Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kalispell Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2013

KMS is an excellent school. My son is a high honors student, a talented athlete and he is a leader. However the teachers are willing to hold him responsible if his behavior is sub par. Communication with the teachers has been excellent and they all care deeply for the kids. There are also many opportunities for extracurricular activities at KMS which are not available at other middle schools in the area. I recommend the school for anyone coming to the Flathead Valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2012

I believe the quality of the education is above the rural Flathead Valley school we moved from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

This school completely fails to meet any criteria of quality education by any stretch of the imagination. They offered my child a class to help her stay on top of school work when our family is going through a very rough time, instead the teacher who is supposed to be helping her has bullied her and called her a liar. This same teacher had the nerve to call me an irresponsible parent. When I spoke to the vice principle about her attitude, I was treated with a total lack of regard for the situation. I contacted the principle and instead of being cooperative he also treated me with disrespect and placed the blame on my child's attitude and payed no attention what so ever to the fact that his teacher has a rotten attitude and is not fit to be an educator. I now understand why so many people home school their children in this state and it is because the public education system is completely worthless and tstaff are lazy, egocentrics. Don't put a child through this school, they are completely incompetent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

My child is attending this school for the first time ,I am not thrilled with this school at all . A Teacher puts hands on my child daily ! I have had to put up with racial comments that are let to pass with no consequences for the other party ,other than a slap on the hand . My Daughters were both Honor student prior to this school and now she is well below the grade . there are no textbooks for them to actually do their homework and are punished when its not done ! In my opinion If you can home school or afford private school i would do that first .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

My son went to school here 6-8. It was a terrible experience. They have silly little rules and a ridiculous grading system that wont transfer anywhere else, not to mention the hour it will take you just to try to figure out what there report card actually means and what grade they really have. There is absolutely nothing wrong with ABCDF grades. This middle school consists of kids that are from 2 of the surrounding high school areas. Kids form bonds and friendships with kids that are ultimately going to another high school than them during a very emotional time of their life. Why should we put that on kids that are already going through such an emotional time of their life. My son had scored 100% on all of the math test that they give to students and they refused to move him into the advanced math level until I finally half way through his 8th grade year convinced his math teacher to let him in. They just fight common sense and don't care about your input.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

Now that Kalispell has modified the JR High to a Middle School with 'pods', all of the kids I've talked to, including my 6th grader- love it. I like that I can see all of his grades on-line. The teachers are attentive, but remember they each have 100 students, so the kids are forced be responsible- not such a bad thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

The school has an amazing music program, but fails to meet the standards of even the typical student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2008

My son just made the switch from ST. Matthew s to the Kalispell JR High. He loves it and so do I. I love the choice to look at your grades online it really motovates him to do better. the teachers help alot with his homework and I toataly recommend it
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic68%
Participates in free/reduced lunch53%
Students with disabilities21%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students91%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latino86%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic92%
Participates in free/reduced lunch86%
Students with disabilities57%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students79%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic79%
Participates in free/reduced lunch73%
Students with disabilities25%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic92%
Participates in free/reduced lunch89%
Students with disabilities61%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students64%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic65%
Participates in free/reduced lunch48%
Students with disabilities23%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic87%
Participates in free/reduced lunch76%
Students with disabilities48%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Science

All Students80%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White, not Hispanic81%
Participates in free/reduced lunch71%
Students with disabilities38%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 81%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 12%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

205 NW Ln
Kalispell, MT 59901
Phone: (406) 751-3800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Matthew's School
Kalispell, MT


Evergreen 5-6 School
Kalispell, MT


Evergreen 7-8
Kalispell, MT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT