Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Billings West High School

Public | 9-12 | 1958 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2014

I absolute love this school! I am a junior at west high. There is a lot of diversity at this school which makes it even cooler to be a part of this school. I am a varsity cheerleader, track and field athlete, and a member of BPA (Business Professionals of America). The teachers here are great (most of them) and I wouldn't want to go to any other high school. The administrative office is decent. It could be better! Being a part of west high teaches you a lot about what the real world is going to end up being. I've never been treated differently because my parents don't have as much as others. Being involved in things at this school really helps either being scared of going to a new school or just you want new friends! I'm very proud to call West High my high school!


Posted July 31, 2013

This school took a lot out of me in the past four years. Whether it was power drunk teachers, snobby students, or mistreatment of me as an athlete, I always felt like I was on trial there. Not a good learning environment.


Posted June 7, 2013

Awful. The staff and head members have no regard for the students' wellbeing and fail to treat them as equals. Sports are absolutely glamorised and the clubs/band are mediocre at best, making it hard to even want to participate in extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2009

I have nothing but good things to say about west high. my daughter is a good student, good grades, not a trouble maker, piercings all over her face, dresses different, and is friends with everyone. Rich, not rich, 'Prep, Emo, Goth, Jocks' It does not matter at this school. I have never had a problem with my daughter being accepted by teachers or students.The diversity is great!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

Both of my kids attended West High School and both had horrible experiences. This school favors sports over academics and the acceptance of diversity is poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

This school is great. Im not rich and im surrounded by loads of good friends. I just finshed my freshman year. I think everything is amazing and the teachers are great and I loved the freshman acadamy and everything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2008

This school is amazing and I disagree with the previous comment. Yes, there are some rich kids here, but all us students are very accepting of everyone. There is much less violence and less drug use here than all of the other Billings schools. It is also one of the best schools when it comes to learning and education, and the teachers are excellent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2008

This school is like any other rich school...either your rich and have a lot of friends...or you don't have any money and people (rich kids) treat you like garbage!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2008

This school is an awesome school. It has little violence and great discipline along with a widely accepted diversity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2007

My son started this year in 10th grade. I was not afraid of the size of the school, I myself went to a bigger school back east and was able to get a great education. Living in a smaller town after moving to Montana, I was very unhappy with that school having such a smaller amount of children you would have thought that the students would experience that one on one education, but they didnt. My son is accomplishing more in just a few months here at West, the parents I have come in contact with have been wonderful, and it shows in all the friends my son has made, in such a short time. He is so very happy and excited to go to school each day and that means alot to me. I have met all of his teachers and I think they are wonderful. Good Work West.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2005

West High has the best music programs in the District! Overcrowding is an issue, but one that is being addressed for 2005-06. Teachers are, for the most part, very good and this school scores very well on standardized testing. The best parent involvement in the State!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2004

I am a student at West High and as a freshman this year it turned out to be a lot better than I had expected. As a straight A student in middle school I usually looked foreward to going back to school, but the summer between 8th and 9th grade I didn't even want to think about it because I was so scared. A privelege to going to West is that almost all freshman go to another building for core classes about 2 miles away. Buses take you there either in the morning before lunch or in the afternoon after lunch. I really enjoyed being out there because it is newer than West and it has less people which only include freshman. Normally people don't look foreward to their core classes but I did just because I really like the teachers. You really didn't ever noticed the higher grades at West.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2004

The school is nice however very crowded. Most of the teachers care about the students and try to help them along, however as in any school there are a few who are either too busy or who knows what to care or help. The school offers many wonderful activites and classes such as sewing, pottery, family life, and jewerly making to name a few. The deans and principal seem to have nothing better to do than call off assemblies meant to boost moral and think of nothing of try to take seniors privilages away because they are unfair to freshmen. This is shown in spirt week when they consider it unfair that freshman have to wait until they are seniors to wear togas.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2013.

463 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

486 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

486 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Black or African American33%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian/Alaskan Native39%
White, not Hispanic67%
Participates in free/reduced lunch42%
Students with disabilities3%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Black or African American83%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian/Alaskan Native82%
White, not Hispanic87%
Participates in free/reduced lunch73%
Students with disabilities31%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Science

All Students47%
Black or African American8%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latino33%
American Indian/Alaskan Native32%
White, not Hispanic51%
Participates in free/reduced lunch30%
Students with disabilities6%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 81%
Hispanic 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 12%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2201 St Johns Ave
Billings, MT 59102
Phone: (406) 281-5600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Day
Billings, MT






Skyview High School
Billings, MT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT