Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Matthew School

Private | PK-8 | 178 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bellevue

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

St. Matthew School is a small school with a lot of heart! Caring teachers and staff, along with a strong faith-based curriculum, help to make the school a perfect place for our children. We appreciate the support that the teachers offer to the kids, as well as the extra care they take with the students' individual needs. Located in a town with an active Air Force base, we are used to new students and families at the school. In turn, the students have the opportunity to welcome and make new friends often. We feel blessed for our family to be a part of St. Matthew School. The education that is being provided to our children is priceless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

St. Matthew School is the best hidden secret in the Omaha-Metro Area/Bellevue. St. Matthew School is growing leaders in the community, one student at a time! If you are looking for a school that balances academics, faith, leadership, and community - you found it!!!! - Parent of a sixth grader (been at St. Matthew School since Kindergarten)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2014

St. Matthew school is a small, very welcoming community. We have been at St. Matthew for 7 years and have had a very positive experience. The teachers are very dedicated; they conduct clubs outside of schools hours for students and both of our son's teachers have attended one of their basketball games outside of school hours. There are lots of activities put on by the PTO that help people to get to know one another. It is quite comforting that I have met every parent/student in my children's classes and know most of them quite well. St. Matthew Is a GREAT school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

We moved to the area 3 years ago and feel blessed to have found St. Matthew's. Small class size and strong academics was important to our family so our child could receive true individualized attention and not get lost in the shuffle. Teachers, and staff truly care about the students. Communication between parents, teachers and administrators has improved significantly over the last year, and we feel we are an integral part of the St. Matthew community. This school is a hidden gem of Bellevue!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2012

St. Matthew School offers an excellent academic environment while also instiliing Christ centered values in the children it serves. The teachers are great and the parent involvement is second to none. As a parent, you can't make a better choice for your kids than St. Matts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

Both my kids attended and graduated from this school. I couldn't have asked for a better academic program. Both of them are succeeding in tough college prep programs in high school. They both entered high school well ahead of their peers. Bellevue has some good public schools, but the quality of the academic program, the parental involvement, the standards of behavior, and the Christ-centered education all add up to a superior academic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2010

Awsome school. One of the best things we did is send our children to St. Matthews. We have recently moved out of the area and greatly miss our old school and parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

My child recieved the best education there. We were very sad to leave the school due to a military move. Excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

This has been the best school my children have been in throughout the years. We've moved several times and this is by far the best school our children have attended. Great staff and an amazing principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

I love this school and so does my child. I am very upset that I am moving out of state and have to take my child out of the school. I hope that the next place I move has a school 1/2 as good as St. Matthew's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2008

St. Matthew school is truly outstanding. The atmosphere is condusive to both learning and Christian teachings. I have been proud to send both of my children, where my oldest is now in all advanced classes in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

St. Matthew's is an excellent school. My boys are receiving an outstanding education. The children are well behaved, which enables the teachers to spend time teaching not dealing with discipline problems. The entire St. Matthew Community is committed to the children and their future. My boys love school. I have the peace of mind knowing they are in a safe, caring environment all day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

This is the only Catholic School in the area that is accredited by the North Central Association. The academic program is excellent. It's a small school with dedicated teaching staff and a strong Catholic foundation. Bellevue public schools are great, but if you want a Catholic education, St Matthew is the place to send your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 70%
Hispanic 10% 16%
Black 5% 7%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. James L. Daro, Jr.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA/AdvancED
Fax number
  • (402) 292-7421

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Omaha
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12210 S 36th St
Bellevue, NE 68123
Website: Click here
Phone: (402) 291-2030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT