Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beaverhead Co High School

Public | 9-12 | 336 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 15, 2013

I was raised in Beaverhead County and attending middle school and high school in Dillon. There is a slight bias towards athletes, but only because many of the teachers are also coaches who have therefore developed strong relationships with the athletes. The A.P. courses taught were excellent and I was prepared for the tests and received 4-5 on all of them. The administration is focused on providing a good education on their minimal budget. The school has experienced a massive drop in enrollment from a high of 575 students in 1997 to around 350 in 2013. This has impeded some of the class choices as funding is limited, but not to a large degree. This is a cohesive school with a strong community that is extremely supportive of the athletic and scholastic programs. Compared with Lima, Twin Bridges, Sheridan, or even Butte and Butte Central, these is the best school in S.W. Montana to get a quality education and good social experience.


Posted March 16, 2012

The Feb 2010 & Aug 2009 reviews sound like the school my kids went to. I had 3 kids come through Dillon schools & it was repressive & depressing, with favoritism toward certain athletes, etc. In the very first reviews, the student reviewer claims that they gave her a good education, then misspells 2 words. Yikes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2010

Repressive and depressing place to go to school. Administration is overcontrolling and there is little room left for free expression. Faculty for the most part could use improvement and favoritism to students who participate in certian sports is obvious.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2010

This school prepares students well for life beyond highschool (college or not). I am an engineer and I was well prepared for college life and more. The school has many extra-curricular activities and has expanding its advanced placement courses since I was there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2009

this was the worse school i have ever been to. the people here only care about if your good at sports that's the only reason anyone ever talked to me cuz i was in basketball. people here are stuck up and the school system is terrible along with most of the teachers
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2008

I dislike this school very much and thought there was tons of room for improvement...I felt like they were way behind in mathematics, choir, and english. I might have well done high school on an internet course.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2008

This is school is awful, they waste money on useless intercoms, cellphone jammers, and even destroyed all the dances, so much for a fun high school career for me, two thumbs way down, times are changing get with it
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2008

this is the one and only highschool i've ever been to but it has everything we students need for an education pplus it's open campus for lunch and no cafiterias
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic67%
Participates in free/reduced lunch70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic90%
Participates in free/reduced lunch90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Science

All Students61%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic61%
Participates in free/reduced lunch46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 81%
Hispanic 6% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 12%
Black 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

104 North Pacific St
Dillon, MT 59725
Phone: (406) 683-2361

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Twin Bridges High School
Twin Bridges, MT





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT