Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Omaha, NE
Students enrolled: 450
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brownell-Talbot Schools 1

Posted May 19, 2014
- a teacher
This school used to be a great school, but in less than 2 years the new headmaster has destroyed the community and the integrity of the school with her unethical decisions and untruthful statements. There is no proper process for evaluation and at any time, for any reason (real or made up), faculty and staff members can have their contracts revoked. Since there is no union or advocate, faculty and staff members have no one to speak on their behalf. As one student recently said, "The teachers are why we come to this school." The community and sense of family and security has been destroyed. In less than 2 years, over 15 faculty and staff members have left or are leaving. Some have resigned because they can't work in the environment she has created, others did not receive a contract or had theirs revoked, and some were fired and escorted from campus immediately. Everyone else is living in fear and updating their resumes.

Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
Brownell Talbot it a great a successful school. All kids have a phase/attitude in their middle school years. In public and private schools, it's going to be hard to send your kid to the perfect school. Brownell Talbot has everything to offer and knows how to give a great education. Just like any other school, Brownell Talbot has some non mature kids in middle school, but they will mature as they get older. The teachers are great and try to help the students as much as possible. I am so happy to have my 2 sons here. They love it and always tell me stories from school.


Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
We currently have our 7th grade child attending Brownell, and our son graduated from brownell in 2013. Brownell has been the best thing we have done for our kids education. Our son that is now in college has stated that he has felt well prepared for college and he credits his education at Brownell for that. To us Brownell feels more like a family than just a school and our kids love it.

Brownell-Talbot Schools 2

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
There is a terrible bullying problems to this school that is constantly overlooked, someone needs to address it. As soo a so it is addressed the school will be 5 stars for sure. The academics are very rigorous and challenging. Straight path to the ivy leagues but not without being bullied.

Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
Great leadership, nice and profeesional teachers, smart and hard working students. small class size, over 80% studenst involved shcool actives. Highest acdamics standards Best shcool to send kids to the top colleges.


Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a community member
This school is a small, but competitive school. They include many options for fine arts, AP classes, and extra curricular activity. We are a small school and it's easier for teachers to concentrate on every student. If you need help with a class, then they will help you out right away. They want you to succeed. We also have a college counselor who tries her best to get you into the best college possible senior year. You have classes starting in 8th grade called college counseling where you learn about colleges. You also know almost everyone in your school since we are so small. It's easy to make friends and you don't have to worry about being popular or not. There are no groups/cliques, everyone includes everyone. We also have a house system (similar to Harry Potter) which I really enjoy. Freshmen year you are put into a house. It really helps you get closer with upperclassmen. I'm also in volleyball and we only have 11 girls on our team. It's really nice and enjoyable because you don't feel excluded.

Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
As parents we are the people who have the primary responsibility to guide each of the children under our care from conception to commencement. We are truly blessed and assured that having our son attends Brownell-Talbott is one of the best decisions that we have made. We have already seen positive results of that decision. First and foremost our son understands how fortunate he is to have a trusted, proven academic curriculum, qualified and caring faculty, available in each and every classroom through- out the campus. We are truly satisfied and most excited about the far reaching effect that will be a positive impact on anyone, anywhere that a capable, caring, educated student can have for a lifetime. We are unable to come up with a downside to sending our son to Brownell-Talbott. He is our son but we have no doubt that he will provide warmth and light to all who cross his path.

Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
We moved our two kids to Brownell-Talbot after becoming completely disillusioned and then finally disgusted with our highly rated public school system. We were stunned at how fast BT became a second home for our kids. They are both extremely challenged and highly engaged. They have developed study habits they never had before (and never really had to develop before), and they are outpacing their friends in the public school system. The focus on excellence permeates the school - being smart and doing well is the standard and the norm not the exception. The teachers are fantastic and our kid's new base of peers is just amazing. It's not cheap, but it's the best money we've ever spent and we'd move into a cardboard box if that's what it meant to keep our kids there.


Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
BT is a wonderful school. He is excited to get up and go to school! It is a quality education impacting all fascists of his life. The teachers are wonderful!

Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted October 15, 2013
- a parent
I am both an alumnus of BT & a proud parent. The things I loved about it during my time there are still present for my children to enjoy. The student body is diverse both culturally and philosophically. They offer a quality faculty with a fantastic teacher:student ratio. In addition to the curriculum, there are many sports & extra-curricular activities and the smaller enrollment offers students the chance to try multiple endeavors instead of perhaps being forced to specialize. The school uniform is not overbearing and helps eliminate any social divisions by keeping expensive fashion statements out of the equation. In short, I enjoyed my experience there and am proud to have my children attending & see them doing the same.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brownell-Talbot Schools
400 N Happy Hollow Blvd, Omaha, NE  68132
(402) 556-3772
Last modified Brownell-Talbot Schools is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Brownell-Talbot Schools Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top