age appropriate materials. My child loves his school and his fellow classmates. His learning environment is safe and clean. He comes home happy everyday. He likes his teachers and always comes home with new information and better manners than his father and I have taught to him. We like the Montessori program, which allows students to learn and explore new skills and lessons on their own. Teachers are there to support and guide students in the process of everyday learning. I give this school and big thumbs up and five stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2013

Our daughters are thriving in Grace Montessori's nurturing and engaging environment. They are excited about challenging themselves, and the best part is the Montessori program sets them up for success! I love that the kids are empowered to make choices, be independent thinkers and responsible members of the classroom. Parent involvement is encouraged and there is a real sense of community. The student:teacher ratios are ideal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 81%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Black 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Theory

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 4:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mary Beth Gregory
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • None
Fax number
  • (406) 655-2161

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • Crystal's House Day Care
School facilities
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Monitor the playground
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
130
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
150

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

125 25th St W
Billings, MT 59102
Website: Click here
Phone: (406) 652-1739

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Meadowlark School
Billings, MT



Burlington School
Billings, MT





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT