Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mark Twain Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 558 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, April 15, 2014

My family has been at this school for 7 years and will be for another 6. We have nothing but praise for the staff. They truly love these children and give them their best. I have above-average learners and I have never felt as thought their needs were being set aside. On the contrary, I've had several instances where teachers have created extra activities to challenge my children; things they can choose to work on once their class work is completed while their peers continue to receive instruction. I appreciate the feeling of community we feel here & have no complaints. Keep it up, MTES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2010

This school does not even come close to the standards I would hope for in a facility to teach my children. Not only do they not challenge students who are faster learners but they seem to cater to esl students more than any one else. The staff seems very frustrated to the fact that they are not allowed to do more for their harder working students as they are pressed to hold true to the "no child left behind" program. Further more there is a huge problem with bullying and racial segregation between the students. My children had to suffer 2 years at this school and we are moving specifically to get them into another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

I am so impressed with the quality of education my children are receiving at this school. My children have both attended 2 other schools in The Carson City School District and neither of those schools can compare to Mark Twain. The administration is incredible and the teachers and staff are amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

I won't move out of the district because I want all my kids to attend this school. Great teachers and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2007

I find this school in need of some improvements, class structure is very good, the staff very helpfull and caring. The district management is the real problem not offering progressive and challenging enviorments for average and advanced students. Its main focus is on below average learnig and esl students. A moderate improvement in this group will help the schools overall average at the expence of the faster learning students. I have joined the pta in hope of helping change the issues I feel need improvement. I have every confidence in the staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2006

Mark Twain Elementary is a great school.Both of my children have great teachers.We moved from CA not to long ago with a not so good school,My child was at least 2yrs behind her peers.Not long after starting she was able to read and write without help.Also her teacher(s) called me to tell me how well she was doing and let me know what to expect for homework and classwork.And even asked me if there were any concerns in any subject or matter my child needed help in.I never had a teacher call with good news like that,nor had them ask for my input.The staff at this school do an outstanding job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I love Mark Twain. I have three students at this school. I have always been able to find the help needed to solve most any problem. The staff is very open, and caring. Wonderful teachers with many years experience. Great, involved PTA! For the four school years we have been here, Mark Twain gets an A+ from me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

I personally believe that this school is not a good school. For the last year I have had nothing but problems with the school. As far as ciriculum is concerned they are not up to par in teaching. The teacher told me that they ranked last in the state like he was boasting why would you want someone like that to teach your children. I could go on but, some parents do like that school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

99 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female68%
Male66%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch64%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiency57%
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant67%

Reading

All Students53%
Female57%
Male51%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch49%
Full price65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Students with limited English proficiency37%
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female66%
Male60%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Students with limited English proficiency49%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant62%

Reading

All Students49%
Female63%
Male38%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian62%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch48%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities52%
Students with limited English proficiency33%
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female64%
Male55%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian61%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Students with limited English proficiency25%
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant60%

Reading

All Students68%
Female74%
Male62%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian76%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiency45%
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant68%

Science

All Students54%
Female56%
Male52%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian66%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch40%
Full price71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Students with limited English proficiency5%
Proficient in English68%
Not migrant54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 60% 39%
White 34% 39%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Asian 2% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (775) 283-1090

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2111 Carriage Crest Dr
Carson City, NV 89703
Phone: (775) 283-1000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Empire Elementary School
Carson City, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT