Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Stephen The Martyr School 1

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
This is an ok school. It's more about "show" than anything else. Don't apply for financial aid..you won't get it...the parish is money hungry and won't go out of it's way to help anyone in financial need. The current principal lacks the vision for the future and the current pastor is NOT a supporter of Catholic Education. There are many other private schools in the area that I'd encourage others to look at before this one. Parents here think they are entitled to everything as well! Not much of a community, but a hierarchy of "do it this way or else." Teachers are underpaid and not encouraged by professional development to better themselves! Too bad b/c this COULD be an outstanding school. Over the past few years, we've lost way too many good teachers.

St Stephen The Martyr School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
St. Stephens is an excellent school with dedicated administration and teachers. Kids are challenged are learn to be responsible and self-motivated. There is a great deal of structure and clear and consistent discipline. The Home and School Association is outstanding, and helps to enhance learning with modern technology. This school offers a robotics program that is amazing! Great school. My kids love going to school at St. Stephens!


St Stephen The Martyr School 4

Posted July 26, 2011
- a parent
St. Stephen's is a very good school. However, the "Boss" (Fr. Tiegs) unexpectedly got rid of our outstanding principal this summer. As of right now, we do not have a principal for the 2011-2012 school year, and school starts in less than a month. The new principal will have his/her hands full. We are the largest Catholic elementary school in the Omaha area. So we need to continue to be one of the best. But it is going to be a challenge with our current leadership (or lack of leadership).

St Stephen The Martyr School 5

Posted March 20, 2011
- a community member
Although academics are very strong, the most important assett is the people. Most of what I hear from other parents is that there is a lot of homework, and too high of an expectation, both very appealing to us. On the Iowa test, 86% of students ranked above Percentile 80 natiowide. 50% ranked above percentile 90. Although part of the largest catholic parish, you still feel like part of a family.

St Stephen The Martyr School 2

Posted March 05, 2011
- a parent
I started my children there, but it didn't take long to see that they weren't going to get the high quality education and opportunities available in the public schools here. If a child is average and not toward either end of the ability spectrum, then it's an ok school. There are parent cliques. Religion is emphasized, however, the church offers a wonderful religious ed program for the public school children.


St Stephen The Martyr School 5

Posted August 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St Stephen The Martyr School 5

Posted April 07, 2009
- a parent
My children love being at St. Stephen's. We have never once regretted the extra sacrifice the tuition is for our family. The teachers are outstanding! Our children are learning to be great students, but even more importantly, they are learning to be great people.

St Stephen The Martyr School 5

Posted January 09, 2009
- a parent
We have been a memeber for 8 years. We love it. There is a lot of expectation for the kids which is good since they are pushed even harder. We would not have gotten the 'Blue Ribbon Award' for our school if it wasn't good!!!!


St Stephen The Martyr School 5

Posted September 03, 2008
- a parent
We have been part of the school for the past 12 years and love it. They expect a lot from the students academically. My daughter is sailing through public high school, taking AP college courses as a sophomore, because of her excellent preparation. Most people who don't like the school, have undisciplined kids.

St Stephen The Martyr School 2

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
It is a daycare not at school. Especially at the middle school level, i would strongly discourage you to send you're child to this school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Stephen The Martyr School
16701 S Street, Omaha, NE  68135
(402) 896-0754
Last modified St Stephen The Martyr School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Stephen The Martyr School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top