Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gretna High School

Public | 9-12 | 771 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 26, 2011

AR is a pain in my neck but I make up the misery with marching and concert band. It's the reason I'm smart, and the reason I come to this school in the first place. Wish I could drive though. Wish my bus didn't pick me up at four...:D
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2011

It's great and I learn so much! The teachers have a way of mixing fun into learning
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2011

This is a great local public H.S., a superb alternative to area private schools. The leadership is excellent, with high student expectations. Students are strongly encouraged to join extracurricular activities and clubs. I wish there was a school orchestra and greater number of club options, besides sports, but student involvement is high. Student teacher ratio is good, with very involved and knowledgeable educators. Teacher quality is very good. Most teachers are very caring and motivating. Of course there are always a handful that both kids and parents wish to avoid. College Prep track is available, but currently only one AP option. The commitment to education and smaller class size is worth that sacrifice. Basic education needs with alternate vocational training is also available-a good basic mix for all. I highly recommend over other larger school systems. My sophomore is not just a number in the classroom. People actually expect him to be there, to learn, and will contact parents, if necessary. I am able to access grades online, and contact teachers with direct e-mail, anytime. A++in my book! :) Parent/local private school & successful college grad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2011

We were very impressed with the leadership, teaching ability and overall involvement of the community for the high school. Our children had an opportunity to be involved in activities that they would have never been involved in in a larger district. Counselors, teachers and principals were very thorough in their reports and genuinely showed concern for students, wanting every student to succeed and were give every opportunity to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

The staff is good, the assistant principal runs the place really well, but they offer nothing educationally. They don't offer anything classes to help you in life, not even a home ec. course! The english teacher I had couldn't spell but they hire any previous students without checking into them. If you want your kids to be treated nice, it's okay. If you want your kids to learn anything, send them to Millard North.


Posted February 21, 2009

As a junior at, who has attended Gretna since kindergarten, I have received an outstanding education. Teachers at Gretna do not merely care for your academic success, but want to see you excel in all aspects of your life. They are always available for help with schoolwork, and just to listen. I have consistently been academically challenged, both in the classroom, and during extracurricular activities. The majority of our coaches are also teachers at one of the schools in our district, and incorporate learning into all aspects of our extracurriculars.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2008

Gretna has excellent, caring and committed teachers and staff. But what the scores of low poverty, low minorites, etc., don't tell you: the school has a serious issue with bullying and substance abuse. Having known formers students who are now dead and having been to the school myself, the experience was quite negative. The extra-curricular programs are quite good, but there needs to be more student involvement in development and leadership. I think this stems from the whole 'hand holding' approach where many kids are spoon-fed or given a slight slap on the hand when they have done wrong. Another thing: if you want your kids to learn respect, teach it to them before they enter any school.


Posted January 23, 2008

I have had 3 sons attend all of Gretna Public Schools. The administrators and teachers are by far the best I have dealt with. Prior to Gretna, my children attended OPS in Omaha and the school was the reason we moved to Gretna. It was one of the best decisions I have ever made in my life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

Gretna High school is the best school my daughter has ever attended. Her grades have improved immensely due to the teacher support and atmosphere. The academics here and the well rounded curriculum is fantastic. We are very appreciative for all the school has done for our daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2005

This school is amazing. The teachers are all very kind to the students and help them with all of their problems.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 69% in 2013.

190 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female77%
Male76%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic76%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch55%
Special education students24%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female81%
Male71%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic76%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch27%
Special education students41%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students87%
Female85%
Male89%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic87%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Special education students53%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students91%
Female98%
Male84%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic91%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Special education students46%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 70%
Hispanic 3% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 7%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 8%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11335 South 204th St
Gretna, NE 68028
Phone: (402) 332-3936

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT