Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ralston High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 25, 2010

I like this school. The teachers are nice, most counselors are nice. My son is doing better than he was at another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

ralston is ok alot of threats and fights. lunch is the same pretty much every week . but alot of the teachers are nice and are willing to stay longer after school if u need it. um mmmm thats pretty much it ralston is an ok school
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2008

School food doesn't provide for vegitarians/vegans. Prom isn't for same sex copples. One minute late means no education for the day. (sweep pick up may have some faws) Other than that, great teachers. Majority of students get along with one another. Orginized for dances/games/activitys.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

This school has brought me a long way, from the place that I used to be. This school has shown me that I can accomplish things if I just try and if I put my mind to it. There is nothing about this school I dont like, except, the ID tags. More of a distraction than anything else. Other than that, one of the most perfect places to go to school, and make a future for yourself. One last side note, Papillion La Vista Senior High, and South, have nothing against Ralston. Keep it up, Ralston Rams *class of '08*
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2007

Ralston is a typical high school for a big city. The only problem I have is that they don't seem to in force the dress code very often. My other complaint is that at conference time you teachers tell us to e-mail you with our concerns about our childeren, so we do and you do not respond ever. Most of you are pretty good but they need to try harder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2007

Worst school ever! Please talk to students if you are placing your kids here. Learn from my experiences which have all been horrendous. Do some research before your children have some major trouble in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

My husband taught in R.P.S for many years and now we have a student in the high school. This school is one of the finest, most accommodating facilities I have ever encountered. The curricula are designed to enhance the learning experience and prepare the students for their future. The lunch program is perhaps the weakest link in the program. Some meals are marginal in quality and nutrition. The teachers are dedicated to giving the students every opportunity to learn and are available before and after school to assist each student reach his or her goal. The administration will work with the parents in placing each student in the classes which will be best for that child. The physical plant is new and inviting to the students. If your goal is quality learning, Ralston Public School is the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

I come from a very small school district in Virginia. I was afraid when I first moved here that my children would be swallowed up by a school system that was too large. I was pleasantly surprised that the Ralston School District gives my kids that small town feel in a larger city.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

246 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 69% in 2013.

245 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Female49%
Male52%
Black, not Hispanic)25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic55%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch38%
Special education students18%
English language learners27%

Reading

All Students70%
Female74%
Male67%
Black, not Hispanic)31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic76%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch59%
Special education students27%
English language learners53%

Science

All Students69%
Female66%
Male71%
Black, not Hispanic)31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic76%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch58%
Special education students30%
English language learners53%

Writing

All Students60%
Female63%
Male56%
Black, not Hispanic)29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
White, not Hispanic64%
Students eligible for free and reduced lunch48%
Special education students16%
English language learners40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nebraska used the Nebraska State Accountability (NeSA) assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math; in grades 4, 8 and 11 in writing; and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in science. The NeSA assessments are standards-based tests, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nebraska. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test.

The different student groups were identified by the Nebraska Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nebraska Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 70%
Hispanic 20% 16%
Black 4% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A44%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8969 Park Dr
Ralston, NE 68127
Phone: (402) 331-7373

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT