Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sacajawea Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 17, 2014

Most teachers at this point seem to have very little training with dyslexia, this has been really frustrating
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

The school is amazing! I was a 6th grader last year and i had the best time of my life! All of the teachers are amazing! The teachers are always willing to take some of their free time to help you out with whatever you need! The staff is very supportive! The school is so much fun! There is a special bond between every kid and teacher! They make school fun by passing a football around the class room, having snowball fights, and water fights and yet they get everything done so that kids can get A's on all their tests! I never knew that you could have so much fun in school and yet learn so much at the same time!


Posted January 9, 2012

I'm just blown away by this school! My son is a 6th grader and I was more than worried about the jump to middle school! The teachers TRULY care about these kids, they really are "their" kids. My son actually likes going to school and he is learning so much. Every single subject he has improved since 5th grade. If you are trying to decide between the 2 public middle schools, SMS, in my opinion is your best choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

i am a 6th grader at SMS and i love the place. it has a very great school that has great school leadership and a very nice principal.the place is filled to the brim with nice students just waiting to be your friend!there are clubs too!like the lego robotics club, the computer club, the yearbook club, the art club, and a lot more! see you at SMS!


Posted September 26, 2011

The staff and teachers are wonderful. I am very happy ioth Sac. Very caring and thoughtful people
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

I would have given the school a higher rating last year, but I am really disappointed with the 8th grade at this school. 6th grade teachers were very positive and helpful and approachable, 7th grade as well, but it seems the 8th grade teachers need a refresher in how to motivate students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

This is my 3rd year attending SMS and I love it! All the staff members are willing to help you with anything you need. Move to Bozeman, enroll in Sac. and enjoy the rest of grade school! Peter, 13
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2006

I am very happy with your school this is my daughter's first year here in Bozeman she really likes it she comes home does her home work and then she head out to play basketball, My husband and I are really happy with the school big change for us and I can tell the difference between schools and I would pick Sacajawea middle school first before I would any other school. My Daughter really likes the staff and students she feels comfortable around them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2006

Overall, not a bad school. There are some terrific teachers here, and some that need to retire. You'll have one of each on your child's team each year. Heavy emphasis on conforming at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2005

Sacajawea is a wonderful middle school. They have an anti bullying policy which is really nice for dispute resolution among the students. They have a well stocked library, and being a relatively new school in this district, (built in 1989 I believe) they have the latest technology and very comfortable classrooms. The 6th-8th graders each have their own wings, though they have occasion to visit other wings for foreign language instruction, for instance. My son is in his 2nd year, and enjoys his teachers. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

210 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students79%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic81%
Participates in free/reduced lunch64%
Students with disabilities40%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students95%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic95%
Participates in free/reduced lunch91%
Students with disabilities73%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students89%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic90%
Participates in free/reduced lunch65%
Students with disabilities39%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic92%
Participates in free/reduced lunch72%
Students with disabilities62%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic86%
Participates in free/reduced lunch70%
Students with disabilities40%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic95%
Participates in free/reduced lunch81%
Students with disabilities53%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Science

All Students85%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic87%
Participates in free/reduced lunch66%
Students with disabilities47%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 81%
Hispanic 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3525 So 3rd Ave
Bozeman, MT 59715
Phone: (406) 522-6470

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Petra Academy
Bozeman, MT


Headwaters Academy
Bozeman, MT



Petra Academy
Bozeman, MT


Anderson 7-8
Bozeman, MT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT