Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sentinel High School

Public | 9-12 | 1207 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2013

Amazing teachers, first rate choir and drama dept, top notch sciences! Way to go Sentinel for making this homeschooling mom of 6 happy, calm and satisfied as my kiddos have transitioned to high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2012

My son attended Sentinel High School and it was a wonderful experience. The teachers were interested, engaged in the students' welfare, and very involved in all aspects of each student's particular needs. There were extra-curricular activities available addressing a wided-spectrum of interests and, at least in our son's experience, all the different segments of the student population respected one another and supported one another. Attending Sentinel High School gave our son the education, social skills, and life skills to enter college with confidence and excitement. Kudos, Sentinel and Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

Could not have said it better than myself. Same exact feeling as post dated December 2010. I am a parent of a student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2010

As a former student of Sentinel high school, i can honestly say i hated it. And this is coming from one of those kids who kept to himself and failed because of it. No teachers ever came to me to help me out. The teaching methods did not work for me and they don't go further than the basics. A lot of the teachers that i had only went as far as the bare minimum. I can say that they did help me out with suicide prevention, but they still treated me like i was below them and they were just doing their jobs rather than being personable. Some of the worst years of my life were harbored in this school. Educationally, it's not what it seems. If you're behind, you will stay behind if you don't help yourself because if you're not teachers favorite then you have to looking for help elsewhere. Parents need to understand reality here. And I'm not saying don't let your kids go to this school, I'm just saying you should know what to expect and understand how to handle situations. The best part about this school is the counselors. They were the only people i seemed to be able to feel somewhat comfortable with. The math teacher i had in my second year hadn't even had a real teaching degree.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

I love the school I went too the staff so caring


Posted August 15, 2009

Excellent school Great college prep
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

Academically they are very good. I would however, appreciate more communication from the staff. We have been very satisfied the first year with the quality of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

As a former teacher at Sentinel, I can only rate the teachers as much of the administration has changed. I came to Sentinel and was very impressed. The teachers are true professionals dedicated to academics, their subject areas and their students; I cannot say the same about my former school. I was always very proud to be a part of the Sentinel faculty, as teachers there are passionate about and dedicated to education. The positive work environment contributes to teacher success, and Sentinel teachers want to be and stay at their school. I left to raise my young children and would love to someday again be a part of such a fantastic crew.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 17, 2006

The extra curricular activities seem to have a tremendous turnover in staff and coaches. They have athletic 'clubs' but very few teams it seems. Impressed by girls basketball though. I am a firm believer in scholastics and extra curricular going hand in hand. Sentinel has a ways to go as far as their athletic department. Scholastically good, athletic teams poor...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

It is the best school I have ever attended. The whole staff really cares about the students and do everything possible to help the students achieve their goals.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 56% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2013.

285 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Math

All Students63%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native46%
White, not Hispanic63%
Participates in free/reduced lunch47%
Students with disabilities27%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Reading

All Students85%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native82%
White, not Hispanic86%
Participates in free/reduced lunch67%
Students with disabilities48%
Limited English proficiencyn/a

Science

All Students51%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian/Alaskan Native46%
White, not Hispanic52%
Participates in free/reduced lunch34%
Students with disabilities14%
Limited English proficiencyn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Montana used the Criterion-Referenced Test (CRT) to assess students in grades 3 though 8 and 10 in reading and math and in grades 4, 8, and 10 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Montana. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Montana Office of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Montana Office of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 81%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 12%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

901 South Ave West
Missoula, MT 59801
Phone: (406) 728-2403

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Big Sky High School
Missoula, MT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT