Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

C R Anderson Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2012

This school is terrible! If you really want good academics stay away! This School has low test scores, weird and mean teachers, and major bullying issues. Bullying happens all the time and no effort is made to stop it! Also the kids here are mean and exclude new kids. Lastly this school has an overcrowding problem.


Posted October 11, 2009

At first I was a little scared to go to a big school like this!!!! I think the teachers need to pay a little more attention cause when I was a 6th grader 8th grader were so mean!!!!! The teachers didnt do anything!!!! Now I am a 7th grader and I love cr Anderson!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2009

I was teased and excluded by all my classmates. All though some teachers helped, in general most teachers ignored me and the things students said to me. I can honestly say C.R.Anderson Middle School did NOT provide me with a free and appropriate education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

This school is definitely absolute best, Junior High in all of, Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, South, and North Dakota! This school is just absolutely fantastic. I for one am extremely proud to say that i can live in a city that has that great of a school! When I was a kid. I went to Helena Middle School for 6th and 7th, but for 8th I went here, and I sent my kids here, and they came out some of the smartest kids in Helena. At the scholastic competitions this school does fabulous! If you or someone you know is going to be moving to Helena anytime soon, i strongly recommend C.R. Anderson Junior High. It rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2008

The shcool is unorganized. Teachers have hard time dealing with kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

The new principal, Mr. Campbell, is fantastic. Most of my favorite teachers have retired, but Mrs. Rieley (7th grade English) is still there, and is great. Student Council is strong at C.R., though the sports have been replaced by YMCA-sponsored sports, which aren't as well organized as the school ones used to be. The after school tutoring program is great for struggling students, they provide teachers and a few high school tutors to help with daily homework.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 26, 2006

This school makes a very large group of students feel safe and secure as though it was a small school setting. The lengthy experience of the staff is a positive addition to the whole educational process because you never worry that the curriculum is being covered thoroughly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

I think that CRAnderson is a great middle school. The teachers are the best in my opinion throughout the whole state. And the amount of extracurricular activities is off the charts.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

325 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native46%
White, not Hispanic69%
Participates in free/reduced lunch55%
Students with disabilities32%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native77%
White, not Hispanic91%
Participates in free/reduced lunch82%
Students with disabilities38%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native67%
White, not Hispanic73%
Participates in free/reduced lunch56%
Students with disabilities24%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native75%
White, not Hispanic88%
Participates in free/reduced lunch74%
Students with disabilities47%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students65%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native57%
White, not Hispanic66%
Participates in free/reduced lunch47%
Students with disabilities21%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native86%
White, not Hispanic86%
Participates in free/reduced lunch74%
Students with disabilities42%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Science

All Students62%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native50%
White, not Hispanic64%
Participates in free/reduced lunch45%
Students with disabilities21%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 81%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 12%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 Knight St
Helena, MT 59601
Phone: (406) 324-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Andrew School
Helena, MT


Helena Christian School
East Helena, MT





Cornerstone
Helena, MT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT