Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Millard South High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

A pretty ok school but not the best in the the state and a bad basketball team and football team this year


Posted February 17, 2013

I graduated from Millard South in 2011. I can confidently say that attending MSHS was one of the best choices I have made. I had the option of choosing Creighton Prep, Mount Michael, or Millard South, to be honest I was apprehensive at first to the idea of attending a public high school. However most of my friends where going to attend Millard South, so I decided to give it a try. At first It was not ideal, it took a while to get used to the layout of the school. After the first semester, everything turned for the good. The teachers are FANTASTIC, the administrative staff is AMAZING, and the extracurricular activities are the best part. Just like every school, there are students who do not involve themselves. They treat school like prison, make bad choices, and blame everyone else. The academics challenging enough for every student (From low-level to AP scholars). Teachers are willing to spend 1 on 1 time with each student in need. Advise to students: get involved, meet everyone, take nothing for granted, treat everyone with respect. I would not be as successful as I am today without the preparation that Millard South passed on to me. Thank you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2011

This school was fantastic. I graduated from here two years ago, college has been very easy. Millard South prepared me very well. The teachers and staff here truely care about each individual student. There is a place for everyone to belong at Millard South, it's a truely embracing and caring school.


Posted September 4, 2010

this school is terrible in all ways. there is no good things about this school at all the football team is also terrible in all ways
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 18, 2010

I graduated from Millard South this past spring. I loved being a student there. I feel that the curriculum prepared me for college. The teachers are great educators. The 4 years I spent there we fantastic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 15, 2009

Great School. Top 10 in the State. Great Sports, and Accidemics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2009

i am a junior at this school, i was supposed to go to millard west but i switched because of the mini-magnet program. this school is amazing, the choir and drama departments are also great!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 2, 2009

im in 12 th grade and i love this school it helps you out a lote and they really helped me when i came back from haven my baby
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

I honestly do not like this school. I am a freshmen, and the school is not really clean. The teachers teach way to fast and have a test over things within 3 days of learning it. The priniples and teachers judge students to much. and accuse us of things we never did.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2009

I am now a freshman and I love it. The choir and drama departments are awesome!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2008

I am a parent of special education students with learning disabilities that attended Millard South most of their high school years. Unfortunately, Millard did not prepare my children for college. Millard actually discouraged my children from attending college or taking the ACT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2008

I'm currently a Jr. here at Millard South. I must say that I love this school and I'm proud to go here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2008

Millard South High School has provided opportunities beyond the level I though I could reach. I have explored new horizons while attending the school. I enjoy attending many events and supporting the Patriots. Overall, we have quite a bit of school spirit. I will truly be sad when I receive my diploma on graduation. For those of you who are not impressed with our school, just get involved. It really is the one thing that has made my high schools memories ones that I will cherish forever. GO PATRIOTS GO! FIGHT PATRIOTS FIGHT! WIN PATRIOTS WIN!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2008

I'm a freshman here at Millard South High School and I love it here! Everyone is nice and the teachers are great. The security gards are not out to get students. They are there for the staff and student body's protection. It's a really clean school too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2008

People, I love this school, sure there's some teachers you won't like, but what school really has a teacher everyone likes? the security guards, seriously, not bad at all they are very easy to get along with. The principles are very understanding. I always feel safe and welcome at school, it's a great place to meet great people.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 5, 2008

THe principal and teachers are hard to get along with... most of the time they won't even return your phone calls or emails! The security staff are out to get kids. Honestly my kids were miserable while they attended this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

Millard South has provided a great positive learning experience. The School has many computers and their mini-magnet program has helped me develope various computers skills.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2005

Very high caliber of academics. School has many honor programs and is considered part of a schoo; system (Millard School District)that is one best in the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

514 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

514 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

513 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 69% in 2013.

508 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female56%
Male62%
Black, not Hispanic)29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic63%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch45%
Special education students22%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female73%
Male67%
Black, not Hispanic)54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic72%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch61%
Special education students33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students76%
Female70%
Male82%
Black, not Hispanic)46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic79%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch64%
Special education students39%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students77%
Female82%
Male71%
Black, not Hispanic)65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic79%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch72%
Special education students47%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 70%
Hispanic 9% 16%
Black 4% 7%
Two or more races 3% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14905 Q St
Omaha, NE 68137
Phone: (402) 715-8268

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT