Advertisement
Advertisement

Creighton Preparatory School

Private | 9-12 | 1036 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Omaha

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 17, 2012

I graduated from Prep in 1996 and will always look back on the experience as one of the best things in my life. After years in the Millard school system, the studies were challenging and while I never really felt like I fit in, the experience shaped me and prepared me for life better than I ever could have known at the time. The teachers are all in, and are working to bring out the best version of you possible, and to prepare students to be independent post HS. Regarding academics, college was a breeze after attending Prep. I wish every young person had an opportunity to attend a school like this as the world would be a much better place.


Posted March 1, 2012

My son went to Prep for one semester. If your son is in the top 1/3 of his jr high class and a good athlete he will love this school. If your son is average and willing to do about 3 hours of homework a night he will do fine, too. But if your son is only average and not willing to do about 3 hours of study he will not do well. at Prep. Prep is a great school but if you are only an average student you better have a really good work ethic about studying or you are going to struggle. Prep is a great school but definitely not for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

As a current student I feel great about Prep. If you have a son send him to Prep, it will be a life changing experience. At first I was skeptical but after the first week I understood that this is the place to be. Even if you aren't catholic the experience is phenomenal. A lot of rumors are spread about Prep like, "they're all snotty rich kids" or "they're not all straight", and my response to all of these is that it is a bunch of baloney. Prep has Excellent Teachers, Strong Leadership and the courses are challenging but the teachers will guide you through it. But the nice thing about the teachers is that they help you, but they help from a distance so you are independently dependent. (If that makes sense). The teachers provide lots of help, but they don't hold your hand through the process. So, in finally words, Prep is simply the best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2011

Simply put the best high school to prepare you son for college and a successful life. If you have a son please send him here. When your son enters as a freshman, you may feel tuition is expensive but by the time he graduates you will feel it was the best value of your life!! The freshman retreat is a life changer and really builds the brotherhood your son will have with fellow classmates & alumni for the rest of their life. The staff will really try to work through any issues you encounter including financial. Pax Christi
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

As a grad I support this school. When I was a student I did think the classes were very difficult and intense, and they are. This helped me get ready for college classes, it actually made a lot of the easier as I knew what to do. They also have a wonderful music program, 3rd in the country when I was there in 2004. Also tons of financial aid available to help families. The student body and be "tough" but that is the same with every other high school.


Posted March 22, 2010

Prep is a great school! The classes are very challenging and the teachers really seem to care about their students. Only complaint is that their grading scale is a bit low compared to other area high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

This school taught me a lot about how to make it after high school...
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 15, 2009

As a freshman at Prep right now, I can say with absolute certainty that I will stay at Prep for all my high school years. A previous review said that there are two distinctive 'cliques' - those who play many sports, and those who are academically inclined. From my experience at Prep (including the notorious Freshman Retreat), I feel like I am accepted there for who I am. You really get a sense of brotherhood at this school that you wouldn't at others; it's a sort of bond with your classmates that you can't feel unless you experience it. The academics are well suited for any level with many varied AP and Honors degrees, and the teachers are interesting and effective. I actually look forward to going to school nowadays, a big change from last year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 28, 2008

As a student attending Prep, I have to say I have had a horrible time here. It's a very demanding academic venture, quite frankly, that is a little too much for the average student to take on (such as myself). I've put forth the effort but yet it doesn't ever seem to pay off. As far as the student body goes, they are not the type of people I would hang out around. At Prep, you either play lot's of sports, or you are very committed to your studies, and I am neither of those. On a final note, everyone I have talked to that is currently in college, says it's either much easier or less difficult than Prep was, which is kind of astounding. In my opinion, if you aren't planning on sending your child to a demanding college, then save your money and go public.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2007

For most students however, this school is amazing, many incredible opportunities that I will never regret having. The art program is astounding, most of the teachers are amazing. Fun environment, lackluster theology if you are not catholic. Science department is a plus, Mr. Higgins for honors physics is one of the best times I've ever had in a science class.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 5, 2006

As middle-May approaches me it is time I look forward to college that approaches rapidly and look back as highschool quickly fades away unwillingly. Creighton Prep to me has been a second home, and second family, a huge oppertunity. Prep not only guides your young man to a graet education but it also guides them to be better people and citizens within the community. The academics are heads above the rest, the teachers are not only our educators but our friends. As the class of 2006 prepares to graduate many are leaving Prep with excellent educations including two students who scored a perfect 36 on the ACT and a good number of students who scroed 30-35. The teachers who are here live Prep, they aren't here just to teach us like many public school teachers tend to be.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 12, 2005

For Omaha, Creighton Prep offers the best program of education that I have seen. What the students learn during school at Prep will carry them all the way through University and in my case, the note taking and outlining skills have even helped in Law School. More importantly, Creighton Prep teaches young men how to live with integrity, honesty and morality. It teaches them the life skills that most other school will barely touch. Parent involvement at Creighton Prep is actually much more sparse than I have seen at other high schools, but this is generally a good thing because the teachers are all heavily and directly involved in the student's lives. They are role-models, educators and leaders not only in the school but also in the greater Omaha community. They don't monitor, but lead the students in helping others outside the school.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 80%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% N/A
Hispanic 2% 11%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • JSEA
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Omaha
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7400 Western Ave
Omaha, NE 68114
Phone: (402) 393-1190

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Parrish Program
Omaha, NE


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT