Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Morning Star School

Public | PK-5 | 548 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 21, 2014

Great test scores but not a great school. Our kids did well but I have friends who have kids with disabilities or different learning styles and Morning Star is dysfunctional in their treatment of such cases. If your kids are perfect it will be fine- any issues and you'll be put on the bottom of the priority list. Plus they're overcrowded. Learning isn't just about perfect kids it's about reaching all kids. So Morning Star gets rated low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2014

My child is in kindergarten and loves going to school. Her teacher is enthusiastic, flexible and enjoys being around kids. The teacher has amazingly control over the class from what I observe when I am in the classroom. There have been numerous opportunities to participate in classroom and with the parent committee. The same parents seem to be the ones volunteering over and over and it would be nice if more parents participated. The administration is open and inclusive. Overall we are very satisfied with Morning Star school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

My child goes to this school and we have found the teachers, administration and other parents to be excellent: caring, well prepared and genuinely excited about the school. We couldn't be happier and our son is thriving @ Morning Star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2013

With new leadership in place Morning Star is a wonderful place for students and parents. Administration and teachers take bullying very seriously. They genuinely want children to thrive, feel included, heard, and safe. As a parent I feel respected and comfortable being an integral part of my kids learning experience. I always highly recommend Morning Star!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

I have been a CAP Mentor for a little girl at this school for two years. From what I have seen, the teachers and other staff are extremely friendly to both me as a visitor and my little friend. They all know her name and make her feel special as we pass by them in the hallways. I really like how in my friend's class, they bring in people from around town to teach certain subjects or a special kind of art, and in gym class, they get to learn how to ski and ice skate. I've also overheard many library classes, and I was very excited to hear them singing old hand clapping songs from when I was in school. They of course learn more important things, but to hear them excited about "old entertainment" made me happy. Finally, I have played with my friend during recess and all of the kids were very friendly to her and me. I see the principal and other high authorities walking through the halls all the time to watch over things.


Posted March 10, 2011

Morning Star is a great school! Both the teachers and the principal are very engaged with both the students and parents. The kids were friendly and the community around the school is very supportive. Truly a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

I'm currently in 6th grade but I very much enjoyed my time at Morning Star school. My teachers were very friendly and were also generally good at the subjects they taught. My favorite teacher of all time was the one I had for 2nd and 3rd grade. The kids were really nice too!


Posted October 7, 2009

We just moved to Bozeman and we love Morning Star. We weren't sure what to expect but the teachers and staff have been so welcoming. I feel like we've stepped into a Norman Rockwell picture. The kids ride their bikes to school, play outside and are all friendly and helpful. The principal is wonderful and the teachers actually teach. It has been a wonderful program academically and socially. I highly recommend Morning Star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

I love this school. I have never seen the sense of community I do at Morning Star. Their music and arts programs are excellent. I love that they teach spanish. I love that they are doing local farms to schools and making healthier lunches. I love the running program, my daughter ran over 25 miles even with all the snow. I love the skiing and skating. I feel blessed to have MS as our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

The principal seems to have her best intest in mind not the children or the parents~ problems happen all over but here they are excessive
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

The principal seems to have her best intest in mind not the children or the parents~ problems happen all over but here they are excessive
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

We have had a wonderful experience at Morning Star. The teachers have been excellent. The administrators are very involved and responsive. The whole school culture is built on being a team that helps and respects each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2006

The current prinipal at this school takes very little action towards kids who are being bullied by other students. On the othe hand that school has a very good learning program and my children learned a lot from this school. Their disipline program isn't good at all. Most playground aids don't really pay attention to what is going on with the students. If someone asked me if this school was a good one I would say, most of the 1 and 2 grade teacheers are wonderful, but the rest of the school is not the enviroment I want my child to be in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 70% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students97%
Black or African Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic96%
Participates in free/reduced lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students99%
Black or African Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic99%
Participates in free/reduced lunchn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students81%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic83%
Participates in free/reduced lunch87%
Students with disabilities69%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students96%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic97%
Participates in free/reduced lunch93%
Students with disabilities92%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Science

All Students93%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic93%
Participates in free/reduced lunch100%
Students with disabilities92%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students93%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic93%
Participates in free/reduced lunchn/a
Students with disabilities73%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students96%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic97%
Participates in free/reduced lunchn/a
Students with disabilities91%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 12%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Black 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

830 Arnold St
Bozeman, MT 59715
Phone: (406) 522-6500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Petra Academy
Bozeman, MT


Irving School
Bozeman, MT


Longfellow School
Bozeman, MT



Hawthorne School
Bozeman, MT


Whittier School
Bozeman, MT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT