Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westside Middle School 5

Posted September 17, 2015
- a student
Westside is an amazing school district. My parents opted me in and it was the greatest decision we've made. To a previous comment: Things have changed. The gifted program is now a way students can participate in seminars with much extracurricular activities that are also presented in a fun way and everyone I talk to has fun. And students do get punished for mediocre work. It's called failing. The grading system is very tight in order to weed out good grades from bad. Nowadays there is also specialized reading classes, for those who need a little extra help. You can choose between three languages to choose as well. And Spanish needs to be the way it is. The first semester is a well needed review, and the second semester starts on more of the advanced stuff. New students to the district take a special Spanish class to catch them up, if they choose to take the Spanish route. Based on previous comments, I, as a student can surely say things have changed, and Westside Middle School is nearly perfect, despite minor inequivalent errors.

Westside Middle School 5

Posted April 07, 2015
- a community member
I went to westside from gretna and the first week i was happier than i ever was in gretna. THE END


Westside Middle School 5

Posted January 31, 2014
- a community member
For everyone who is saying Westside is a bad school below, get with the times. I am an EY (excellence in youth) student which is an advanced placement thing. The teachers will adjust the difficulty of the work based on your ability, so it doesn't matter that they are all lumped together. The fact that we have the variety of ability in our school makes it feel like you are never alone. We constantly read and type/write, taking notes, reading out of textbooks, reading examples, every Tuesday reading for 30 minutes. The honors English program is now available to all kids in the high school.

Westside Middle School 1

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
Westside has excellent elementary schools, but the middle school is a disaster. It is a waste of two years. Other than Math, all kids take the same classes, regardless of ability. So, in English, Science, etc., you have the brightest kids sitting next to the slowest. There is very little writing or reading in the curriculum. Students are allowed to turn in mediocre work, with no consequence. Communication with the parents in nonexistent. The EY (gifted) program is a joke; students take a one-quarter-long class and that's it. That particular teacher refuses to answer parent questions and the administration does not care. We had to move one of our children to a private school. Another is there now. Despite being very bright, he is failing classes. Discipline is a problem. Students will be removed from class (by the resource officer) for swearing at the teacher, then they'll be back 2 or 3 days later. It makes it very difficult for the good kids to learn.

Westside Middle School 5

Posted December 26, 2008
- a parent
Westside is exceptional. My only wish is that they would spend less on technology and more on the most valuable asset - educators.


Westside Middle School 2

Posted July 08, 2008
- a parent
Lacks discipline in classroom and accountability for student work. Teachers are not supported by the administration. Kids allowed an entire quarter to turn in work without any consequence (reduced grade, or a 0)! Does not challenge high end learners in the classroom, except for math. All other subjects, all learners lumped together. Only district to not have Honors English for Freshmen. The Middle school Honors English program is for only 12-15 students (out of 440 students) and while good, it's only a semester. This district has the 'we know what's best attitude and studies show...' Very disappointing experience.

Westside Middle School 5

Posted January 14, 2008
- a student
They make you do your best and will not give up. teacher[s] are nice and not miss leading.

Westside Middle School 5

Posted August 07, 2007
- a parent
I feel this is the best school for my kids and happy for almost everyday is a great day for them and how quickly they are learning.


Westside Middle School 2

Posted March 20, 2005
- a parent
Westside Middle school has an excellent principal. Unfortunately, the curriculum presented to the students is lacking in academic rigor. Teachers are not trained in differentiation of instruction and all students get the same instruction, regardless of their abilities or previous learning. An example of this would be the Spanish program. Westside has Spanish in the elementary schools. After 7 years of elementary Spanish, the students are all grouped together for instruction. This included the students new to the district with no previous Spanish instruction. It doesn't appear to be too difficult for the new students so you can imagine what the other students are learning. My child read books in her English class that were read as a 5th grade student, but once again, everyone gets the same. Westside has an excellent reputation, but it is not because of it's middle school.

Westside Middle School 5

Posted February 04, 2005
- a student
There were good teacher and counclers when I was there. They teachers are very helpful when it needed. All the teachers wants you to pass your class. It may seem like their pushing you to hard but it will help you in the long run that's one thing I took with me when I left.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westside Middle School
8601 Arbor St, Omaha, NE  68124
(402) 390-6464
Last modified Westside Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Westside Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top