Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brownell-Talbot Schools

Private | PK-12 | 450 students

!00% of graduates go on to the college or university of their choice.

 
 

Living in Omaha

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $167,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $620.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 22, 2012

It is a great school for education. It also has a very traditional feel to it. It is certainly among the top private schools in the region.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2011

We gave our local public schools a really fair chance to educate our children and prepare them for the future. The experience became increasingly disappointing. They are simply too overwhelmed to give the individual attention and guidance necessary to help children succeed. Brownell-Talbot School has been an outstanding experience for our children. They are learning AND they are excited about learning, doing well, competing academically, in speech, in sports. They are meeting children from various ethnicities, religions, socio-economic backgrounds. They are benefitting from the most enthusiastic teachers, dedicated staff, an active parent-teacher association. We're just sorry we took so long to enroll our children here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

This school is shockingly bad! I discovered that more time was spent disciplining than educating the children. The education they did receive was substandard. I question why some of the teachers chose the teaching profession, they were so very inept. The attitude of the administration is appalling. Luckily, we have enough money that I can afford to pull my kids out mid-year. But I now realize that on the admission form the tuition refund insurance box to check is there for a reason.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2011

Excellent place for education, we are very happy with the academics and communication of the staff with parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

This is a college preparatory school that does MUCH more than preparing students to succeed in college. Brownell-Talbot teaches their students to succeed in LIFE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2010

Our experience with BT has been very positive. Our kids are encouraged to try new things, and take on leadership opportunities. The small class size is the main reason we chose Brownell. We are just starting the college application process, and are receiving a great deal of guidance. If you apply yourself, and follow the schools advice, this school will get you where you want to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

This is a school where it is cool to be smart.. Students are constantly challenged to excel in academics as well as extra curricular activities. The faculty is dedicated to help and encourage students to succeed in anything they want to pursue. The students are very well prepared for college and to succeed in life. We definitely recommend this school for all grade levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

Our children have attended Brownell Talbot since pre-school and their experience has been very good. The small class sizes have allowed them to participate in multiple extra-cirricular activities and decide for themselves what activities they want to continue to pursue. Our kids are quite the opposite of one another yet Teachers' and Administrators' are able to motivate both of them in different ways to be no just good students but good people as well. The Brownell Talbot experience has prepared our childern for life after high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

We started at Brownell-Talbot when my son was in 3rd grade. To be honest, I had my reservations about putting my son in a private school but was very disappointed with the Mc-Education he was receiving in the Millard School District. Not only was I pleasantly surprised by the diversity that Brownell-Talbot had to offer, I was very pleased with how the school offered various financial aid options. My son is about to enter the high school level at B-T and he has been involved in nearly every activity they have to offer. Because the school's primary focus is on college preparedness, he has already earned scholarship money for college from one of the various academic competitions he participated in. I am very grateful for the opportunities this school presents their students and for the well-rounded individuals that they help create. This is a GREAT school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

This school was a great disappointment. We bought the hype about the rigorous academics and then when we moved our child to Westside, we found out after 4 years at B-T in elementary school he was behind on both math and reading. There were a lot of social problems at the school including bullying. Several of the teachers in the elementary we just awful and bordering on incompetent. This is a country club for rich kids. Save your money and go to Westside or Millard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

If you are financially well off and are looking for a school for your child to associate with other 'well to do' children, then B-T is the school for you. While it does provide rigorous academics, the economic disparity is quite evident throughout the school. Parental involvement in the school is high, especially by those who are 'financially secure'. I have taken my child out of this school and not only do I not regret it, I have found the public schools offer just as good an education where students do not develop an attitude of entitlement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2009

Brownell-Talbot School is a magnificent institution with a great legacy and superb current offerings in academics, sports, arts, drama, speech, college placement and nearly everyhthing else. The faculty are - with few exceptions - exceedingly dedicated and interested in the total growth of their charges. The atmosphere is intimate in part due to the pretty campus and, especially, the small scale of the school. Brownell has a wonderful quality of genuine diversity that draws from its Episcopal heritage but now extends a warm to scores of religions and all races. The legacy is unique and impressive. Founded before Nebraska became a state it was ' ... to assure the daughters of the pioneers a standard of education as is available on the East Coast ...'. Indeed, if this school were located in an eastern city it would not only be nationally famous but wildly over-subscribed - not to mention far, far more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

This school i have had troubles with, but the academics. The addmisstration can be disrespectful to children at this school. I have taken my child out of this school and do not regret it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2008

I had a fantastic experience at BT. Whether it's sports, play productions, journalism, or art, there are plenty of opportunities to get involved. The great thing about Brownell being so small is that students can be involved in anything they want. Nobody gets turned down for sports or activities, there is always space. The best part of going to BT was definitely that I felt completely prepared to apply for college. Starting College Counseling in eighth grade may seem excessive, but it definitely helps. By the time I started filling out college applications the summer before my senior year, I already had a fantastic college essay written that had been proofed by two different teachers. College Counseling allowed me to keep (most of) my sanity during a very hectic senior year. Making the switch to BT was the greatest decision of my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 23, 2008

Fantastic school in all respects. We have had children attending for the last 14 years. Students leave with a great foundation, all attend college, all receive scholarships, and many are accepted into Ivy League and very competitive colleges. All students have the opportunity to participate in sports , music, and academic extra-curricular activities. School has won state championships in Speech and Academic Decathlon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

This school is very good in the academics. Unfortunately some of their administration lacks the professionalism in social skills.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sylvia Rodríguez Vargas, Ph.D.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (402) 553-2994

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • speech
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • speech

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Speech team
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
More from this school
  • Brownell-Talbot School is Nebraska's only private, independent, coeducational school serving grades preschool through 12. Our student body comprises all major world religions and 32 percent diversity. Brownell-Talbot School is a safe, caring community dedicated to academic excellence and to preparing students for success in college and in life. Through experiences in academics, activities, and the arts, students learn passionately, think critically, act responsibly, and lead with integrity.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 N Happy Hollow Blvd
Omaha, NE 68132
Website: Click here
Phone: (402) 556-3772

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Parrish Program
Omaha, NE


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT