Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elton M Garrett Junior High School

Public | 6-8 | 495 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 10, 2014

My daughter attends this school. She hasn't had any trouble yet. I pulled my son out to homeschool him because many of the teachers here have nasty attitudes and children should not be exposed to their hateful dispositions. They were verbally abusive and just unnecessarily rude to my son and me. My son ahd a great attitude towards learning and loved school until he started here. He has quite a few friends in our neighborhood who are homeschooled for this reason also. Enroll with caution!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Elton M Garrett Junior High School has a dedicated principal and staff. They are willing to try new and different ways of education to enhance each student's ability to learn. I sat in on two different classes this year and saw extremely well-behaved, attentive students. Having taught many years ago, I know behavior and attentiveness are hard to come by.


Posted March 25, 2014

The worse principal ever. I would not recommend it at all. My son and I had the worse time of our lives. his stress level went to the roof, he was bullied by some of the teachers and staff. :( ;(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2014

Garret is horrible with special ed. I had the worst time of my life getting some help for my 6th grader. He is now out of that school having A's and B's. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2013

I think there is a lot of favoritism at this school and I think there are several teachers who do not enjoy teaching, but are trying to "hang in there" until they can collect retirement. Additionally, the administration does not hold teachers and staff accountable for violating district policies and procedures. There is a culture of lip service when parents express concerns, but appropriate actions are seldom taken. As a parent, you have to take matters into your own hands and utilize individuals at the district level. However, the test scores are good so it would appear nothing else matters, like crushing the spirits of the 6th graders who enter the school so they exit 8th grade with a complete dislike of school and lack of trust in the adults who are responsible for inspiring a life-long love of learning. Also, forget about parent involvement...the last thing they want is to have parents around, unless, of course, you are one of the "chosen ones."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

My school is awesome but the lockers are troubling. I like this school and there is many students that are nice and friendly to me. I love it.


Posted April 20, 2013

I went to this school in the early 1990's. It was a great school. I had a lot of fun and a lot of friends. I love Garrett middle school. So many memories.


Posted September 26, 2012

I am 6th grader at Garrett so far this school is awesome I am very proud to be a Garrett Bobcat!!!!!!!


Posted April 11, 2012

The school has allot to offer the students. Even though it is a small school, the arts are flourishing. In particular: the orchestra program. Mrs. Riley is fantastic! A firm but caring teacher that goes the extra mile both musically and in caring about the students. My son is graduating this year and is excited to continue with the same teacher at the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2012

There is a huge bullying issue at this school and there is favoritism. Punishment is up to who ever the vice principal is at the time and varies greatly.Little is done to contain the bullying.There are some good teachers there but the atmosphere there with the bullying undermines the good of the few good caring teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

This school has some veryy good teachers, and some that need to stay on topic and teach the students so that they can learn, not just teach their plan and thats it. This school is very spirited. I am in 8th grade and like three teachers will push you soooo hard. And like two aren't very good teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2010

This is a small school, but the principal and the teachers work very hard to provide for the best academic experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

I believe that Garrett Middle School has many fascinating quality's about the school, but we could improve. Garrett needs to observe the students behaviors in a more effective way. The students themselves need to be more mature too. Garrett needs to create more reasonable punishments too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2008

This was the best school Ive ever gone to. It made me sad to leave.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2006

I feel that the staff, teachers, and the principal are absolutely wonderful! My son had a very difficult time at M.P.K. Unprofessional is one of the words that I would use to describe M.P.K. So needless to say my son was very reluctant to trust anyone at school. We had a meeting with the principal, Ms. Hood and some of her staff. They were kind, understanding and supportive. My son is absolutely shining in there classes. He has accelerated classes and loves them! The teachers are fair, and they listen to the student, and are quite helpful in every aspect of the class. I am thrilled to have such professionals teaching my son, Thank you Garrett for instilling faith into back into my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

Teachers should learn to teach on a level that the students can acheive rather than pride themselves on how hard their classes are. Too much favortisim in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

180 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female60%
Male63%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian65%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch35%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant61%

Reading

All Students73%
Female81%
Male64%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian77%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch54%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female69%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian74%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch47%
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant70%

Reading

All Students77%
Female81%
Male75%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female56%
Male46%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian55%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch27%
Full price61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English52%
Not migrant51%

Reading

All Students64%
Female70%
Male58%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian69%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant64%

Science

All Students85%
Female84%
Male87%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian88%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch79%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 37%
Hispanic 10% 40%
Two or more races 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 6%
Black 1% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1200 Ave G
Boulder City, NV 89005
Phone: (702) 799-8290

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT