Advertisement
Advertisement

Roncalli Catholic High School

Private | 9-12 | 340 students

 
 

Living in Omaha

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $132,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2012

Attending Roncalli Catholic High School has been one of the best decisions of my life. I am currently a senior at this amazing school, and I know everybody in the school. Our student body is active and cares about the school. The teachers at our school are top notch. We are the only school in Omaha to offer an ACT Prep class to junior students. This class boosts scores by an average of three points. Our school is passionate about community service, requiring a minimum of 60 to graduate. Recently, we donated 91 pints of blood to the American Red Cross. One third of the school donated, and most were stopped because of the age requirement. When you hear about the school's camaraderie, I can tell you from experience that every word of that is true. We are a family, win or lose, success or failure. Roncalli Catholic High School is also the only Catholic school in Omaha that has a Culinary Team, and we have had lots of success. We won the 2010 and 2011 State Pro-Start Culinary Titles and attended the National Competition. The education I have received at Roncalli Catholic High School will carry me into my future well prepared for any challenge I will meet. Roll Pride
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2011

i attended Roncalli and my daughter goes there now. The education she gets there is SO much BETTER than what is offered in the Omaha Public Schools. Not even close!! And due to it's smaller size she is friends with kids from all grades and all backgrounds. The school has only gotten better over the years and the facility upgrades going on are an example of how the school is continuing to improve. The eachers are 100% committed to helping prepare the students for college and beyond. The new president, Jeff Dempsey, is doing an awesome job, as is principal Chad Holtz. My only problem is that it seems the same parents are always the ones doing the volunteering to help with any/all projects, fundraisers, repair/improvement needs, etc., etc. at the school. A majority of families receive some sort of financial assistance yet many of those parents don't give back by volunteering. I would like to see the school somehow hold ALL families accountable for donating, time, talent or treasure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

I believe in the School, I have had 1 child graduate and in College something we never thought would happen. But Roncalli believed in her and helped her succeed. I have a Junior there now, and she is also succeeding way beyond her potential. School is fantastic it is one big family. Everyone cares about everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

Roncalli is the best! I could not have seen myself this happy at any other school. It is a great place to learn and has an amazing atmosphere. It's definitely better than the public schools in Omaha.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2009

Although my son has had a few problems, none of these are due to the school. Although he has struggled, the school and the teachers remain committed to helping him succeed. I am glad he goes there and would not send him anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

This is the best high school i wouldnt have chose any other. Everyone is friends there, even if they are in different grades. The teachers are fantastic and i feel that they prepared my kids for the future in an outstanding way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

compared to most catholic schools in Omaha, it is not as good; but much better than Omaha Public Schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2008

fantastic school. well rounded education. close community.


Posted September 28, 2006

My daughter graduated in May 2006. The 4 years she spent at Roncalli were better than I could have imagined. The comradery of the students is unbelievable. The staff actually cares about the well being of your child all the while helping you to instill excellent morals and values in them. My daughter started college this year actually wishing she were still at Roncalli!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

My daughter just graduated in May 2003 and the past four years at Roncalli Catholic were the best. The faculty and staff are all quality people with the best interest of the student as a top priority. I feel she is well prepared to meet the challegnes of college on both a personal and educational level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 80%
Black 15% 5%
Hispanic 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 2% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 90% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 4% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 2% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 2% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Hmong
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Hmong
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
School Leader's name
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Culinary

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Hmong
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Omaha
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • DECA
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 2%
4 year college - 90%
Military - 4%
Vocational - 2%
Workforce - 2%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6401 Sorensen Pkwy
Omaha, NE 68152
Website: Click here
Phone: (402) 571-7670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT