Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
2 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ulm 7-8
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
I would love to say "thanks" to Mrs. Brown-Chauvet for taking the time to listen to my concerns and doing what she could to bring up the academic standards at Ulm.

Ulm 7-8
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
Most of the teachers have become complacent and are use to following the same old routine that's "seemingly" worked for 30 years. The world has changed and many of them have refused to change with it.


Ulm 7-8
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
Compared to the rest of the country, the homework is a joke. Many students are so involved in sports that the teachers don't give much homework.

Ulm 7-8
Develops grit: Agree

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
Yes. It's a farming community, so persistence and grit seems to be a way of life. I just wish they'd develop a more rigorous academic program.

Ulm 7-8
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
The students were respectful. However, many of the teachers were critical and gossiped a lot. Most had been there for decades and really didn't seem to like outsiders.


Ulm 7-8
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
Yes. The students were kind and caring for one another. It's such a small school that many of them were related.

Ulm 7-8
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
Sure, honesty and integrity were fine. The teacher student to ratio was good, which means the students were well-behaved. But, that doesn't mean the curriculum was competitive.

Ulm 7-8 2

Posted May 16, 2016
- a parent
I had my child in 1st grade at Ulm and I was briefly a substitute teacher. The 1st and 2nd grade curriculum is well behind the national standards. At the end of the year I transferred my child to a school in Great Schools and the difference was night and day. Ulm does not meet the academic standards of the rest of the country.


Ulm 7-8 5

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
This school has a very good student to teacher ratio. My daughter had between 6 and 13 students in each year. The school was very open to parental involvement: I started an after-school French club for the kindergarteners and first-graders, started and was the coach for MathCounts during 6-8th grades, was welcomed to attend days of classes every year with my daughter, and participated in the parent-school organization. My suggestions were listened to and usually acted upon. My concerns were addressed. This was a fabulous school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ulm 7-8
6 Ulm Vaughn Rd, Ulm, MT  59485
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (406) 866-3313
Last modified Ulm 7-8 is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top