Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public district
Malcolm, NE
Students enrolled: 217
 

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Malcolm Jr/Sr High School 5

Posted November 30, 2011
- a community member
As a student in Malcolm, I find the racist comment completely untrue. And how it lacks opportunity, it's a small school, with little grants. It's not based on talent, as if the coaches voted on students to join in, there would not be enough to have a team. The people below me, obviously have not experienced life as a STUDENT in Malcolm. We are not racist, as other schools are exactly like ours, just bigger.

Malcolm Jr/Sr High School 1

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
Malcolm is a great school for special needs kids and kids that need extra attention academically, especially at the elementary school level. However, for Junior High & High School, it is below par. Due to its small size, there are not a lot of opportunities for gifted students (or even just above average students) to be challenged. It's a very 'close-minded' school where kids tend to feel pressure to conform to others...and it lacks any diversity whatsoever. From a sports perspective, it's very political and not based on talent as far as play time. The school board never changes as far as its members...the same ones get re-voted in every election year. Malcolm is a town that resists change and new ideas and that comes through in its school system. If you live in the Malcolm district, I would recommend optioning your kid into another school.


Malcolm Jr/Sr High School 5

Posted December 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Malcolm Jr/Sr High School 0
no rating

Posted November 06, 2008
- a parent
I'm a parent of a student at Malcolm High School. It is an elcellent school with many opportunities for the kids even though it's small. One person commented on the fact that the kids seem behind well that's not true. In fact when my first child started attending Malcolm coming from Lincoln Public Schools that he was behind and had to catch up. Malcolm worked with him to get him up to par. I will have two graduates from Malcolm in the near future and would recommend the school system to any one.

Malcolm Jr/Sr High School 3

Posted May 13, 2008
- a student
I would say that Malcolm, though very small and closed, is an excellent school overall. They keep their students here and give them many options. This next year (2008-2009) they will begin to offer 'Career Academies' which allow students to go to colleges and learn about career while getting college credits. Many of the opinions, interests, and taste among students is very similar, but that's because everyone here is friends with everyone else. My class is a class of about 40 or so and I feel that everyone is friends with everyone. The racist comment, though very reasonable, is completely not true. We are not racist, we in fact of people of different race here, just not in outstanding numbers, and they are all accepted just as everyone else. There are better schools out there, but isn't there always something better than what you have?


Malcolm Jr/Sr High School 1

Posted March 17, 2008
- a student
Malcom High School lacks opportunity for it's students. Given how isolated Malcolm is and how small it is, the classes are not comparable to the ones from schools in larger cities. Besides, graduating first in a class of forty, at Malcolm, is nothing compared to a class of four-hundred. Also, I have noticed that the entire student body seems completely uninspired (as scholars), is somewhat bias, and lacks a balanced perspective on worldly events. Plus, not only is there no diversity in race, but no diversity in oppinions, personality, interests, or taste amongst students. Unfortunately for these kids, the real world is quite a bit different. I would say that the few, overly ambitious, hardworking students should find a better place to recieve their education.

Malcolm Jr/Sr High School 5

Posted March 13, 2008
- a student
Malcolm High School is an excellent school. Because of the small population of the town the teachers are able to give more focus to each student individually. After high school I joined the Air Force and have made rank of Staff Seargent so far.

Malcolm Jr/Sr High School 4

Posted August 17, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.


Malcolm Jr/Sr High School 2

Posted February 06, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Malcolm Jr/Sr High School 5

Posted August 10, 2005
- a former student
I am a graduate of Malcolm High school and would say it is a great school in a great small town. The teachers are caring and committed. They do lack in extracurricular activities I believe due to lack of interest and availabilty. As per the other posted comment about racism, that is simply not true! Malcolm students are not racist they are simply sheltered and not exposed to students of other cultures, races, religions, etc., because the town is so small and is predominintely caucasian. I have no children at this time but I would have no objections to sending my children to the Malcolm School System.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Malcolm Jr/Sr High School
10002 North West 112th St, Malcolm, NE  68402
(402) 796-2151
Last modified Malcolm Jr/Sr High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Malcolm Jr/Sr High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top