Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parkview Heights Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2012

I was pleased with the school, at first. In the past year I have seen a huge change in my child and the care and concern of the staff. My child is constantly singled out and given think times for taking 30 seconds longer to accomplish a task than the other children. I have made myself available to the school 24/7 and have yet to get a call or notice that my child is having difficulties, but his report card is showing many (-) negatives in various subjects. I have been told to medicate my child so he will get his work done in a timely manner and that if my doctor won't agree to medicate then I need to find a doctor that will. If you don't believe in the new fad of 'medicating your kid' then I DO NOT recommend this school!!!! I'm worried that all of the negative feedback, they don't focus on the positives, may have labeled my child for life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

Overall our school year has been a great learning experience. The positives are great school home communication, good teachers, plenty of opportunities to be an involved parent. The negative is that there is zero creativity in the school. Classes are instructed robotically with little teacher/student engagement. Every student is looked at as a piece of a whole not as an individual. 5th and 6th grade have one 15 minute recess a day. There is good content, but little passion at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

I am a teacher in a larger neighboring district, but my grandchildren attend Parkview Heights. This is a wonderful school, with caring well-educated, experienced teachers, and a principal who is responsive to the needs of her students. My husband and I have been fortunate enough to attend many after-school functions (musical programs), and have always been personally greeted by school staff and felt very welcome. Even though our children/grandchildren moved into a new district, they preferred to remain at this building; even driving many miles out of their way to make sure this quality environment could be experienced by all of their children (currently 5). I woud wholeheartedly recommend this school, staff, administration, and curriculum to any families looking for a positive school home.


Posted June 7, 2011

Two of my three sons went to this school, and they loved it. The teachers care about their students and they want to make sure they are ready for the next level. Parents are always welcomed and involved and it makes it a wonderful place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2010

Inconsistent education, teachers running own agenda, lots of bullying, disrespect for children and parents. Lot of nice parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 18, 2009

I attended parkview and now my children attend. Some of the same great teachers are still there, it shows how much they love and care for the community! The teachers are great always up to date on the latest teaching methods and the principal has new discipline techniques which emphasize the well behaved students vs. the negative behavior. Which is so excellent and makes the best kids get the most attention. It is working very well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

My child has gone to Parkview since kindergarten and is now in 6th grade. We hae been more than happy with the teachers and staff. In the younger grades the teachers were so nurturing as they should be. I credit these teachers with how well my child still likes school today. The teachers in the older grades give the kids more responsibility and make them accountable for their actions. We've had 3 principals and while each one had a different management style, all were good. The kids LOVED the first two principals. They also like the current principal but she is more business oriented and they have had a harder time warming up to her. I would not hesitate to send your child to Parkview -- my child has done really well here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

the children are okey.some brake down into tears in the class for no reason at all! others are top of the line, down right smart kids who will become great people if taught at the right school.but the princaple! my 2 children liked the old one better. i will be taking them to portal next year. i hope it will help them more than this pile of junk!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

The teachers are wonderful and top of the line, as is the new principal. They go out of their way for children who need extra help. I do see some mild bullying and clicks and I do wish there was more parental involvement allowed. Overall, I do like the school and will continue my children's education at Parkview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

We transferred in from another public school in our area a few months ago. Some of the differences in policies were good; the teacher is run of the mill. I am extremely disappointed in the security and discipline areas. Bullying, clicks, ect... seem to be more prevalent at this elementary school than the last, and my child, who is normally upbeat with no history of social problems, has been very depressed and unhappy since we made the transfer. We intend to look for another school for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 69% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female86%
Male94%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic87%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch86%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female90%
Male73%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic87%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch67%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female66%
Male88%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic83%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch69%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female84%
Male86%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic92%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch69%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students79%
Female84%
Male76%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic83%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch74%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female74%
Male73%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic78%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch61%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female89%
Male73%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic86%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch72%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students51%
Female48%
Male55%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic57%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch39%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female76%
Male75%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic80%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch54%
Special education students46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic86%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch71%
Special education students54%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 70%
Hispanic 12% 16%
Black 5% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7609 South 89th St
La Vista, NE 68128
Phone: (402) 898-0433

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT