Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
539 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mary Our Queen School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
Respectful behavior is a requirement (some kids are really good at hiding disrespect when adults are around)

Mary Our Queen School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
The definitely develop compassion for the less fortunate and the kids are nicer to each other than the experiences I've heard from friends who's kids go to public school.


Mary Our Queen School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
From what I've seen it seems like the kids whose parents are the most popular (friends of the teachers, or always at the school) if they are mean or bully other kids, it gets overlooked.

Mary Our Queen School 3

Posted April 05, 2016
- a parent
Mixed reviews on MOQ. One child loves it and has made good friends and is thriving. Our other child is very bright, but is ADHD. The teachers and staff seem to overact anytime he goes outside their limited view of how he should act. His voice is a little loud or he's slow to join the class and they label him as a problem. Also because the teachers treat him differently, the kids are mean to him. They want to expand their enrollment, but they are driving away families who are already there and contribute a lot both in time and money to keep the school going.

Mary Our Queen School 3

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
Mary Our Queen has a wonderful community of parents and students who are actively involved. There are many different ways for parents to become involved in the community and it feels like one large family. We love the teachers at MOQ as they are compassionate and educated and love what they do. The only problem we have seen at MOQ is the administration. The current principal needs to be removed. We adored the previous principal as she was a wonderful leader who was involved and loved her school. The current principal runs the school like a business. She is not compassionate and doesn't like to acknowledge any problems in her school. There is a large problem with bullying going on, but she pretends it isn't happening. There are no programs to educate the kids on bullying and what to do if there's a problem. Parents have complained on the parent survey but she continues to ignore it. We've also noticed she's involved in many other things and is rarely at the school, leaving her duties in the hands of random people in the office while she is gone. I would love for them to find a different principal to get the school back to the days of being one large family with a wonderful leader!


Mary Our Queen School 5

Posted December 20, 2012
- a parent
Mary Our Queen is the best school in the city of Omaha!!! We drive our children 8 miles each way to attend MOQ. The school is very academically challenging, and I firmly believe that our children are thoroughly prepared to succeed in high school & life. Our Principal's background in Academic Standards at the Archdiocese has been great for our school. Our teachers & school staff include the kindest, most loving, & supportive people I know. My children have adored their teachers & feel loved in return. As a mother, I have found numerous opportunities to volunteer at the school & church. Through the MOMS program, Home & School Assoc, & Ladies' Guild, I have met a group of moms who have become my very best friends. My husband has made many close friends through Men's Club & MOQ sports. They continuously educate the students on treating others as Jesus would, with kindness, respect, & love. The school counselor was swift & thorough in resolving an issue between my child & another, involving unkind words. They required the children to meet together & one-on-one with the counselor several times. The girls learned how to make better, more Christian-like decisions & are now friends.

Mary Our Queen School 5

Posted December 20, 2012
- a parent
I'm so happy we found Mary Our Queen. The teachers are excellent, they do everything they can for the students. A solid Catholic foundation, they emphasize helping others and the community. They have a rigorous curriculum and offer a variety of extra curricular activities. The school has competitive Math and Robotics clubs. I am thrilled with the school and couldn't ask for more.

Mary Our Queen School 1

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
The principal refuses to acknowledge a huge problem with bulleying within the school. Her method in dealing with the problem is to deny that it exists. Acedemically, Mary Our Queen lacks and is much worse than other area catholic schools. Socially, the school has great extracurricular activities, sports and a wonderful sense of community in which all are made to feel welcome. There are many opportunities for volunteering and parental involvement. I have to give only one star though due to the seriousness of the bulleying problem and the lack of commitment to protect all students by the principal.


Mary Our Queen School 5

Posted October 09, 2008
- a community member
i went there and it had great teachers and a great atmosphire we pulled together in time of need and is just a wonderful learning enviorment.

Mary Our Queen School 5

Posted July 28, 2007
- a parent
Our children have acedemically blossomed at MOQ. The teachers and staff are very committed to the students and families. Parents are very involved and provide a wonderful social support network.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mary Our Queen School
3405 South 119th Street, Omaha, NE  68144
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. (402) 333-8663
Last modified Mary Our Queen School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top