Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Norris Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 692 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2014

It's been a few years since I've been here, but I definitely remember what it was like. The school itself wasn't in the best condition. The students aren't so great and motivated. But if I hadn't attended, I wouldn't have met some of the great friends I have today. Don't get me wrong, there is no blame to be put towards the staff. Some of the teachers prepared me more than enough for high school. And for that, I am forever grateful.


Posted October 24, 2006

We think Norris Middle School is better than other OPS schools. We do a lot more with a lot less. We are fotten by the leaders of the district in funding and in management. We try our best to discipline and redirect the students behavior here, but need to be backed up at home as well. We understand that you are not with them during the day, but we are not babysitters and not with them at night. You should come to Norris and really see what is really going on. This is a great place and a great atmosphere.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 7, 2005

I think that norris is a really good school because it's got a lot of diversity and teachers really care about what u gotta say....and if someone didn't learn there then that'st their problem not the schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 1, 2005

Norris is a great school. All it needs is a little of remodeling. I am on 8C this year and all my teachers are great and would anything to help their students. This school has great after school activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 14, 2005

I think that Norris is a good school,but needs more funding.If you look at some of the other ops schools they look amazing. Norris needs to be rebuild. It needs to be remodeld. But it is a good school just needs help.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2004

I think the teachers and adminisrators at Norris middle school simply don't care. I overheard a counselor, say 'what do you want me to do about it?' When a teacher expressed consern over a student. The teachers are so blind. Once there was a small fight inside the band room and the teacher was standing at one of the doorways and didn't look over util it was done. She was too busy talking to other teachers. Take it from me, I was a student for all 2 years at Norris.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2004

Norris Middle school is more a joke. I spent two years there and learned almost nothing. However I do rate the band program very high.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 24, 2004

I think that Norris Middle School is the poorest example for OPS. I don't think they really try to involve the parents until it is too late. It is difficult to get in touch with the teachers either before or after school; when you do the time is limited, they don't seem that interested in resolving the issue; they act as though you should be able to resolve it (we aren't there during the day). They seem to like to pit child and parent against one another, rather than deal with the issues. The teachers often seemed petty and quick to make a scapegoat of our son. He was no angel, but many times his reaction was because of their attitudes. The administrators don't react in a timely manner to disruptions; inflicting the punishment days to weeks after the incident. Very poor management of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

413 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2012.

332 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2012.

2012

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 64% in 2012.

332 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
White, not Hispanicn/a
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students47%
Female54%
Male41%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Hispanic45%
White, not Hispanic72%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch44%
English language learners38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
White, not Hispanicn/a
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students42%
Female45%
Malen/a
Hispanic40%
White, not Hispanicn/a
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch40%

Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
White, not Hispanicn/a
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a

Writing

All Students33%
Female43%
Malen/a
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Hispanic31%
White, not Hispanicn/a
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch30%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 16%
White 22% 71%
Black 9% 7%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Asian 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2235 South 46th St
Omaha, NE 68106
Phone: (402) 557-4800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT