Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
450 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
45 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brownell-Talbot Schools
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 17, 2016
- a student
While there are a few not so great teachers, for the most part the quality of the teachers on show here is excellent, and the relationship between teachers and students is very good, since the class sizes are so small. No teacher here is unwilling to help a struggling student by sparing some of their time for the benefit of the student. It is clear that the teachers enjoy their jobs here.

Brownell-Talbot Schools
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 17, 2016
- a student
While the majority of teachers are fairly reasonable in their homework amount, the amount of homework adds up quickly. There are also a select few teachers that do give unreasonable amounts of homework and this places a heavy burden on students that participate in a lot of extracurriculars.


Brownell-Talbot Schools
Develops grit: Agree

Posted April 17, 2016
- a student
The challenging nature of academics as well as academic interscholastic competition, speech in particular, helps driven students develop persistence and accustom them to the competitive nature of the world. However students who are not driven to take advantage of the opportunities provided to them will not gain much here.

Brownell-Talbot Schools
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted April 17, 2016
- a student
There is a culture of disrespect for the administration at this school, in particular towards the principal, and dress code restrictions are sometimes enforced overly strictly by administration. However, there is bias again towards specific students who are unfairly punished for their dress code violations, while others who are far more obvious in their violation of these rules go by unpunished for reasons unbeknownst to me.

Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted April 01, 2016
- a community member
Brownell-Talbot has been my home ever since I was a toddler. Ive grown up in the small class sizes, the loving faculty and staffs arms, and have grown to love going to school. Yes it has had its bumps in the road, but with a new Head of School things are starting to look up! I enjoy the small class sizes and the relationships that form out of them. The teachers always make time to help with anything from school to personal life. The academic rigor puts public school to shame, and i felt more prepared for college my SOPHOMORE year of high school than my friends at public school felt their SENIOR year. The College Prep aspect has an amazing councilor, who works tirelessly to have each student ready when application season begins. The School is also taking leaps and bounds in technology, as our infrastructure and resources grow yearly. A huge robotics lab with 3-D Printers allows students to begin their adventure in creativity all the way down in Lower School. The school has often been known as a "rich preppy school for snobs", but this stereotype has been mostly washed away. The students who work the hardest are those who are lucky enough to get scholarship to this amazing school. Most students aim to go above and beyond anything previous classes have done. The competition pits classes against each other occasionally, but also creates a strong sense of school pride. So while the school does have its occasional flaws, the reviews here fail to capture the amazing experiences available at BT. - A lifelong Student


Brownell-Talbot Schools 1

Posted March 19, 2016
- a community member
I have a daughter in the third grade with a severe, life threatening peanut allergy. The school promised me they were a peanut free zone but there is peanuts and peanut butter everywhere. When I complained I was told they can't police other parents. My child can die from this allergy. I am sure other children have the same severe allergy and a written policy is not enough.

Brownell-Talbot Schools
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
Teachers have a tough job there. Many of them are good people stuck in a sick system. They are afraid of administration and the Board and fear losing their jobs if they speak up.

Brownell-Talbot Schools
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
Busy work - not real outside learning. Again, not graded fairly and you can get a back grade if the teacher decides they don't like you.


Brownell-Talbot Schools
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
Rich kids know they don't have to apply themselves. The smart kids are babied and if they cry over a 98 on a test, the grade is changed.

Brownell-Talbot Schools
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 21, 2016
- a parent
The exact opposite is instill in the student body. There is no respect for the teachers or administrators and not to their peers either.

Nearby schools

Brownell-Talbot Schools
400 N Happy Hollow Blvd, Omaha, NE  68132
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 74 reviews. (402) 556-3772
Last modified Brownell-Talbot Schools is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top