Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Middle Creek Montessori

Private | PK-6 | 130 students

We are best known for strong academics in a peaceful, natural setting.

 

Living in Bozeman

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $208,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $722.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2014

Middle Creek Montessori is a fabulous community school. Small classroom sizes. Awesome teachers who are dedicated to students growth. Both my sons have thrived academically even in those areas that have been challenging. Issues are identified early, solutions are developed and immediately implemented. Students learn more than just the basics. They learn about their community and how they matter within this world. The campus is a fabulous working laboratory which is often incorporated into daily lessons. Beyond MCM, my oldest son continues to succeed academically in middle school. He was definitely prepared for the transition into 6th grade. I would recommend MCM without reservations. It is a great school that cherishes the individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2014

Middle Creek Montessori is everything we could have wished for our boys. Lots of active time outdoors in an incredible setting- a creek in which to get muddy and wet, wide lush lawns for running, gentle animals to pat and enjoy (and raise in the classroom!). The classrooms are full of hands-on activities for learning. We have seen our boys become responsible, enthusiastic learners and classroom leaders. The teachers are involved, warm and caring, AND can enforce discipline and community responsibility when it's needed. The students play smoothly with all ages, not just their age mates- like real life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

If you were to ask, "What montessori school in Bozeman, MT is the best" I would say, " Without a doubt in my mind...Middle Creek Montessori". By far, the combination of MCM's teachers, curriculum, management, facilities, and location truly create an island of paradise for positive learning and development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Top-notch Montessori education located on a beautiful piece of land! We are so happy our daughter attends school here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

MCM is wonderful! Our daughter has been enrolled for three years. We have her in school there because of the emphasis on nature, and the importance of learning to respect the environment and all animals within it. MCM is also very good at ensuring all students are welcome; we are all friends, and exposing the children to the multicultural world around them. Fostering independence and the confidence they can do many things themselves is a focal point within the education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2013

After previous experiences with other Montessori schools in the valley that seemed to involve an element of chaos in their method; we were pleased to find the comfortable, peaceful, and natural outdoor setting that Middle Creek has to offer. The classrooms run at a steady hum as the children work on their projects, help each other, and are guided by the teachers. My son started in the pre-primary room two days a week. His teachers are compassionate and involved, and he matured a great deal after only one month of school. He has learned manners and ways to question his world that I didn't even think to teach him. I also volunteer in the elementary classrooms and assist the students with their reading programs. The teachers at these grade levels are knowledgable, skilled, compassionate professionals who genuinely enjoy their jobs as they guide young ones through the many lessons and manipulatives they have to offer. I have also worked closely with the head of school and the facility's manager. Both individuals take their time to hear out each parent, child, and faculty member. This school is an incredible community to be a part of, I am thankful it is here in the Gallatin valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

I have visited this school often, as a 'friend' of the school; the opportunity for academic achievement is what I see as the number one mission for this school; the administration and skilled staff reflect this mission in a strong way; the environment inside the child is enhanced by the environment in the classroom and also the outdoor environment around the school; a creek runs along one side of the property and safe, supervised exploration by the children is just a joy to see; and having a small selection of chickens, goats, rabbits for the children to care for is a plus for any child.


Posted April 3, 2013

My daughter has attended Middle Creek for five years (preschool and lower elementary) and loved every minute of her experience. It's a wonderful place to learn and grow! She particularly loves the playground with the forest and creek--what child would not?! In the classroom, the children learn the usual math and reading, but also get very excited about science, history and geography while doing some fun projects. In elementary school, they also learn to budget their time well to get all their lessons done, which is a very important life skill. Parental involvement is very much encouraged, and many parents have taken time to come into the class to teach short lessons on all different topics: nutrition, cooking, making butter, etc. Middle Creek opens children's eyes to the exciting world around them and teaches them to love learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2013

Everyday of the ongoing six years my daughter has attended Middle Creek Montessori has been an absolute pleasure. If you want to witness your child develop a true joy and love of learning, in the richest of environments-------check out Middle Creek!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

We worked very hard to send our children to this school...a few years later my children are academically very behind their peers. Socially Middle creek is a train wreck, children do not get disciplined for being violent, rude, disrespectful, you name it. This is NOT a Montessori school, its more like VERY overpriced daycare, with little to no leadership. The board is not at all involved, and they are continually losing the amazing teachers they do have because of the lack of support they receive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

