Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Foothills Community Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 188 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Great Falls

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $122,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $570.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2013

Foothills has it's positives and negatives. Overall, the positives keep my kids here. Positives: strong emphasis on everything "God." It's so small, there's 1 social class for the most part. It's the largest Protestant school in town. Tuition discounts for enrolling more than 1 kid. Tuition scholarships offered. Lower tuition than most other schools. Annual international mission trips and national field trips. Kids must volunteer around town. Principal has a true open-door policy. There's always smiling faces in the halls. Negatives: Low ethnic diversity. Kids experience mild bullying for income levels and expressing differing beliefs. Elementary kids can easily fall behind because teachers are far too lenient. The emphasis on sports and fundraising is extreme. Emphasis on family bond is minimal. They boast "Non-Denominational Christian" but many teachers lack objectivity. Opinion outweighs the rules (dress code/moral issues). Personal religious beliefs aren't kept to themselves (teachers). Sports program is nil (big reason parents pull their kids out for public). 2 girls sports; 3 boys sports. No accelerated/college-prep classes. Some favoritism for kids whose parents work there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

We have been very happy with Foothills School. Our son has attended for 3 years now, and the teacher-student ratio is very good. The teachers show genuine concern for each student. I would recommend Foothills to anyone considering the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

I currently have 4 children enrolled at Foothills and couldn't be happier! The teachers at Foothills are second to none. My children have every opportunity there that they would anywhere else in town. The sports opportunities are the same as the public schools and the curriculum is aligned with the national tests. In 2008, 10 of their 11 graduates went on to a 4 year college. The other one went to a diesel mechanic internship. All of the college bound had some sort of academic scholarship and 4 of them had athletic scholarships! I think this is phenomenal! Every class in the school scored well above the national average on standardized tests. Foothills stresses spiritual development and serving others. I will keep my kids at Foothills and would highly recommend it to any other parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

We absolutely love Foothills! Being a military family, we move a lot! Foothills has been an excellent place for our High school son to finish out his education. He has particularly enjoyed the high school soccer program. The team took 2nd place this year in the MCAA championships. Great friends, good programs. We love FCCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

With a teacher to student ratio of 1:7, the standardized test scores for Foothills are consistently above average in every subject. The individual attention my children get is incomparable. There is true character development, personal nurturing, and academic challenge in the core subjects. In the high school the electives are skimpy because they are still a small school, but they compensate for that in offering online courses to supplement their course selection. Of the graduates that have gone on to college (about 95%) all are maintaining excellent GPAs and are functioning well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

We have three children currently enrolled at FCCS, and we couldn't be happier. The teaching is excellent-they have a veteran staff most schools would kill for! The attention given to each student in academics and spiritual values, is second to none. The science is awesome! The math great! English top notch!My high schooler commented the other day that these friends will be friends for life, because they truly care about each other-no matter how they tease each other, they also pray together, play together, and stay together during the good and bad. The values we teach in our home are carried over by the entire staff. FCCS has a wonderful sports program from the time the kids are in 5th grade with basketball, volleyball, track, and soccer. It is a small school but it is worth everything we give to send our kids there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

Our children have attended both private and public schools. My daughter currently attends high school at Foothills, her choice, and has had a very positive experience here. She loves the teachers and enjoys the smaller atmosphere, although enrollment has risen since she has started here. If you want to be invloved in your childs education as every parent should be you will greatly appreciate what Foothills has to offer. The staff, and student body are friendly and willing to help in any way possible to make this the best experience for each student. I appreciate the character lessons that my daughter has learned along with continuing the Biblical foundation we has started at home. My daughter maintains a 4.0 grade pint average and is active in sports, community service and other school functions. She has truly enjoyed her years here and cannot imagine attending school anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2007

Foothills Community Christian school was a major disapointment. The english is above average, but the rest of their subjects are far behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

Quality academic-school now is pre k thru-12th grade. Has 185 students-25 which are high school. Outstanding sports programs-music-etc.. Many parents get involved in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 81%
Black 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 12%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ted Clark
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (406) 452-8606

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2210 5th Avenue North
Great Falls, MT 59401
Website: Click here
Phone: (406) 452-5276

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Roosevelt School
Great Falls, MT


Great Falls High School
Great Falls, MT



Lincoln School
Great Falls, MT



Whittier School
Great Falls, MT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT