Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Plattsmouth High School 3

Posted November 08, 2010
- a student
PHS has excellent academics, with the teachers always making sure there's something new to learn each day. The building conditions are superb, and there's plenty of great activities for students to partake in. Despite all that, PHS isn't all that great. There is a high immaturity level in even the Seniors, and the leadership could be better. The administration is laid-back and doesn't get things done well or on time. The rule enforcement is also horrible. Thankfully, everyone can always find a friend, and most of the teachers are great. If you're going for the academics and the activities, make this one of your options. For anything else, however, please skip PHS

Plattsmouth High School 1

Posted March 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Plattsmouth High School 3

Posted October 31, 2007
- a student
I'm really in different about P-town High. We have good spirit and great teachers with great experience. But, I'v lived in Plattsmouth my whole life, gone to pcs since kindergarten and I'm not well known around the town. Classes are small and activities are pretty good.

Plattsmouth High School 3

Posted March 22, 2007
- a parent
Plattsmouth schools provide a quality education, however the administrators are terrible. Overall the teachers are helpful, the learning environment is great, and I would recommend this as a school for anyone who wants a quality education. However, if athletic success is a goal, you may want to avoid Plattsmouth.

Plattsmouth High School 2

Posted March 08, 2007
- a teacher
I am someone who saw upfront and personal the inner-workings of this school district. The families and kids are great. There are a lot of good, caring teachers, who work hard everyday and who put kids first. However, the major problem is the school leadership and the atmosphere of a 'good ole boy club'. By that, I mean there is this unstated code that allows the principals, and district administrators the freedom to do as they please and they cover up inadequacies for one another. There is an attitude of doing the bare minimum by administration. Teachers can and want to do more for kids, but their hands are tied by administrators, who are threatened by teachers with any kind of talent or ambition. The good teachers leave and the ones, who do the least, remain. Sadly, this district promotes the louses who do nothing and keep the status quo.


Plattsmouth High School 1

Posted November 24, 2006
- a former student
There might be a couple of good teachers, I had one, but for the most part it's a glorified day-care.

Plattsmouth High School 5

Posted May 17, 2006
- a parent
As a graduate, I received a great education. Went off to college and have had many opportunities. We chose to raise our children in Plattsmouth, all have graduated. It is a great school for kids to get involved and compete in sports and academics. It is like any small town, you get what you put into it! Those that complain may not have got involved in the right things, perhaps they chose the wrong path, and wrong friends. The principals are all great leaders who care about the kids. Those that have left have gone on to lead Class A schools. Dr. Heinen (she) is fantastic. She has been there 5+ years or so. Many of us who have graduated in the last 25 years are doctors, attorneys, etc... The only one holding you back is YOU! GO BIG BLUE!

Plattsmouth High School 1

Posted April 10, 2006
- a former student
I attended PHS and I have to say that it was the most pointless time in my life.The only thing that had any kind of positive influence in my life was sports and even those choices were severely limited.And the football coach at the time wasn't a leader or a motivator.We have always had some of the most talented athletes but never any coaches to make them into a real team.Most of the academics weren't worth the time that was wasted on them.It was boring, not challenging and not a fun place to learn, as if they had anything to teach.And most of the people there were the worst.If you didn't conform to a given group, and were unique in any way, you were treated like an outcast and picked on.


Plattsmouth High School 1

Posted February 16, 2006
- a former student
As an alumni (who can speell) i would say that this school is NOT a place my kids will attend. Their is not a single set of rules that ALL must follow. Yet 2 sets one for the 'regular' student body, and one for the students whose parents or relatives help the city. starting spots on athletic teams are decided by not your skill level but who your brother/sister, mother/father are. The minority rules. The teachers grade, and choose student aides the same way. Many of the teachers enjoy a long tenure with no replacement threats. They employee the same teaching styles throughout their long careers with no adjusting for the times. The parents of all students have always been very supportive of this school even though the system does not support their children in the quest for higher education. Shuttle your children to Bellevue its worth it.

Plattsmouth High School 5

Posted December 22, 2005
- a parent
Frankly im tird of reading the bad comments, i went there and I think that the school is ran GREATLY, there is NO racism so where that idea came from i have no idea and Dr.Heinen doesn't allow discrimnation AT ALL, and you please tell me how the school got awared for their 'most school spirit and good sportsmanship for class B' if this school is HORRIBLE? Unless you have walked a day and went to class in the school i think that you should keep your negativity to yourself i am extremley disappointed that the people that have negative things to say are the ones that have no idea what they are talking about.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Plattsmouth High School
1916 East Hwy 34, Plattsmouth, NE  68048
(402) 296-3322
Last modified Plattsmouth High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Plattsmouth High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews.