Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Peter Sarpy Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 385 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

I have had 4 children attend this school and I have had no complaints. The teachers were wonderful and communicated very well. The front desk staff (mrs. Kula and mrs. Pam) were always helpful and very friendly. The last year my sons were there a new principle took over. All I can say is that he made sure to listen to my concerns and tried to help us. The only problem I have with Peter sarpy is that I could not take it with me when we moved to Las Vegas. The school system here truly makes me miss it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2013

Peter Sarpy Elementary has been a nurturing environment for both of my boys. Mrs. Hall and Mrs. Swanson are caring teachers who bring out the best in their students and keep a close eye on all their students. Having two boys, they've had a few scuffles and between their teachers, the principal and the counselor, the scuffles have stopped. Both of my boys are above average students who are energetic and need to be kept busy. Mrs. Hall and Mrs. Swanson are very good at engaging the minds of their students and keeping them busy and out of mischief. I am very pleased with Peter Sarpy, from the welcoming smiles of the front office staff to the teachers, counselors and principal. Peter Sarpy is a wonderful school and they really care about all their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2013

The teachers do not really communicate with the parents of children that they feel are constant trouble makers. If there is a troubled child, there are programs set in place to help but with the removal of the child from the learning environment, therefore the child doesn't learn. Through meetings with staff regarding the issues with my child, he was included in on the meetings and then almost placed on a pedestal and badgered instead of asked, how he could help solve the problems that he was having. Then I was asked if he could be checked out by a doctor to be analyzed and placed on medication. WOW! I cannot wait to move away from here and have my children attend a school that cares about teaching the child ways to solve there problems vs. disguising the issue, just to move them on to the next grade. So far as the principle, everyone is a friend and there is no clear defined line/role.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2009

I wish I could pack Peter Sarpy School and it's teachers and bring it along with me when we move. My girls are 10 and 7, the youngest being a special needs child who requires lots of special education class time and the teachers to go along with it. The programs are just wonderful and the staff and principal are irreplaceable!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

My two daughters (ages 5 and 112) attend Peter Sarpy and I love it! the pre-school program is wonderful too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2007

As a parent who has four kids at this school, I can say I love, love, LOVE, this school. The office staff is excellent, the teachers are superb and everyday my daughters are learning something new. The teachers care what the students are learning and if the parents are involved. There is always something going on to bring everyone together. I cant say enough. Thank you Peter Sarpy for having an awesome school!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2007

Our two kids have been here for 4 and 5 years, respectively. The curriculum is fantastic. Our kids are well ahead of relatives children of roughly the same age. I couldn't have asked for a better academic environment for my children to start their lives from.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2007

This school is so great! My daughter is in K and loves going and really enjoys her teachers and I love the way the teachers work with the parents to have learning happen at school and home and to make sure that we are working on the same levels and not competing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

In a nutshell...fantastic! Love the way the school does the majority of learning during the school day, weaning out the 60+ minutes of homework every night while still maintaining excellent academics. My 11 year old is learning more this first year than at any other school we've been a part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2005

Wonderful school with caring teachers and advanced curriculum available for gifted students as well. Wonderful band starter program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2004

I really enjoy taking my daughter to school every day and seeing her excited about learning new things and seeing friends. She's definantly learned alot since the start of the school year and it's only December. I'd recomend this school to anyone in the area. Teachers and staff are very friendly and PTA members are very active.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

Wow! This school is terrific! The teachers, The office staff, volunteers, all of them are really great and helpful. My children came to this school in the middle of last year and I can see a difference in their learning and eagerness to learn. They are happy to go to school and smiling when they come home with lots of details of their day. The atmosphere is very joyful,when you walk down the halls and see all the great work the children do you can feel the happiness and time that was put into them. I'm so thankful for my children to have this opportunity to attend such a great school. Thank You Peter Sarpy Elementry staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2003

This is absolutely the best school any of my 3 children have ever attended. And as a mobile military family, we have seen alot of different schools around the world. Everyone, from the teachers to the volunteers is there for your child. My kindergartner has just (easily) read me Green Eggs and Ham, and each day they amaze me with their new knowledge. Plus, they actually enjoy going to school. Thanks to all at PSE who make this possible you are shaping the future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2003

Couldn't be any happier. Fantastic school. Everybody from the office ladies to the principal is very approachable with the best interest of the child. everyone also make a point to get to know what kid belongs with what parent. We've had terrific luck with teachers also!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2012.

38 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
White, not Hispanic76%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
White, not Hispanic76%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
White, not Hispanicn/a
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
White, not Hispanicn/a
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
White, not Hispanicn/a
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Hispanicn/a
White, not Hispanicn/a
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
White, not Hispanicn/a
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
White, not Hispanicn/a
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
White, not Hispanicn/a
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 71%
Black 16% 7%
Hispanic 9% 16%
Asian 4% 2%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2908 Vandenberg Ave
Bellevue, NE 68123
Phone: (402) 293-4795

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Matthew School
Bellevue, NE





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT