Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walnut Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

We have been a part of this school for 2 years now, and absolutely love it! The teachers are outstanding. We only have 1 year left here, and will be sad to leave this school when we move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

This school is one of the best in the Nation. We have had 9 different teachers and they have all been wonderful. There are many opportunities to volunteer in the school. The principal and staff are amazing, and they are dedicated to each child's educational experience. I have 4 children at this school, a masters in education, and I could not be more impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2011

We recently moved out of state, but were thrilled with our two years at Walnut Creek. Our teachers were outstanding (one of my son's teachers even made a point of going to watch her students' soccer games and events outside school.) I appreciated the strong emphasis on writing and oral presentations. Great GT program that lets kids explore their areas of interest and top notch music program too. There's also a supportive community feel: nights at Skate City, school festivals, etc. My kids were proud to be at Walnut Creek. Don't be put off by the test scores; I felt the education my kids received was excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

We have attended Walnut Creek for 4 years now and have two children attending here. We love love love this school. We will be moving away soon and we will really miss the caring, wonderful staff and families. Absolutely the best elementary in Papillion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2009

Our children attended Walnut Creek for two years before we moved out of the area. We loved this school and miss it greatly. The teachers are caring and very available, as is the leadership staff. This school welcomes families with open arms and enjoys an active parent base.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I love Walnut Creek and am happy with each teacher my son has had! I am glad my daughter is going to start Kindergarden at this wonderful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2009

My family moved here from out of state in the middle of the school year. My daughter's first grade teacher is wonderful! Very professional, compassionate, and genuine. All the kids adore her and are so eager to learn every day. The entire staff reflect a personal pride in themselves and the school. Mr. Melonis and Mrs. Wemhoff are highly visible and involved. Fantastic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

Both of my older children attend Walnut Creek. I am very pleased with the school and think it is ideal. My son has attended three schools and this is the best so far. My daughter only knows this school, and loves it. Next year she will be sent to the new school Bell, (because of growth and where we live). I just hope they can carry the quality of Walnut Creek over to Bell, where my younger son will also be going. Amanda
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

My son and daughter both attended Walnut Creek and found the teachers and staff some of the most dedicated and compassionate professionals we've seen to date. This was our children's 3rd elementary school they've attended and it was the favorite of them all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

My Children has just moved from England where they attended British Schools for 4 years. Moving here in the middle of the school year has been a challenge. I am very impressed and grateful of the professionalism and compentency of the staff, from Mr Maloni to the Aides who made the transition with ease. I am particularly amaze with the teachers who are very much involved in my childrens' overall behavior and performance; be it academic or otherwise. Their open line of communication has enabled be, as a parent to be very much a part of my childrens' academic experience. I recommend this school to anyone who is able to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2006

My daughter will be entering into first grade this 06-07 school year. Her Kingergarten year was a great one, she learned so much and loved her teacher. Her teacher shown such passion for teaching and the kids she was teaching!! I was impressed with how family oriented the school is and how they encourage parent involvment!! Excellent staff and school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2006

At first i really loved this school but after a few months i was not so pleased the teacher missed a lot of time and lunch was pushed to fast and to early my child complained all the time that she didn't have time to finish eating and by the time school was out she was really hungry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2005

Our 5th grade student had excelled in the Walnut Creek school. She was underachieving last year in the Omaha Public School she was in. We love the school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

My son is currently finishing his kindergarten year. They are definately very family oriented & I have seen incredible improvement in his academic skills. excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2005

I highly recommend this school. My daughter attended during the 04-05 yr and she was giving great attention. They improved her skills over a yrs time and she is doing much better. They are very family orientated. They gave my daughter the utmost attention. I appriciate them highly for it and highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 69% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female81%
Male88%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic87%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male91%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic91%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female72%
Male84%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic82%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students86%
Female84%
Male86%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic88%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students85%
Female88%
Male84%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic86%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female77%
Male89%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic85%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunchn/a
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female80%
Male79%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic84%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch27%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students76%
Female68%
Male85%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic78%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch45%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female77%
Male65%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic71%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch54%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female71%
Male65%
Black, not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic68%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch54%
Special education studentsn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 70%
Black 7% 7%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 16%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

720 Fenwick St
Papillion, NE 68046
Phone: (402) 898-9630

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St Columbkille School
Papillion, NE



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT