Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Burke High School 1

Posted October 23, 2014
- a student
Burke High School is the worst possible school to send your child to. They lack the benefit of teaching students things that will help them do well on the ACT, SAT, or on their future in general. The school is extremely overpopulated (which I don't understand why due to how terrible of a school this is). Not only that, but way too much money goes to bussing students in to Burke. They have closed campus (which completely sucks), many of the teachers do not care about the success of their students, the principal is never even seen, and the lunches are absolutely terrible. If you want your child to have even a decent education and a good high school experience then I would recommend sending them anywhere but Burke High School.

Burke High School 3

Posted June 19, 2014
- a student
It's largely overpopulated, which makes it difficult to get to class on time. They recently started making students wear ID's, which is basically a joke. They won't stop you at the front door if you aren't wearing them and they give little to no security. By the end of the year no passes were given out of class unless you had a security escort due to truancy, which really added to the prison feel. There are some teachers who truly do care about the students, but don't have the power to change the rules. Other teachers don't give the proper support/feedback, and don't seem to know what they should be doing. The grading system makes it hard to get an A and even harder to fail. It's obvious many students don't care and it very much affects the environment of the class room. Even AP classes are often dumbed down for the entire class in hopes of better test scores. There are a good amount of after school activities with instructors who actually care about the students, such as drama or band. The students/staff are generally fairly accepting/tolerable about race, sexual orientation, etc. 3 stars because while it's bad, it could be worse.


Burke High School 3

Posted May 19, 2011
- a student
Coming from a graduate, Its a jock school.. Nothing special, a hassle if anything. The school is extremely overcrowded way over populous limits making it difficult to focus. Parking and leaving the premises in the mornings and evenings was a joke because it took about 15-20 minutes just to leave a small parking lot that was jam packed nearly every day. Grading system is horrible, and some teachers wont even give an effort to make in depth instructions for new projects or assignments, usually very vague as if very little time was put into planning the day. The students that get the most assistance and appreciation are jocks, those involved in sports. Plain and simple. The only positive thing I could say about this school is the fact it was usually clean, and was recently renovated. They do have a good Orchestra and Band programs.

Burke High School 1

Posted December 26, 2010
- a parent
Over-crowded, ridiculous grading policy, and kids bussed in from everywhere are just a few reasons to avoid this school at all costs.

Burke High School 5

Posted September 04, 2010
- a student
this school is very awesome i have never been to a better school in my life. i recommend others going to this school also


Burke High School 2

Posted April 02, 2010
- a student
burke such a terrible school. never have disliked so many people and teachers as i at burke. anyone who has a choice of what school they attend, i strongly advise they look elsewhere for a quality education that you will not receive at burke

Burke High School 0
no rating

Posted April 02, 2010
- a parent
I would never recommend sending a child to Burke. Aside from it being way over populated, students are not held accountable for their decisions. It is very difficult to teach a child to be responsible when academic integrity is not enforced at Burke. There is a no fail policy and it doesn't take long for a child to figure this out. It makes efforts at home so much more difficult when the child knows that he won't fail no matter what!! Pick a different school for your child.

Burke High School 5

Posted January 04, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Burke High School 5

Posted April 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Burke High School 0
no rating

Posted January 29, 2009
- a student
I went to burke it's a great school.. I love it people are friendly.. I'm Sudanese and we had tons of Sudanese there and they were getting along with everyone.. I love burke lol :)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Burke High School
12200 Burke Blvd, Omaha, NE  68154
(402) 557-3200
Last modified Burke High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Burke High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top