Middle Creek Montessori is an amazing school where children are taught responsibility, independence and the importance of respecting others. My oldest daughter has attended since she was three and a half years old and is currently a curious, thoughtful and challenged 2nd grader in the lower elementary class. My youngest daughter is currently a kindergartener in the Sushine class and is also thriving - reading, exploring and enjoying each day. Middle Creek offers an incredible faculty who truly care about children's needs and appreciate their differences. Go take a tour - I think you'll be impressed by this unique school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

I have five children and looked extensively at schools in Bozeman before choosing Middle Creek Montessori. My 17 year old son, now a high school junior, was a member of the very first elementary class at Middle Creek and looks back at that year as his best year in school. My 19 year old daughter was in the first kindergarten class and returned last summer for a wonderful experience as an assistant teacher in a primary classroom. I also have a twelve year who blossomed from an extremely shy seven year old into a happy, successful student at Middle Creek and completed five years of elementary education in four years. At present I have a ten year old at Middle Creek in fifth grade. He has a wonderful relationship with his teacher and is reading and doing math and science way beyond his grade level. He is also given lots of support and encouragement for areas where he is not as confident (language mechanics, writing). Our youngest child is not yet in school, but joins his older brother for art and PE one day a week. The school has been one of the primary reasons we have remained in Bozeman rather than moving our business to a larger urban environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2011

LOVE Middle Creek Montessori! My oldest started there after we pulled him out of Public school. He is now in the upper El being taught by one of the most amazing teachers ever! She is compassionate and respectful, and has appropriate boundaries for the children. We love it so much our youngest started this year in the Primary Rainbow classroom, which has been wonderful! His teachers are amazing! I feel so blessed to have found such a wonderful place to send my children to school. The environment is warm and friendly and it is very obvious the teachers enjoy teaching & being with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

My oldest daughter attended MCM for 4 years, and [solely] due to economic reasons, she now attends a Bozeman public kindergarten. Her current teacher recently contacted me and asked my how she could keep her challenged, as she is reading and writing at a level much greater than her classmates (most of them are learning the alphabet). She now uses her skills to help her classmates. I cannot the stress the quality, caring and trustworthiness of the teachers and staff at MCM, and how they have instilled a passion for reading and learning in my daughter, which I am certain will be lifelong. Although it saddens me that she is not continuing her education at MCM, my youngest daughter is now able to thrive there as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

I had high expectations for Middlecreek Montessori which have all been met and exceeded. My child has grown and learned so much in his 2+ years attending and has gained impressive independence. It is a joy to visit the school because of the polite, engaged children and the calm, clean atmosphere. The teachers are the most dedicated I have ever seen. My child loves going to school each day and I am completely confident and trusting in the staff. I would recommend Middlecreek to any parent with young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2011

Not a great school, in my opinion. My son left this school feeling bad about himself . He has thrived in the SPED and Gen. Ed environments at his public school. He still talks about his experiences at this school. It took a full year to bring him back out of his shell after our experience with this school's primary program. I do not recommend this school for any child that has special needs or needs any kind of extra help and/or attention. Self-reliance is a big thing in Montessori. The description of this school was inaccurate because when we enrolled my son the website said children in Montessori "work at their own pace." Working at your own pace means repeating same activity while other kids move ahead. Very frustrating for our son. Teachers seemed to have very low-tolerance for kids who need extra assistance. The pre-primary class is wonderful and I would have no hesitation recommending it to someone if it were a separate school and you did not have to write a check to the same people. The teachers in the pre-primary class were friendly, caring, and gentle with my younger child. He learned quite a bit and is performing ahead of his same-age peers at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

Strong academic program, wonderful teachers, impressive natural outdoor setting, and a great community spirit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

The facility is awesome! Farm animals, a creek, gardens, natural playground... and the classrooms are full of hands-on lessons for the kids to explore. My kids love it and never want to leave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2008

This is a great school. It's full of strong teachers who understand attachment and holistic learning. It offeres student a great place to learn and experience nature.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Nancy McNabb
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (406) 587-9698

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Montana Montessori Educators Association
  • Child Care Connections
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Middle Creek Montessori is a non-profit educational community based on the principles of Dr. Maria Montessori. We foster independence, creativity, academic excellence and a love of learning.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
35
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
60

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Headwaters Academy
Anderson Public School
Monforton School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1572 Cobb Hill Road
Bozeman, MT 59718
Website: Click here
Phone: (406) 587-3817

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Monforton School
Bozeman, MT


Petra Academy
Bozeman, MT



Gallatin Gateway School
Gallatin Gateway, MT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT