Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Florence-Carlton High School

Public | 9-12 | 252 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 1, 2013

I've attended Florence since Kindergarten. My elementary teachers were spectacular, my middle school teachers were supportive, but often, withe exceptions, I felt like the teaching methods weren't very effective. I've loved attending Florence in High School. I learn well, I pass AP exams, my teachers are excellent and very supportive. Throughout high school I will finish a total of 6 AP courses. We're underfunded, and yes, we lack a lot of diversity in our classes and student population, but I can approach anyone, students or faculty, friend or acquaintance, and I won't be turned away. Florence is a very supportive school with excellent teachers who go above and beyond to make sure their students understand the curriculum.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2011

Our school District is struggling with declining enrollment which is creating an overload of Teachers and Administration. Our All-day Kindergarten program is nothing much beyond a glorified daycare. Fundamental curriculum is lacking in K-2.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

In dire need of money management. Administration is in the pocket of the union and other employees. Another good ole boys club in action.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2010

Sadly I must agree with the last few statements. This school is in disarray. The administration only cares about it's salaries and not about the students. As a parent who sent 4 children here, my last did not go to the high school. Lack of educational opportunities such as eleminating accounting 1& 2 in favor of yoga! The present school board leadership in total not open to the truth or the facts. It's so sad beacause they are the communities controlers and have failed miseraly. The school does not teach and the children suffer. The best of the best get denied access to the top c-rated colleges. How very sad. We need new board members and the removal of administrators whom must be held accountable for there failures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

A great school has... Excellent teachers Strong principal/school leadership Challenging academic programs Florence has none of the above! Florence needs a complete 100% turnover!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Not up to par. Horrible rating from Schooldigger. In dire need of new management.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

This is a small school that strives to produce quality academics in a rural environment with minimal funding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2008

Our four children have attended Florence Carlton School from Kindergarten through high school graduation. They all have been well prepared for college. As with any school, what students and parents put in to education is what they will get out of it. There are more opportunities for specialized classes at other, larger schools, but among small, rural schools, Florence is tops.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

I go to Florence and I must say that I really don't like it. There's not very many oppotunities in sports or classes. Students are very cliquish and it's hard to fit in. Not a very welcoming school. Over crowded and a lot of things are being cut. There are also elementary and middle school kids around every corner which besides being slightly annoying, it takes away from the fact that the kids are in high school and should have that separation from the younger grades.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2005

Florence-Carlton High School is a very under-funded and small school. There are very limited electives and few if any (anymore) AP classes. Sports fees are expensive, but cheap compared to the fees of the larger A and AA schools in the area.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 25, 2005

I've gone to this school my whole life. We have a low budget and they are cutting the things that we love most about our school. Most of the teachers are good and will help you if you ask them to. One of the things that I dislike about my school is that they have little control over the students when they are outside of the school building and are on the playground. This school has A-day B-day schedule. Teachers give the students a lot of homework because they think that the students have an extra day to do homework since the students only go into the teacher's class every other day, but the reality is that the students have to use that'extra day' to do homework from the previous day of classes so the students frequently get overwhelmed and become discouraged.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2004

Great school with a good athletic program and good teachers. Budget is low however and many things (programs, teachers, athletic events, etc.) are being cut.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

I have had 4 children attend all 12 years at the Florence-Carlton School. For a small school, the students have a wide selection of academics and extracurricular. College prep classes are available. School is overcrowded but is an excellent school. Prepares students very well for going on to higher education and the world in general. Great staff,they know and care about the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2004

I have 2 children in FCS, only school they have ever attended. They have done well academically, only complaint is the lack of support for extracirricular activities other than sports. Excellent, approachable staff in all levels & good admin. Small school, small town but overall satisfactory education. My kids are prepared to face the next educational level
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2003

As long as the student can handle aggressive classes, things will go well. If there are problems with reading, comprehension or other learning disabilities, there is little support. Testing is very basic and there is no guidance to help parents/families find alternatives. In fact, there is no mention that the testing is only basic or that there are alternatives.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students59%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic64%
Participates in free/reduced lunch68%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic89%
Participates in free/reduced lunch79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Science

All Students61%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic60%
Participates in free/reduced lunch63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 81%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 12%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Black 0% 1%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5602 Old Hwy 93
Florence, MT 59833
Phone: (406) 273-6301

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Stevensville High School
Stevensville, MT


Big Sky High School
Missoula, MT






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT