Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carson Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 22, 2013

Lots of teachers that go above and beyond to make sure that students are well cared for - really cool campus - principals here are the best in Carson City - make middle school a great time for my kids to learn and be safe!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

This school is alright. I think that the uniforms are not needed. People should let kids be creative and be themselves. A uniform might minimize bulling, but it doesn't let kids be creative. If they got rid of the uniforms, it would be an awesome school.


Posted August 5, 2011

I think this school is horrible. On the occasions I went to pick my child up early for a doc appt or the such, at one time they COULD NOT FIND MY CHILD! I said she is in this clss with mr.---- They responded with no she's not. I said where is she then? They responded: I dunno.. I said well can you call her over the P.A. system. Oh no we cant do that! Can I go find my child? Yeah sure. I'm sure she's around somewhere. Some girls in her class stole some things off another student blamed my daughter and she recieved suspension! SHe wasnt even there!. My next 2 are getting homeschooled, and will never set foot in these public schools again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2009

Carson Middle School is a great middle school. Being a former student i know can look back and see how much i really learned from this school. CMS has a great advanced math program that is by far superior to other schools. The teachers were very nice and always did their job. This school also had a great vocational program that many students enjoyed. Overall i think that this is a great school, and with the huge remodel it just went through it is extremely nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2008

I love this school! The teachers are super. Once when I had a little cough my english teacher let me go out two times. She did not seemed eritated. The pincipal is very nice and the dean is very nice and works with the kids alot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2008

im a most outraged parent! my child came home crying because her teacher let her getting picked on go by. my child has come home with tears in her eyes beacause 8th garders are always picking on her, but this school dose no seem to want to care. the nurse let a lice report go by as well. a boy had broken a bone and she gave him ice!!! I will be taking my child away and not ever returning. good-bye
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

I disagree completly with these comments. I loved going to CMS. I loved all my teachers. I learned so much at that school, beyond academic.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2006

I was highly disappointed when the first of four children entered this school and immediately exclaimed ' I love this school mom, we did this work two years ago in 'XXX' school. This will be a breeze! Not only has my disappointment at inconsistencies in policies, learning standards and expectations (etc.) grown; but, my children themselves have admitted that they know less now than they did several years ago - and that the 'basics' aren't focused on enough for them to build a strong foundation with. Their spelling, writing, printing, math skills, etc. are atrocious compared to previous levels - and I am seriously concerned about how this will affect their college studies ... as are they! They don't feel 'safe,' they don't feel cared about (with a few specific exceptions), and we are considering appling for a variance - or moving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

I think the school as a whole provides an environment which includes too much pressure on the individual and not enough attention to the individual. They lack an effective and timely approach to student who are falling behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

Hi! I think that CMS is one of the best schools ever. The teachers are really nice, and they teach you a lot of things. They always offer you help whenever you need it. The offer a lot of things (extracurricular activites) to do, and the teachers are concerned about your education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 21, 2004

I don't think this school deals with racial issues very well as it pertains to African American. I don't think a parent should have to notify the NAACP before the administration sits up and takes notice. Carson City is one of the riches city in the state for African American History but it is not taught as apart of Nevada History or History in general. If you have an African American student going to this school please be attentive to the way they are treated and speak up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2004

I am a current student at this school and I dont think the teachers are doing the best they can to teach us. Most of my techers are but when I was in the sixth and seventh grade it seemed like they only talked to us instead of teached us.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

385 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

330 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female49%
Male49%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian56%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch37%
Full price65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)27%
Students without disabilities52%
Students with limited English proficiency6%
Proficient in English56%
Not migrant49%

Reading

All Students69%
Female78%
Male61%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch62%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)39%
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiency22%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female55%
Male51%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian64%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch40%
Full price67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities58%
Students with limited English proficiency4%
Proficient in English56%
Not migrant53%

Reading

All Students64%
Female68%
Male61%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch51%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiency4%
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
Female41%
Male46%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian51%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch30%
Full price55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities46%
Students with limited English proficiency4%
Proficient in English46%
Not migrant43%

Reading

All Students59%
Female62%
Male56%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian68%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch41%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities63%
Students with limited English proficiency4%
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant59%

Science

All Students56%
Female50%
Male62%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian67%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch41%
Full price69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities60%
Students with limited English proficiency4%
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 37%
Hispanic 38% 40%
Two or more races 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 6%
Black 1% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1140 West King St
Carson City, NV 89701
Phone: (775) 283-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Keystone School
Carson City, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT