Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Community Christian Elementary/Jr High School

Private | PK-8 | 225 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Scottsbluff

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $104,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $616.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2009

My children attended CCS for all of their elementary and Jr. High years. We found all of the teachers to be loving and caring. The academics were far superior to the public schools, especially in reading/English. My daughter's high school English teacher said she can always tell the students who come from CCS because they are so good in English/Language! I highly recommend CCD to any parent considering private or Christian schooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2007

School is having lots of trouble. Many parents have left or are contemplating leaving. The principal has no control over the parents who seem to run everything here The principal is a yeller, but if his kid or a board member's kid is in trouble nothing will happen.I am researching other schools at this point. The wives are worse and have formed their own group to exclude others not in the same income bracket. A public school could not be worse than this. When a principal has to visit the public high school and sequester former CCS kids without their parents knowledge to survey them, there are huge, huge problems. The community is becoming aware of CCS problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

I spent most of my school grades at CCS. Some great things about CCS are the nice teachers and prayer times. In younger grades we were by far ahead of ALL the public schools. But, in jr. high it changed. We were no longer advanced in math or science and we all have to retake Algebra 1 in high school. Math was hard this year. Great for younger kids, but not for jr. high. Many of my younger friends arent coming back.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 7, 2007

Community Christian is one of the very best things we could have done for our children. Their academics are excellent, the administration is easy to work with and the teachers are simply awesome. They have also proven to be very competitive in athletics against much larger schools. Thank you for your service! ~ Brian
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

The school is losing students quickly. We had to leave because of finances and the kids made fun or our son because of it. We will miss the teachers very much,but the parents here are just awful. We arent the only ones leaving, but more support for our circumstances woulve been kinder. Average academics, some of the public schools in the area rate higher. Some bullies in upper grades, but our boy will miss his friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2007

I am the parent of a junior high school girl. She's had a great education and great friends. We've been very happy with all the teachers. Wouldve liked to see more art and science activities. The junior high even gets a little Spanish to help out when they start high school. Very hard to find parents to serve on the school board and the parent club dissolved. There may be a few moms with too much power, but overall we've been happy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

My two children went to CCS for a total of ten years. I found the teachers and the Principal wonderful caring people that provided an education that placed my children at the top of their peer group when they entered the Public School arena. It is a Solid Christian education delivered by godly faculty, that I am so grateful were a part of my children's formative years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

My Daughter went to ccs for years, she did get a good education, but the kids are so nasty there and the principal and the teacher don't seem to care,they don't really seem to care about christian values at all, and one more thing if you do plan on going to this school remeber one thing, you will be fund raised to death, they expect the parents to pay for everything at this school, if they need new carpet in the class that your child is in they expect you the parents to chip in and pay for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

My children attended CCS K-8th grade and received a superior education. The love and concern shown the students by the teachers is evident; problems are also dealt with before they become out of hand. I highly recommend CCS to anyone who wants to make sure their children receive a superior education from a Christian perspective. CS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2005

Our son previously attended a public school that was ranked in the 98th percentile in Tenn. He was six months behind in classwork when he came to CCS. His teacher worked caringly with him and he caught up by the start of the 2nd semester. Christ is the center of the school. The principal works with parents and teachers. There are frequent celebrations in the school where children can wear period clothing, or even spray dye their hair(for that day). There are sports teams, academic teams which compete in the city, state and regionally. Some children win national distinctions. CCS is ranked in the top 25% of all schools which take the Stanford Achievement Tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2005

I went to CCS for 9 years of my life, K - 8. CCS has a great student to teacher ratio so you get a better education there, however no child should ever be sent there. At CCS you are taught that you have to be perfect, 'that coloring your hair is a sin' and other such beliefs. First grade teachers have told their classes about Santa not being real, and you are taught that you must conform. A few of the teachers were nice, but overall, I would NEVER EVER RECOMMEND IT. K.H.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 20, 2005

My son went to ccs, and I must say he did get a very good education for the 4 years that he was there, but everything was a big mistake the Principlal is absolutly horriable, the teachers can cut the kids self esteem down to nothing, and you must know that they do spank at this school, don;t ever try to get any help form the principal becasue he will not back up any child or parent only the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2004

My daughter attended Community Christan school for three years and for that she has recieved a superior education. People often comment on how smart she is and are also very impressed with her behavior. CCS really cares about students and their families and they are dedicated to helping them grow and learn in every aspect to be productive citizens. Now that we have moved I can only hope to find a match to its excellence in these areas and I highly recommend CCS to those in that area. Laura Johnson
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 70%
Hispanic 7% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 7%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

511 West 14th Street
Scottsbluff, NE 69361
Phone: (308) 632-2230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Agnes Catholic School
Scottsbluff, NE


Bluffs Middle School
Scottsbluff, NE




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT