Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Corvallis High School

Public | 9-12 | 456 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2011

Corvallis High School in Corvallis, Montana has a strong academic program that provides a challenging work atmosphere for students,;but rarely is mentioned the influx of students from other Western States and other communities in the Bitterroot Valley. This has really changed the social dynamics of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2011

The Corvallis School District is amazing! I attended Corvallis schools for 6 years then had to move. I've attended 3 different high schools since and am now a senior and planning on going back to graduate from Corvallis. No other school compares to Corvallis! There are no cliques, everyone gets along with everyone. No kid is neglected and all staff AND students are willing to help eachother. I love Corvallis!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2010

They care about kids and a quality education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

This is the best school in all of Montana. No one is neglected in this school. We take pride in our sports as well as our education. We just won Boys State Track by a blow out. In Boys soccer we were in the top four teams for state in Montana. our basketball team is going to state. IN girls Softball we are amazing. There is no reason why not to send your child to Corvallis
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

Corvallis High School is a great school. I am currently a senior and would choose it hands down to any of the neighbor schools in the valley. The teachers are for the most part, great, and Mr. Laboski, the principal, is one of the most friendly guys i know. School spirit has improved greatly this year, and sports are really excelling too. I would recommend it to any newcomer to the valley.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2008

as a 2006 graduate, i don't think I could have been more prepared for college by CHS. I went into all of my classes feeling like I already knew the base material, so learning everything else was a snap. AP classes challenge the students who need it, but I don't feel that they were needed for college success, so no fear if you haven't taken any. Students are always friendly too. As far as sports go, Corvallis has had phenomenal teams the last few years. Just in the last five, many have been state contenders. Mens and Women's basketball have been championship contenders, wrestling has had amazing success at state, with a new set of state champions, Mens Tennis has won state multiple times, both track teams have had state champtions and top times in the state the last 8 years, and volleyball always shows well at the state tournament.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2008

As a teacher for a nearby school working hard to teach at Corvallis i am offended by the review on Jan 22. Funding is not the fault of the school but the 'Good ol Boy' Montana government which runs the schools on laughable budgets. Thanks Brian! But this school pushes on, seventy year old buildings, ancient boiler, etc. This school is an enigma in the world of Montana education: Well maintained, clean, excellent teachers, and hard-working administration. The Super is not rogue and works hard to listen to the community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 14, 2008

unfortunatly I don't have anything good to say about this school. It did not challenge you in anyway, and most definatly doesn't prepare you for life. The teachers are all very easy on the students, and generally their teaching plans don't prepare you for the next grade. I recommend hamilton or stevi.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2008

Corvallis High School is a good school if you are into sports or going to college. The kids that are not great students or good athletes are rather ignored
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

At Corvallis High School, academic programs are good. There are many clubs to get involved in, and students gain a lot from them. Availability of music, art, sports, and extracurriculars are amazing. Students are offered a wide range of choir and band possibilities, as well as sports and clubs. CHS sports compete very highly with other valley schools, and are some of the best. Parent involvement in the school district is great as well. The students get along very well with eachother, and the learning environment is for the most part good. Most teachers care for what they are doing, and there are healthy relationships between teachers and students. Corvallis High School is one of the top schools in the valley and will make a great school for any new students to the surrounding areas.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2007

I think that the covallis school district is great
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 22, 2007

Everyone raves about the quality of education at Corvallis. It is not all it is talked up to be and not as well rounded as it could be. We have some very fantastic and dedicated teachers mixed in with some dead beats. Recent changes in administration gives hope, more change higher up is needed. Our test scores are not anything spectacular when compared with the state average which leads me to believe our academic progress is the same. We have many extracurricular activities (music, arts, sports) but few, other than wrestling, compete consistently with programs of other schools our size (underfunded, undercoached, underadministrated, no motivation, no spirit). The Superintendent dictates the direction of the school on his own terms so, if you want to be productively involved, you better be ready to brown nose. If you have an athlete, don't expect anything here. Winning and competeing are not stressed here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

I am a sophomore at Corvallis, and I could not ask for a more wonderful education. The teachers really care about me, and I can relate on a personal basis with them, as well as with my peers. The student body is warm and welcoming, and there is no 'popular group' that excludes everyone else. The current principal, Mr. Laboski, is a great administrator. He is friendly and will greet students in the hall by name. The faculty really take the time to make the school wonderful. I love it here! The only thing I could improve is the discipline level regarding drugs, which are rampant in the Bitterroot Valley. Extracurriculars are great, as well as the music programs. This is the only orchestra in the Bitterroot, and it is well-run and a lot of fun. There is something for everyone here. I highly recommend it to anyone in the area!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2005

My daughter is a freshman at Corvallis, and she came home from school on the first day and declared, 'I love high school!' Corvallis is an all-around excellent school. She is the only freshman in her sophomore math class, and one of two freshman in her video arts class, and enjoys both classes immensely. The music programs are outstanding, and parent involvement, as far as I can see, is very good. Every day she comes home enthusiastic about getting her homework done to get a good grade. I have not found this high quality education anywhere else in the Bitterroot Valley. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

My child has been attending Corvallis School District for 7 (seven) years and I have seen nothing but improvement with confidence, grades and extra curricular activities. I love the small town atmosphere where you know that every individual matters. My son has only good things to say about his teachers and I can't help but agree.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2011.

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
50%

2008

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
76%

2008

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2011.

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
40%

2008

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students60%
Female51%
Male67%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, Non-Hispanic61%
Participates in free/reduced lunch53%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities60%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Non-migrant60%

Reading

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, Non-Hispanic92%
Participates in free/reduced lunch91%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English90%

Science

All Students53%
Female46%
Male58%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, Non-Hispanic55%
Participates in free/reduced lunch41%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2010-2011 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2010-2011 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 82%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 11%
Asian 1% 1%
Black 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1045 Main
Corvallis, MT 59828
Phone: (406) 961-3201

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Stevensville High School
Stevensville, MT




Big Sky High School
Missoula, MT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT