Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Omaha, NE
Students enrolled: 2,131
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Burke High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 11, 2015
- a student
I say this because at time teachers can load us up with home and were get a soon date to finish it and we can't and our grades drop and were stuck with no life over the weekends with homework and us teens need that weekend to rejuvenate our senses and get things together for the next week

Burke High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted July 11, 2015
- a student
yes and no all I know is it developed respect in me and helps me get things done because i know how to talk to certain people


Burke High School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted July 11, 2015
- a student
the teachers that get to know those students it really does. I came to this school think oh imma have to be big and bad and not learn but no my teachers helped me learn to just be you the nice caring person you are and now everyday i call some random girl beautiful to make her day way better then it was or if she wasn't having a good day start it off because i learned if you do that itll help out them to learn and get good grades because no one wants to hear this and that when they are mad or sad so giving them that one compliment or talking to them in the morning helps them out and my teachers help me learn that

Burke High School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted July 11, 2015
- a student
i say neutral because my generation they arnt willing to learn they want to be with the it crowd and the it crowd is to smoke fail and do nothing with your life but for the people like me that want and need this they really do

Burke High School 4

Posted July 11, 2015
- a student
The teachers here help me out a great amount they get me threw struggles with my ADHD they help me focus with activities and the younger ones can relate more to me. They teach me good book smarts and street smarts and it isn't just a here home work i'm not helping school, they will stay after school for you if you need it no matter what they had to do after school whether it's an hour or 30 minutes they care and i love burke for it


Burke High School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 11, 2015
- a student
The teachers at burke high school all have something to give whether its social, business, history, math, or life skills at this school and you can tell the teachers really do care for the students at the school its just the students don't care to learn thats the problem

Burke High School 1

Posted October 23, 2014
- a student
Burke High School is the worst possible school to send your child to. They lack the benefit of teaching students things that will help them do well on the ACT, SAT, or on their future in general. The school is extremely overpopulated (which I don't understand why due to how terrible of a school this is). Not only that, but way too much money goes to bussing students in to Burke. They have closed campus (which completely sucks), many of the teachers do not care about the success of their students, the principal is never even seen, and the lunches are absolutely terrible. If you want your child to have even a decent education and a good high school experience then I would recommend sending them anywhere but Burke High School.
2 people found this helpful

Burke High School 3

Posted June 19, 2014
- a student
It's largely overpopulated, which makes it difficult to get to class on time. They recently started making students wear ID's, which is basically a joke. They won't stop you at the front door if you aren't wearing them and they give little to no security. By the end of the year no passes were given out of class unless you had a security escort due to truancy, which really added to the prison feel. There are some teachers who truly do care about the students, but don't have the power to change the rules. Other teachers don't give the proper support/feedback, and don't seem to know what they should be doing. The grading system makes it hard to get an A and even harder to fail. It's obvious many students don't care and it very much affects the environment of the class room. Even AP classes are often dumbed down for the entire class in hopes of better test scores. There are a good amount of after school activities with instructors who actually care about the students, such as drama or band. The students/staff are generally fairly accepting/tolerable about race, sexual orientation, etc. 3 stars because while it's bad, it could be worse.


Burke High School 3

Posted May 19, 2011
- a student
Coming from a graduate, Its a jock school.. Nothing special, a hassle if anything. The school is extremely overcrowded way over populous limits making it difficult to focus. Parking and leaving the premises in the mornings and evenings was a joke because it took about 15-20 minutes just to leave a small parking lot that was jam packed nearly every day. Grading system is horrible, and some teachers wont even give an effort to make in depth instructions for new projects or assignments, usually very vague as if very little time was put into planning the day. The students that get the most assistance and appreciation are jocks, those involved in sports. Plain and simple. The only positive thing I could say about this school is the fact it was usually clean, and was recently renovated. They do have a good Orchestra and Band programs.
1 person found this helpful

Burke High School 1

Posted December 26, 2010
- a parent
Over-crowded, ridiculous grading policy, and kids bussed in from everywhere are just a few reasons to avoid this school at all costs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Burke High School
12200 Burke Blvd, Omaha, NE  68154
(402) 557-3200
Last modified Burke High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Burke High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. Top