Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southwest High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2009

Note: I have never attended a full day at Southwest because I also attend a focus program. The teachers fall within the normal spectrum: I have had superb ones and ones who seemed not to care at all. I would imagine that is the same at all schools. One suggestion, take Diff courses if you want better teachers. Some counselors are good and some aren't I know, I've have three because they changed the divisions twice. The newer ones seemed to take more of an interest. I would recommend you set up a private meeting before school with parents. Discipline is adequate: not too many stupid rules and punishments usually seem fair. Block scheduling is nice, except you only spend 1 semester, max, with teachers so getting to know them well can be a challenge. It's great only having 4 finals at a time. Only having a PE for a quarter odd.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2009

My son will be starting his Senior year in 2009 and has been attending since his sophomore. I would advise everyone to send your kids to this school. Block scheduling is wonderful and more help to kids that need the extra class time. The kids seem less overwhelmed and have more opportunity to grasp the information being given rather than cramming the same information into a shorter class. As for snobs......well I tell you what. We are not rich! We do not even live on that side of town. I send my child to this school and make the long drive just so he can attend. He is not picked on for being low income and he has made many friends over the years regardless. The teachers are involved and support the kids 100% they could communicate better with parents I agree but overall it is a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2008

My son went here and the whole time he was unhappy. The counselors are unapproachable and unfriendly. Although there are a few decent teachers, the overall education is below par. I would recommend any other school in Lincoln besides this one. Don't send your child here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

I am very involved in many activities at southwest and, despite all other lincoln schools despising us, have loved every minute of it. All the talk of snobs and filthy rich students are false stereotypes as there are wealthy families at every school. I love the block schedules and most all of the teachers. Southwest is a great experience and is a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 9, 2008

in my experiance at southwest its to snotty only go if you a docter or a lawyer or you kids will be made fun of
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

Southwest High has exceeded our expectations both for us as parents and for our son, a freshman. The block scheduling is fantastic and the teacher and staff commitment is high. The Music and Theatre programs are spectacular! Our son raves about his school and couldn't be happier. Thank you to everyone at Southwest! Mary and Steve Wiley
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2005

I love this school. Very well put together. The best part is block scheldules. Kids only have 4 classes a day, 90 minutes long. It only takes them 2 terms to finish a core class, unlike the usual 4 terms to finish a core class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2004

I came from Lincoln Christain, and Southwest was a big change. But the teachers and staff were very helpful with me making the change. Southwest is a great school with great kids, and great teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

462 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

458 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 69% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female68%
Male56%
Black, not Hispanic)21%
Asian75%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial50%
White, not Hispanic64%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch34%
Special education students18%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students67%
Female75%
Male58%
Black, not Hispanic)36%
Asian70%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial68%
White, not Hispanic68%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch39%
Special education students24%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students73%
Female74%
Male71%
Black, not Hispanic)29%
Asian70%
Hispanic59%
Multiracial68%
White, not Hispanic75%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch48%
Special education students29%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female83%
Male59%
Black, not Hispanic)47%
Asian69%
Hispanic48%
Multiracial77%
White, not Hispanic74%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch53%
Special education students20%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 70%
Hispanic 6% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 3% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7001 South 14th St
Lincoln, NE 68512
Phone: (402) 436-1306

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT