Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Omaha, NE
Students enrolled: 418

2 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Walnut Hill Elementary School 1

Posted February 13, 2014
- a parent
absolutely beyond a doubt the worst of Omaha. Teachers and staff leave you wishing you could move out of state and as far away as possible, please if you care for your children avoid this place.

Walnut Hill Elementary School 1

Posted February 13, 2014
- a parent
This school should be closed, all the staff blacklisted from ever working with children, and then demolished. No child should have to bare the low standards of education and neglectful supervision regularly provided by this place.


Walnut Hill Elementary School 1

Posted January 23, 2007
- a parent
It is my belief that there are serious issues within this school from the top down that need to be addressed. Getting your child tested for special education is a battle. Academics are not up to par. The teacher turn over rate is high.

Walnut Hill Elementary School 2

Posted April 24, 2006
- a parent
It is not just what 'particular' staff see for the future, but the community, parents and taxpayers. The parent's ideas and activities for the future and what it holds for the school count's too. As for the education, there are a few teachers that I would recommend.

Walnut Hill Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2004
- a parent
I disagree with the comment of school excellence. This school is failing our student and pushing them backwards in learning. Learning at it's highest levels in most important and not at all being formated at Walnut. Teachers and administrators are failing our students. Their success depends top notch educational programs. The learning process is a growing process. If funding is not available, find it. Replace usless staff and add new fresh staff, of all levels.


Walnut Hill Elementary School 1

Posted April 12, 2004
- a parent
I to am appalled at the most current feedback. My children attended Walnut Hill until I was able to afford to send them to nurturing school envoriment.I am hoping the 1yr and 2 months they attended will be easily erased from their memoies and will not stunt their education growth. I found it difficult to communicate with staff, at all levels at this school. I felt like outsider and that I could not help in their educational growth at this school. They have greatly improved now. Just wanting to see that help for other students becomes readily available and that cultural and educational need of the student will improve to an a level best suited to the growth of students of all cultures who attend. Please make parent and administrational communication an added plus. Our childrens futures depend on improvement of all levels at Walnut Hill.

Walnut Hill Elementary School 5

Posted March 24, 2004
- a parent
I am what could be concidered a generational parent. My children, nieces, and nephews all have gone to Walnut Hill. When I discovered this site, I was appalled to read comments written by someone in Jan. and Feb. 04 that were so negative and definitely untrue. Walnut Hill is recognized by parents, staff, students, and community as being an exemplary school. One with a diverse population. Special attention is always given to making everyone feel welcome. Walnut Hill has a safe, secure environment. Walnut Hill has an ESL (English as a Second Language). Multi cultural education is practiced throughtout the building. The principal has a great relationship with the parents. Her dedication and committment is respected by all. The staff at Walnut Hill is outstanding.

Walnut Hill Elementary School 4

Posted March 18, 2004
- a parent
Great educational program with support pieces for all children and parents.I had 5 children go through Walnut Hill. The class size is small and the teachers are focussed and helpful. The Principal addresses conerns before they are problems she is available to help when asked. The children are pre-tested, their strengthes and weaknesses identified and addressed so that all children are moving steadily forward academically. Bravo Walnut Hill!


Walnut Hill Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2004
- a parent
Walnut Hill is an excellent school. This school provides excellent academic programs for our children. Children are exposed to an outstanding array of programs, positive events and diverse education. We rate this school high among the many wonderful school in the Omaha Public Schools. Thanks to the very outstanding Principal who promotes academic excellence. A big 'shout out' for her high quality leadership.

Walnut Hill Elementary School 1

Posted February 11, 2004
- a parent
Would like to see more cultural programs for students. Art work programs, mardi gras festivals. Black history programs. Principal has poor leadership skills. Bake sales, anything that will raise money to promote cultural learning for students. Princilple has lost sight of this. Maybe time to get new principal.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walnut Hill Elementary School
4370 Hamilton St, Omaha, NE  68131
(402) 554-8644
Last modified Walnut Hill Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walnut Hill Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top