Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Central High School

Public | 9-12 | 2571 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2014

Here at Omaha Central High School, you'll find dedicated teachers and thriving students. I've been here for almost two years and I plan on staying. The IB program here is amazing. Perhaps you've heard rumors about this school, but there nothing here that you wouldn't find at any other school. It's a matter of who is willing to put in the effort. I adore Central's diversity, opportunities, and overall appeal. Once an eagle, always an eagle.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 25, 2013

I graduated from Central in 2008 with a rounded education that allowed me to complete my bachelor of arts in English in only three years. I was able to opt out of math, science, and political science gen eds in college because Central provided classes that were sometimes even better than the college classes they could offer me. In addition to that Central has one of the most prestigious classical music programs in the state and gave me the opportunity to perform professionally with Mulberry Lane and at the College World Series. Central is the home of anyone who goes there. I often describe the feeling of family at Central as a mini Husker nation. The teachers of this school are some the best I've ever studied under, and as I complete my final semester of graduate school for my Master's degree, I can without a doubt say that Central is the reason I have the friends, world experience, and education I have today.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2009

The school is as excellent today as it was when I attended. It is a solid school, with excellent teachers that care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Academic excellence, amazing athletes, fabulous teachers and administrators...what more is there?!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It's magical! My friends and I joke that there are 'friendly ghosts.' The building is at least 100 years old and magnificent. Academics are superlative, sports are winners, Central is 'different.' Unique, Lots of love in there....


Posted September 16, 2009

I graduated from Central High last year. Central's AP classes and excellent teachers helped pave the way for me to get to college this year. Central desserves this money because of its academic excellence and its contribution to the community.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Academic excellence; diversity;music and arts;tradition


Posted January 2, 2008

I love this school so much. The programs here are amazing. Central is ery diverse. Thats what makes this school the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2006

Our 2nd child will be graduating this month from Central, and we will dearly miss the school. Both of our children received an excellent education from Central, and our oldest is having a very successful college career thanks to his high school work. However, what we probably value the most about Central, is the character, traditions, and commitment to diversity. No matter what a child dresses like, or what interests they have, they can find their niche at Central. Students are very accepting of each other. Central is the oldest high school in Nebraska, and I feel will continue to have a strong commitment to excellence for years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2006

Our son has successfully been accepted and awarded academic sholarship at private college of his choice. Central has provided him a good learning environment to be a well rounded person in the real world. Many choices for honors classses and other focus area. Many options for afterschool clubs and extracurricular activities. Faculty and Administration are some of the best that we have encountered. Involved select group of parents, however; all are welcome and encouraged to be active in the many parent groups that support the arts, academics, band, drama, journalism,sports,etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2006

My oldest graduated in 2005 from Central after spending her first eight years in Montessori and the Omaha Catholic system. At Central, she was able to compete in three varsity sports (11 letters), was involved in a number of clubs and activities, scored a 32 on the ACT, made friends from all over the city and is extremely proud to have been an Eagle. Great academic school for those young people who want to compete in a diverse, downtown environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2005

I am a mother of 2 boys. One of them graduated from Millard West about 5 years ago, the other just finished up at Central recently. I just have to say that I am sorry I didn't switch my younger son over to Millard. Central was acceptable, but the quality of the education he recieved doesn't seem to be nearly as high as my older son's. They were both very hard working kids, but the teachers in Millard just seemed to have done a better job at offering challenging and educational material. I also know that for my son's first year or two at Central he was pretty scared of the environment at times. He would come home worried about going to school the next day. I just hope Central will address some of these issues in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2005

Our family has had 4 children and at least 6 exchange students who have graduated from Central High School. In all but 1 case, we were very satisfied with the education they received. (1 exchange student had difficulties, but there were extenuating circumstances, which had more to do with his own attitude and less to do with the classes offered him.) If students choose at least 2 honors level courses, they will find it challenging and the teachers offer a lot of support. I cannot comment on how students fare, who have not taken any honors classes. Most obvious to my children from a 'hindsight' perspective is the English program's success in teaching writing! Many students end up helping others in college when they write papers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

617 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

616 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

617 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 69% in 2013.

619 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female49%
Male42%
Black, not Hispanic)29%
Asian47%
Hispanic33%
Multiracial53%
White, not Hispanic61%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch31%
Special education students9%
English language learners5%

Reading

All Students66%
Female72%
Male59%
Black, not Hispanic)54%
Asian44%
Hispanic58%
Multiracial74%
White, not Hispanic76%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch56%
Special education students23%
English language learners17%

Science

All Students63%
Female62%
Male65%
Black, not Hispanic)46%
Asian47%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial62%
White, not Hispanic80%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch49%
Special education students26%
English language learners10%

Writing

All Students63%
Female74%
Male51%
Black, not Hispanic)53%
Asian43%
Hispanic50%
Multiracial72%
White, not Hispanic74%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch52%
Special education students17%
English language learners5%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 70%
Black 31% 7%
Hispanic 18% 16%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 59%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

124 North 20th St
Omaha, NE 68102
Phone: (402) 557-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Career Center
Omaha, NE





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT