Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
31 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Millard West High School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted March 27, 2016
- a student
It depends on the class on whether too much homework is being given unfortunately but overall, it's not enough.

Millard West High School 2

Posted March 27, 2016
- a student
I love that there is great activities like homecoming/prom/ swing night and how there is great music and drama and art programs but, unfortunately, the sports are stressed too strongly. Our sports barely have any national championship compared to the amount of talent that we really have and the money is frankly being wasted. Also, the students in the school typically are more popular when they have more money at home. However good your home is or your parents income is determines your social status and that's just cruel... The guidance counselors and staff are obviously being paid to care about your problems but, they show that too much and I don't think they could care less to be there. Many of the teachers need to be checked up on more because a few are too strict so that if you yawn, you'll get a detention (yes, that has happened before... To me even) and other teachers don't even know how to teach!! I get great grades and I nearly failed one class (along with most of the rest of the class) because the teacher read the lesson off a paper and didn't know how to answer any question. While I know there is such great potential in Millard West, I feel a lot of our greatness (and money) is going to waste.


Millard West High School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
I rented a house in the Millard West School district so my kids could attend the highest ranking school in Omaha. I am happy with my decision. Academics: Millard has academies such as the education academy, culinary academy, and the entrepreneurship academy. These academies count as college credit. In addition, there are a variety of AP classes that count towards college. There is also a variety of standard classes from art to theater to foreign language. Building: The campus is quite nice: newer building, swimming pool, tennis courts, gymnasiums, science labs, art gallery, etc. All are maintained. On the negative side there is a lot of parking but never enough. Security: Millard West feels safe and secure. A security guard desk manned by two or three people is just inside the front doors. Also, a police car is parked at the main entrance at times and a car patrols the parking lot. Communication: The school keeps parents informed through an internet site, emails, newsletters, and recorded phone calls. If you are looking for a school with high academics, this is the place for you. The greatest negative is the lack of diversity.

Millard West High School 4

Posted May 27, 2014
- a community member
I am a grandmother of a Millard West student that graduated on Sunday. I just have one question: Where was the American Flag at the graduation service? You honored the Vets- but NO flag was in sight. WHY?

Millard West High School 5

Posted March 09, 2013
- a community member
Go West! Go Drwal! Best school ever. Fun school and great academics. I'm so happy that i'm at this wonderful school.


Millard West High School 5

Posted November 24, 2012
- a community member
i love millard west. This school has great academics overall. Good athletics too. I'm proud to be a wildcat!

Millard West High School 4

Posted February 01, 2012
- a parent
Millard West is an outstanding school. I disagree with other posts about the whole names and athletics business. My daughter and I moved from out of state her freshman year, and she got into the girl's basketball program right away without knowing any of the coaches or staff. She worked hard and got the position on JV when most sophomores and juniors just make reserve. As far as money goes, the students at West are very affluent. I don't necessarily think that the kids are too concerned with money, but it does play a minor part on your social status, which is very unfortunat.

Millard West High School 5

Posted January 19, 2011
- a parent
We think very highly of Millard West and the positive education our kids received there. They were encouraged and challenged with advanced courses and AP classes that gave them college credit. (I would skip the dual enrollment with UNO, and concentrate on the AP classes). Millard West has indeed won many championships the past several years: football, swimming, volleyball, track, to name a few. My kids were not the greatest athletes but they found many ways to be involved in a school of over 2,000.


Millard West High School 1

Posted December 08, 2010
- a parent
You can forget about athletics in this school unless you are connected. Hard work and ability come second after who you know in the coaches eyes. Just look at the state championships won. Not many and not in every sport. You will go far if you have parents that are IN with the coaches. The administration has lost all credibility in dealing with the coaches.

Millard West High School 5

Posted April 20, 2010
- a student
I love Millard West. I have attended multiple high schools and this was my favorite. The teachers truly care about the students and have a passion for teaching. I was challenged to do better in my honors classes as well as my regular classes. MWHS has a great atmosphere. There are very few fights and the teachers and staff create a safe environment. This school has great athletics and fine arts. I feel that they try to recognize everyone at the school. Millard West has nice and up to date technology that many school in the area lack. The only thing that MWHS lacks is diversity, which can't be helped because of its location. I have truly enjoyed my time at Millard West.

Nearby schools

Millard West High School
5710 South 176 Ave, Omaha, NE  68135
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (402) 715-6000
Last modified Millard West High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top