Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
450 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 50 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Brownell-Talbot Schools 4

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
My son has been a student at Brownell since he was a toddler. The teachers are dedicated and my son's classes are challenging with plenty of individual attention because of the small class sizes. Best money we have ever invested.

Brownell-Talbot Schools 1

Posted July 11, 2014
- a parent
Notice how a large portion of the positive reviews were written about the same time in October 2013. The truth is that this school is a huge disappointment. The education is fine if your student is average or slightly above. The school does not have the resources for gifted students as they will lead you to believe. The athletics are substandard. Bullying is a big problem. There are some interesting families in the community, but the school is "run" by moms who are basically middle-aged mean girls. One of the worst examples of bad behavior was the BTPA President last year (2013-2014), which says a lot about the school's values. It is not even close to a straight path to the Ivy League as someone suggested. Just take a look at what colleges their graduates attend. The bottom line is that there are many other school options in town that will provide your child with a better education, better overall experience, and they will get into just as good (and probably better) college when they graduate.


Brownell-Talbot Schools 1

Posted May 19, 2014
- a teacher
This school used to be a great school, but in less than 2 years the new headmaster has destroyed the community and the integrity of the school with her unethical decisions and untruthful statements. There is no proper process for evaluation and at any time, for any reason (real or made up), faculty and staff members can have their contracts revoked. Since there is no union or advocate, faculty and staff members have no one to speak on their behalf. As one student recently said, "The teachers are why we come to this school." The community and sense of family and security has been destroyed. In less than 2 years, over 15 faculty and staff members have left or are leaving. Some have resigned because they can't work in the environment she has created, others did not receive a contract or had theirs revoked, and some were fired and escorted from campus immediately. Everyone else is living in fear and updating their resumes.

Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted April 24, 2014
- a parent
Brownell Talbot it a great a successful school. All kids have a phase/attitude in their middle school years. In public and private schools, it's going to be hard to send your kid to the perfect school. Brownell Talbot has everything to offer and knows how to give a great education. Just like any other school, Brownell Talbot has some non mature kids in middle school, but they will mature as they get older. The teachers are great and try to help the students as much as possible. I am so happy to have my 2 sons here. They love it and always tell me stories from school.

Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
We currently have our 7th grade child attending Brownell, and our son graduated from brownell in 2013. Brownell has been the best thing we have done for our kids education. Our son that is now in college has stated that he has felt well prepared for college and he credits his education at Brownell for that. To us Brownell feels more like a family than just a school and our kids love it.


Brownell-Talbot Schools 2

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
There is a terrible bullying problems to this school that is constantly overlooked, someone needs to address it. As soo a so it is addressed the school will be 5 stars for sure. The academics are very rigorous and challenging. Straight path to the ivy leagues but not without being bullied.

Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
Great leadership, nice and profeesional teachers, smart and hard working students. small class size, over 80% studenst involved shcool actives. Highest acdamics standards Best shcool to send kids to the top colleges.

Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a community member
This school is a small, but competitive school. They include many options for fine arts, AP classes, and extra curricular activity. We are a small school and it's easier for teachers to concentrate on every student. If you need help with a class, then they will help you out right away. They want you to succeed. We also have a college counselor who tries her best to get you into the best college possible senior year. You have classes starting in 8th grade called college counseling where you learn about colleges. You also know almost everyone in your school since we are so small. It's easy to make friends and you don't have to worry about being popular or not. There are no groups/cliques, everyone includes everyone. We also have a house system (similar to Harry Potter) which I really enjoy. Freshmen year you are put into a house. It really helps you get closer with upperclassmen. I'm also in volleyball and we only have 11 girls on our team. It's really nice and enjoyable because you don't feel excluded.


Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
As parents we are the people who have the primary responsibility to guide each of the children under our care from conception to commencement. We are truly blessed and assured that having our son attends Brownell-Talbott is one of the best decisions that we have made. We have already seen positive results of that decision. First and foremost our son understands how fortunate he is to have a trusted, proven academic curriculum, qualified and caring faculty, available in each and every classroom through- out the campus. We are truly satisfied and most excited about the far reaching effect that will be a positive impact on anyone, anywhere that a capable, caring, educated student can have for a lifetime. We are unable to come up with a downside to sending our son to Brownell-Talbott. He is our son but we have no doubt that he will provide warmth and light to all who cross his path.

Brownell-Talbot Schools 5

Posted October 16, 2013
- a parent
We moved our two kids to Brownell-Talbot after becoming completely disillusioned and then finally disgusted with our highly rated public school system. We were stunned at how fast BT became a second home for our kids. They are both extremely challenged and highly engaged. They have developed study habits they never had before (and never really had to develop before), and they are outpacing their friends in the public school system. The focus on excellence permeates the school - being smart and doing well is the standard and the norm not the exception. The teachers are fantastic and our kid's new base of peers is just amazing. It's not cheap, but it's the best money we've ever spent and we'd move into a cardboard box if that's what it meant to keep our kids there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brownell-Talbot Schools
400 N Happy Hollow Blvd, Omaha, NE  68132
(402) 556-3772
Last modified Brownell-Talbot Schools is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Brownell-Talbot Schools Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 50 reviews. Top