Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carriage Hill Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 436 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2014

Congratulations Carriage Hill on your NATIONAL "Blue Ribbon" Honor. I know you are the best of the best. There is not a more caring, loving, kind and dedicated staff in the nation!! The teachers, principals & paras are the BEST OF THE BEST!!


Posted July 27, 2012

Excellent School. Our experience has been truly outstanding. The teachers go above and beyond to help kids succeed. I cannot say enough about the principal, staff, para's, everyone truly is top-notch! So fortunate to have found this school - we opted in to this school as our address is outside of the district. My son is going into 5th grade and daughter going into 2nd, they each started at Carriage Hill and we are proud to be Cougars! Thanks Carriage Hill!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2012

Never had any problems with this school. The staff has always been so friendly and helpful. Great school in our opinion and our kids love it too! Keep up the great work Carriage Hill!!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

I use to work here and hated it so bad. The teachers here are o darn picky, the head start teacher i use to work for was ok but picky. I will not suggest anyone o wok here as a para run and find another school...


Posted October 6, 2011

Our three daughters all attended Carriage Hill and had great experiences with the teachers. Communication from the school has improved over the past 12 years. Administration leadership is better now with Principal Kelsey at the helm. I was pleasantly surprised to receive a response to my email on a Sunday evening. She's made a remarkable difference at Carriage Hill. Thanks, Jeff L
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2011

We have been at this school since my son was in 1st grade. He is starting 6th grade, and my daughters are starting 4th and 2nd grades. We have loved every teacher we have had. I have been able to email or make a phone call with any issue and it has been resolved. The paras are great, the 'specials' teachers make it fun and my kids love going to each of them. The PTO is amazing and does a lot of good for the school. The principal is starting her 2nd year here, but I was really impressed with her last year... Excellent school, we are very impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

I moved to Nebraska and enrolled my children in this school on a recommendation from a friend. It was a HUGE mistake. The first year was rough but I stuck it out for a second. The special education department is a joke. There is no communication whatsoever. If you don't agree with the teachers, they simply dismiss you. The person in charge of my child's special education was so unbelievably inexperienced. She had no clue whatsoever on how to deal with an Asperger's kid and did not want any advice from me. There is a huge lack of diversity for a school so close to Omaha. I moved my kids to Ralston Public Schools and the improvement in their behavior and academics was unbelievable. Their new teachers couldn't believe the reports coming from Carriage Hill were about the same kids. If you have kids with special needs, AVOID this school. If you have kids with typical needs, you've also been warned. Many of the teachers I dealt with were out of touch prudes who had no clue what to do with a kid who was not a "perfect angel" (at least when the adults were around). This school is great if you are a parent who treats school like free daycare and wants to let the teachers call the shots.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2010

Awesome school!! I go to this school, excellent. Well we just got a new princible her name is Mrs.Tapp she's a super princible!


Posted March 6, 2010

my child goes here and in no way am i impressed by it. the teachers in no way show any real concern for the children.There seems to be far more concern about how the assessment scores look, rather than the long-term effects they re having on the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2008

I am extremely proud of the students, families, and staff at Carriage Hill Elementary. The teachers are highly qualified and dedicated to meeting the needs of individual children. The support staff help students in the classroom in a kind and caring manner. The PTO and tamilies are very involved in the school. We all work together to make this a great place for kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

As a parent of Carriage Hill, I would lijke to say how much I have appreciated the hardwork of both my children's teachers. They are supportive, caring, and so willing to help my children succeed! I also love the support staff and principal as well. I would recommend this school to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I attended Carriage Hill as a child and am glad that my kids are able to attend. The school has a wonderful learning environment with a great group of staff! They work hard to make each child live up to his/her full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

While I think the district may be good, this school appears to be uncaring about the real issues involving the students. Teachers and administration, except for one 3rd grade teacher that we have dealt with, have seemed unresponsive to concerns. There seems to be far more concern about how the assessment scores look, rather than the long-term effects they re having on the children. I honestly believe that the school could be a much nicer place under new administration and more experienced teachers. In the meantime, while we still reside in the area, we have chosen to move our child to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

My child has attended K-3rd grade here. We had one outstanding teacher - Miss King - two other mediocre teachers whose classrooms were less structured where children wandered off. We have found the administration to be cool and distant, but the school has good policies and constructive ways of handling bullying - keeping that sort of behavior to a minimum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2007

We loved Carriage Hill! We too are a military family and have been in several schools in several states. Our daughter attended 3rd-5th grades here. Carriage Hill has teachers, office staff, and a principal who make it a point to learn and know about each student (and their parents if they are in the building). The PTO is very involved in funding extras for the school. The extracurricular activities are varied and numerous (for 4th-6th graders) -- many are completely free. The school district is currently working to further improve the offerings for highly gifted students (HAL program). We experienced our best student-teacher ratios here and our daughter received individual attention when needed. We even made a trip back to visit the school from out of state. All our daughter's teachers, and the principal, remembered not only our daughter, but me as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

I cannot give this school my recommendation. We have had outstanding teachers and extremely poor teachers at this school. There are teachers here who we deeply love, but others who have had a very negative effect on our children. We have found the administration to be unresponsive to concerns. We have had difficulty getting challenging course work for our above average child (the teacher stated our child would not be allowed reading material beyond grade level even though this child was in obvious need of more challenging reading) and have had more difficulty getting help for another one of our children that struggled academically because that child did not perform at a 'poor enough level'. Our concerns have run deep enough that we have finally pulled our children out of this school and enrolled elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

This is the best elementary school I have every seen. We are in the Air Force and by comparison, the curriculum, class sizes, facility quality and teachers/staff are top notch. I honestly can not think of one compliant. My kids attend the before and after school kids club which is very inexpensive and they absolutely love it. We just received Air orders to move and I am heartbroken to leave this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

I have nothig bad to say about this school! We love it so much that my husband is trying to figure out how we can extend our tour for as long as possible so that our two children can spend as many of their elementary years at Carriage Hill. The teachers have been fantastic. We love that the kids have specialty teachers for art, music, P.E. etc. We really lucked out miving so clase to a school this great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 69% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female92%
Male97%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic94%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch94%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female97%
Male84%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic93%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch94%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female92%
Male88%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic88%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch85%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female92%
Male88%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic88%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch88%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female92%
Male77%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic83%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch75%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female75%
Male86%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic86%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch81%
Special education students55%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female88%
Male88%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic92%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Special education students45%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students67%
Female58%
Male76%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic70%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch65%
Special education students45%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female87%
Male77%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic88%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch65%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students90%
Female100%
Male84%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic100%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 70%
Hispanic 8% 16%
Black 6% 7%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 Cedar Dale Rd
Papillion, NE 68046
Phone: (402) 898-0449

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Columbkille School
Papillion, NE





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT