Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Lourdes School

Private | PK-8 | 261 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Omaha

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $97,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2009

I had my son sent to that school. He said it stank really bad. The dress code was destructive of their personal lives. The same content was taught basically each year. overall horrible
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

I graduated from OLL in 2003. I am very offended by the people who wrote that this school does not provide a good education. At the high school I attended, 'The Lourdes Girls' were the ones in the honors classes. I agree that sports is emphasized, but seriously, we kicked butt! Also, what other Catholic gradeschools in our area can afford a myriad of extracurriculars? I loved Lourdes and am so appreciative that my parents sent me there. My best friends now are the people I met at that school.


Posted March 26, 2006

We definitley feel that our children recieve a quality education at OLL. We are invovled parents that allow the administration to run the school and if we have trouble with anything we go directly to the principal and discuss the issue. There has been some new staff in the past few years, four teachers relocated due to their spouses jobs, one retired, and there were others that left for their own personal reasons. This happens with every school. We have found the teachers willing to work with our children in areas that they struggle. We have one child that is involed in sportts and one that is not and they both love OLL! Extracurricualr activities are available but depend on parent volunteers, however the chess club is run by a teacher. I am so sad to read the previous, sour grapes, reviews. We love OLL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

I graduated from this school in 1998, and I feel it prepared me very well for high school. I continued on to a public high school and saw the difference between public and private. Many of the public students were upset with what they thought to be a heavy homework load. I remember Our Lady of Lourdes being difficult at times, but I was well prepared because I thought the homework load in high school was much less difficult. After high school I received a full-ride scholarship for the University of Nebraska at Omaha. I will graduate with a Bachelors Degree in Civil Engineering in May of 2007, and I credit Our Lady of Lourdes for pointing me in the right direction.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 5, 2005

A school with major 'internal' problems. School lacks leadership to develop necessary academic improvements. During the past few years little regard given to music and art as well as technology. Sports are overdone. Discipline is not consistent. Keep looking for a school, this one is not for you unless your kids can teach themselves.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted June 29, 2005

This has always been a very cliquish school. It depends on who you are as to how your child will be treated. There is extreme favortism shown to certain families by the administration on down to faculty and staff. Sadly enough with all the turmoil, educating the children comes second. There is alot of parental invovement by a select group who want their say. Extracurriculars are all sports related. The enrollment has plummeted in the last few years due to constant turmoil and bickering. We, as many parents, have removed our children. I would not recommend enrolling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2005

This could be a wonderful school,if staff changes are done, from principal down. Your children need to be smart to go there, I have taken my kids out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

First of all, there are at two other excellent parochial schools both within 2 miles of Our Lady of Lourdes (St Thomas More & St Cecilia's) There is also a fairly well-respected public elementary school 5 blocks away. Bottom line: Our Lady of Lourdes has had serious problems within their administrative ranks and allows too much influence from a few, favored Catholic parents. Sports are emphasized with very few non-athletic extracurricular activities offered. Nice neighborhood but avoid this school until they iron out their issues. Overall academics are good but we can honestly say that we would have sent our children elsewhere had we known what we know now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2004

My kids started as preschoolers, spent afternoons in extended care, and are now progressing nicely through elementary school. I feel that they are receiving an excellent academic, spiritual, and social education. The sense of family and community in this school is strong. Parents are encouraged to be active in parish and school activities. A great school in a beautiful part of town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2004

Best school in area. Extracurricular activities are excellent if you're only interested in sports. Administration has tolerated more discipline problems by the minority of students at the expense of the majority of students. A few parents have too much influence in school administrative decisions. Over 50% of the faculty has been replaced in the last two years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2003

OLL is a fantastic parish-supported Catholic schoool. Our children have attended school there for several years. The education is superior. The teachers are incredible. Parental involvement is strongly encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 70%
Hispanic 8% 16%
Black 4% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Omaha
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2124 South 32nd Avenue
Omaha, NE 68105
Phone: (402) 341-5604

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT