Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Headwaters Academy

Private | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bozeman

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $253,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $722.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 17, 2014

After being bullied and unchallenged academically in elementary education our son chose to go to Headwaters Academy for the small class size and the rigorous academics. He has blossomed into a confident, responsible, and empathetic contributor to his household, school, and community. As parents we have found the Headwaters experience to be priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

The middle school years can be a difficult, transitional time for a student. In my experience as a parent, Headwaters Academy provides an incredibly supportive and nurturing environment that is extremely unique. I feel very fortunate for our sons to have the opportunity to attend Headwaters, and appreciate the opportunities that we as parents have to be actively involved volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2014

Bozeman has many strong school options, so at first we were hesitant if Headwaters would be worth the investment. I have no regrets! We could not be more thrilled with Headwaters Academy. The caliber of teachers is amazing. The students dive deep into each subject vs. rote learning. The small class size helps to ensure no child "slips through the cracks". The outdoor education component and experiential learning style truly set Headwaters apart. We could not be happier with the school, and plan to send our second child when he enters 6th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2014

As the parent of a child that had long been bullied in public school, I was worried about what the middle school years would look like. I attended an open house at Headwaters Academy with my son and when we left, he told me "I want to go to this school." We began the application process and with the financial aid we received, sending my son to private school was possible. At Headwaters Academy, my child has blossomed into a self-confident, self-directed learner. He loves this school and I love his eagerness for learning. The teachers challenge him, his peers support him, and the experience he has gained is priceless. I am so grateful for the teachers who care so much, the very involved head of school, and the families that provide a wonderful and inclusive community to which we belong. Headwaters Academy continues to exceed my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2014

When it came time for middle school, we were looking for a place for our kids what offered both academic challenge and good emotional, social and academic support. The public schools in Bozeman are great and our kids were coming from a public elementary and are now going into the public high school. So Headwaters was the one non-parochial option for these critical middle school years that allowed us to choose something different for a few years. We have found what we were looking for. Our kids have had a rigorous academic experience but one that is developmentally appropriate and respectful. The teaching has been top-notch with teachers truly getting to know our children's strengths and weaknesses and working with them from there. Our kids have learned to write, to be critical thinkers, to get organized, to speak publicly, to advocate for themselves, to persevere through frustration and to learn deeply. What more could you ask for? The community is welcoming and warm, the faculty is fantastic and the families and kids are fun and smart and interesting. We love Headwaters!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

My son started at Headwaters last year and we could not be happier. The teachers are inspiring, the students and community kind & welcoming and the curriculum and field studies are just amazing (the 8th grade went to Ecuador last year!). We love this school and cannot imagine a better social or academic experience for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2013

This is by far the best middle school inside bozeman. It is academically challenging and there is no comparison in education standards at the other middle schools compared to Headwaters.


Posted December 10, 2010

This school is small and that is not for everyone, we are exclusive and highly selective in the type of student accepted. Small class sizes are a tremendous advantage and allow us to get to know our students, to learn their academic strengths and weakness so that we may appropriately challenge and support them. Students can't hide in the back here nor do they slip through the cracks. Middle school years are often ones where students feel uncertain of themselves and vulnerable. HWA students develop mentor-like relationships with a dedicated and intelligent staff. We provide stability, support, and consistently high expectations to foster a positive sense of self to carry into the next (often tumultuous) stage of education, high school. Furthermore, because we are small, the students develop close relationships with one another that last. True, your student may not learn to be a social butterfly here; however, they will learn how to develop real relationships, to resolve conflicts, and work closely with others with mutual respect.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 6, 2010

This school actually really helped my student's social growth. They were able to really work with other students at a small group level which made them more confident and able to speak up. They left Headwaters with the ability to communicate in groups, express themselves, play an instrument, construct amazing artistic creations, put up a tent, cook a dinner, speak a language, etc. I was very impressed with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2004

I cannot recommend this school to other parents. My child found that the class sizes were too small to offer any social growth and that the course content in all the classes was not as intellectually stimulating as had been promised by the school staff. The benefits of the small size of this school are greatly outweighed by the lack of a meaningful, comprehensive curriculum balanced with an art,music and extra-curricular program like that which is offered by the surrounding public schools at no charge.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 12%
Black 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

418 West Garfield Street
Bozeman, MT 59715
Phone: (406) 585-9997

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Petra Academy
Bozeman, MT




Petra Academy
Bozeman, MT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT