Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Flathead High School

Public | 9-12 | 1485 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2010

This school is beyond excellence. Each and every day is a new opportunity to learn and achieve. The International Baccalaurette program pushes students capacities to the brink. The IB teachers have given my fellow peers and I the education necessary for life, college, and most importantly, our dreams. The students are prepared and have become active thinkers about international and national issues. Students not taking the IB courses maybe the only ones not benefiting from this great opportunity. This is the only possible flaw from this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 24, 2010

This high school has very low standards. Maybe I believe this because I am from a different state but looking at the homework my child has to do for her teachers, I simply cannot believe this is a high school. Taking a half day once a month so the teachers can have a meeting is insane. Especially when you take into account the fact that many teachers try to get out of them as if they were high school students themselves. I am very concerned that my daughter is not going to have the oppertunities my oldest two had. She gets straight A's but after looking at her course work I still worry. Her most recent essay was a C+ at best. Yet her teacher rewarded her with an A. It seems all you have to do in this school is show up and hand in the work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

I am a student at Flathead High School. This school is the only school in the Flathead Valley with the IB program. Flathead also has a variety of extracurricular activities. I did tennis this past year and am planning to do speech and debate. I am looking forward to school next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 22, 2008

This is the best school i have ever went to where I live. The Teachers are awsome and the School has a Great Atmosphere and Enviroment and has lot of good kids at this school. Flathead also has a Really high school Spirit when it comes to sports, most everybody has great sportmenship. The Teachers Make tought Subjects like Math and Science easier and help you reach your goal, they also are always there when you need their help. they help you get the education u need and wont let you fail. The teachers aid are also reat and are always there for support and always take time to help you when you are haveing problems with a paper. All the teahcers and class aids are Spectacular. The school also has one of the best Administration in montana.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 22, 2008

Coming from California and being familiar with the school systems there I am so happy with our choice to move here for our daughters high school education. I have found the teachers and administration to be open to any questions or concerns I might have. Campus is clean and safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

I am a retired Flathead High School teacher. Flathead is an excellent school that provides opportunities for all students academically as well as in the extra curricular activities. There are many classes available for students to prepare them for the job market if they do not want to further their education past high school. In addition, FHS is in its 4th year as an International Baccalaureate school. Students can receive a full IB diploma. The number of students involved in the IB program continues to grow. The current principal is in his 2nd year and is doing a superb job of leading the school, fully supporting all of the programs at FHS.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 28, 2008

FHS is a top performing school. Students are given every cnance to excell in a multitude of classes arranged around career clusters. My son has enjoyed participating in speech and debate as well as cross country running. He is very excited about the International Baccalaureate Programme. This school has been both a challenge and a welcoming place for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

Flathead High School is a great school. I would recomend you to enroll your child there then any other High School in the Flathead Valley.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2005

FHS has a great variety of academic programs and cultural programs as well, affording students a great education. Unfortunately, administration tends to nurture the 'mainstream' kids who seem to fall within certain 'normal' guidelines. If your child happens to sport pink hair, it doesn't matter much if their GPA is 4.0 -- administration tends to overlook bullying, which is a huge issue at FHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students62%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic64%
Participates in free/reduced lunch53%
Students with disabilities10%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic89%
Participates in free/reduced lunch85%
Students with disabilities43%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Science

All Students48%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic48%
Participates in free/reduced lunch40%
Students with disabilities10%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 81%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

644 4th Ave West
Kalispell, MT 59901
Phone: (406) 751-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Glacier High School
Kalispell, MT



Columbia Falls High School
Columbia Falls, MT



Whitefish High School
Whitefish, MT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT