Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Prairie Wind Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 08, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Becker is the perfect kindergarten teacher! Her room runs like clockwork due to her preparation and firm handle on the classroom. She is loving and well qualified. We are so fortunate to be placed with her!

Prairie Wind Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2016
- a community member
Prairie Wind is a lovely, wonderfully diverse, awesome school. The teachers are top-notch and care about all of the students and help everyone to succeed. My daughter has autism and she is in an inclusion (if that is the word--not self-contained) classroom. Her IEP is top-notch and supported all through the school from the Principal to her regular teacher to the Special Education teacher to the lunchroom attendants. I can't say enough nice things about this school.


Prairie Wind Elementary School 5

Posted March 15, 2015
- a parent
Prairie Wind is our neighborhood school, and I am a very staunch believer in knowing your neighbors and your neighbors' kids. OPS offers many opportunities for children to be bused to different schools and I am not a fan of that. Our three children have thrived at PW and continue to love their school and teachers. As a parent, sometimes I hear complaints from other parents about a policy or a miscommunication. I encourage all parents to be involved in their child's school, communicate often with their teacher, and attend school and PTO functions whenever possible. You get out what you put into your child's education.

Prairie Wind Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
It is a neighborhood school and both of my children love going there. The principal is very friendly and the teachers are outstanding!

Prairie Wind Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
Both of the boys teachers are great. They love them.


Prairie Wind Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
My kids love their school and their teachers. The teachers make learning a fun adventure instead of 'work' and keep the kids involved. The principal is delightful and always willing to talk with you, very helpful in solving problems and wants to make the school even better than it already is. Most of the people working there are pleasant and friendly to deal with. Clean atmosphere, nice upkeep.

Prairie Wind Elementary School 3

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
I have 2 children at this school and would love to be able to afford to move to get them out of here. My oldest child is self motivated and has no issues in his 5 years at this school.. however my 2nd grader is having a horrible time because he isn't so motivated. I try to stay as involved as I can as a parent, but the teachers and the school need to do their job at some point. I really loved this school the 1st few years my son was here, but unfortuanetly it has went down hill fast these last couple of years.

Prairie Wind Elementary School 5

Posted December 01, 2009
- a parent
To be honest I was intimidated by the size of Prairie Wind when we first moved here, but we have had nothing but good experiences at Prairie Wind. We have 3 boys with a variety of interests, music, science, math, drama, and they all have been challenged. The school staff and principal have even spent a great time helping us with one son who tends so get in trouble a lot due to a sensory processing disorder. I love the school spirit and the parent involvement at Prairied Wind. Our last PTA meeting had over 100 parents there! It is a great school and we are proud to be part of it.


Prairie Wind Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 20, 2008
- a parent
All in all the school is good. There are a lot of students at the school and I feel as if they need some additional help in the way of assistants for the teachers/volunteers. The classes are very crowded and there isn't a lot of available time for the teacher and individual students

Prairie Wind Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2007
- a parent
What a wonderful school. The teachers are very good and keep the parents posted and this school has a great staff. My kids really like going here.

Nearby schools

Prairie Wind Elementary School
10908 Ellison Ave, Omaha, NE  68164
(402) 491-0859
Last modified Prairie Wind Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top