Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
685 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Marian High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 17, 2016
- a student
Mrs Spanbauer- continued support and compassion Mrs Genoways- encouraging me to try new things Miss Cavel- helping me with English papers Miss Migastro- amazing pizza and proreading my personal statement

Marian High School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 17, 2016
- a student
It honestly depends on the teacher. Some are amazing like Mrs Genoeays and Mrs Spanbauer than others are horrible


Marian High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a student
I don't feel that my voice is listened to. The principal rules with an iron fist

Marian High School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a student
They do not care if someone is getting bullied. The school will refuse to take action even if a teacher witnesses it.

Marian High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 17, 2016
- a student
They pick a few smart students and use them as poster children. The school quickly covers up all scandals


Marian High School 1

Posted November 01, 2015
- a teacher
The students are spoiled rich kids who think they are better than everyone, one girl drives her Porsche to school. The parents think their kids are entitled and rude. You pay almost $10,000 every year for an education you could get at a public school for free. There is no diversity. It would be the worst decision in the world to go there.

Marian High School 3

Posted October 21, 2015
- a parent
Mostly, a good school with good teachers. Most, but not all. Parents have gone to a 35 year math teacher with concerns over teaching methods; example: refusal to grade homework & use it as a learning tool, showing videos in class & refusing to provide more than two or three examples during a class period. She told parents she will not change her methods and the child should drop the class (several have). This school is expensive, bills itself as premier, and yet does not enforce good teaching standards for long time teachers.

Marian High School 5

Posted October 04, 2014
- a community member
MARIAN HIGH SCHOOL WAS ABSOLUTLY THE BEST DECISION I HAVE EVER MADE. I came from a catholic grade school, so Marian was an easy transition. I love my entire class. I mean sure there are a handful of pests and not so nice girls, but the majority are amazing people. I love all of Marian's traditions and I think the teachers are really teaching us to makes us smarter, better people. The faith life at Marian is outstanding. I ABSOLUTLY have become a holier person and have created a better relationship with myself and God. I think Marian is heaven on earth, and I really hope you consider it an option for high school because I have had an amazing experience.


Marian High School 5

Posted April 06, 2013
- a student
Marian is a great school that produces confident, independent, thinking leaders every year. The course work is rigorous but the teachers are great and extremely helpful. The teachers care about every girl in the school. The girls are hard working and push each other. Marian truly sets up every student for success by providing well-trained counselors, tutors, and a student success coordinator. The environment is great and accepting. Marian is my favorite place in the world. The teachers provide us with values worth living by and push us to be our best in every way possible. It is truly a great school.

Marian High School 2

Posted November 25, 2012
- a student
As a current sophomore at Marian, I have had both good experiences and bad. They put on a big front about how the girls act like a big happy family, when in reality, there are a lot of cliques and spoiled brats. I have a handful of very good friends there, but other than that I really am not impressed with the attitudes of the students, or the teachers. I went to grade school in the Elkhorn district, and have been taught by teachers in the OPS schools also. Many of the Marian teachers seem like they teach for money, and not for the love of teaching. I have had bad experiences with a lot of the teachers, and I am a quiet kid with a 3.9 GPA. I feel like the teachers don't really care about me. Why would they, with such a secure job through the parochial school system? I will be transferring to an OPS school in a month, because the teachers there are really great and actually care if I succeed or not. A good school has great teachers, and unfortunately Marian no longer fits in this category. Some people have better luck than others, but I am at the end of my patience.

Nearby schools

Marian High School
7400 Military Avenue, Omaha, NE  68134
(402) 571-2618
Last modified Marian High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top