Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Omaha, NE
Students enrolled: 561

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Picotte Elementary School 1

Posted February 23, 2012
- a parent
There really isn't anything unique or noteworthy to say about this particular school. The staff is more focused on enforcing rules and on monitoring compliance than on teaching and learning. While there are a few dedicated teachers there, who understand child behavior and are skilled at dealing with it, the majority seem to lack the necessary expertise required to turn it into a positive. From my experience, there seems to be greater emphasis placed on "play-time" or "physical activity" rather than on mental activity. So if you are grooming a child to be a future professional athlete, or entertainer, I highly recommend this school. However, if is it your desire that your child attain a solid education so that he or she can develop into skilled critical thinkers that can operate in the most demanding and rigorous academic environments, you should probably look elsewhere to achieve that outcome. If you are serious about your child's education, you may want to look into Millard Public Schools.

Picotte Elementary School 5

Posted August 07, 2011
- a parent
Great School with knowledgeable teachers that care. The school staffs are committed to the students success.


Picotte Elementary School 2

Posted January 31, 2011
- a community member
Consider another school, and save yourself a headache. Many other schools to choose from.Good luck

Picotte Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2010
- a parent
Picotte Elementary is one of the top schools in excellence in education. The teachers knowledge and teaching techniques are wonderful. My children love this school!

Picotte Elementary School 4

Posted September 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Picotte Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2007
- a parent
Picotte Elementary demonstrates excellence in education. The staff is unparalleled in their knowledge and teaching techniques. The teachers have a wonderful balance between nurture and discipline to get the job done. My children truly enjoy going to school each morning, and I belive that in and of itself is all the review that is needed!

Picotte Elementary School 4

Posted August 21, 2005
- a parent
I was most impressed with the teaching staff and administrators. They were nurturing and caring and looked at each individual child and thier potential. My son only got to attend Picotte for six grade. I feel he missed out on many acedemic and extra ccurricular activities by attending another school in the same district. They truly demonstrated it is not the district but the school who make a school an fantastic place for children.

Picotte Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2005
- a parent
This school has a very caring and energized staff. My son truly enjoys his first grade teacher.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Picotte Elementary School
14506 Ohio St, Omaha, NE  68116
(402) 496-8401
Last modified Picotte Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Picotte Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top