Report this review as inappropriate

« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
Public district
Carson City, NV
Students enrolled: 1,175

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

Carson Middle School 5

Posted December 22, 2013
- a parent
Lots of teachers that go above and beyond to make sure that students are well cared for - really cool campus - principals here are the best in Carson City - make middle school a great time for my kids to learn and be safe!

Carson Middle School 3

Posted November 16, 2011
- a community member
This school is alright. I think that the uniforms are not needed. People should let kids be creative and be themselves. A uniform might minimize bulling, but it doesn't let kids be creative. If they got rid of the uniforms, it would be an awesome school.

Carson Middle School 1

Posted August 05, 2011
- a parent
I think this school is horrible. On the occasions I went to pick my child up early for a doc appt or the such, at one time they COULD NOT FIND MY CHILD! I said she is in this clss with mr.---- They responded with no she's not. I said where is she then? They responded: I dunno.. I said well can you call her over the P.A. system. Oh no we cant do that! Can I go find my child? Yeah sure. I'm sure she's around somewhere. Some girls in her class stole some things off another student blamed my daughter and she recieved suspension! SHe wasnt even there!. My next 2 are getting homeschooled, and will never set foot in these public schools again!

Carson Middle School 4

Posted July 02, 2009
- a student
Carson Middle School is a great middle school. Being a former student i know can look back and see how much i really learned from this school. CMS has a great advanced math program that is by far superior to other schools. The teachers were very nice and always did their job. This school also had a great vocational program that many students enjoyed. Overall i think that this is a great school, and with the huge remodel it just went through it is extremely nice.

Carson Middle School 5

Posted May 09, 2008
- a student
I love this school! The teachers are super. Once when I had a little cough my english teacher let me go out two times. She did not seemed eritated. The pincipal is very nice and the dean is very nice and works with the kids alot.

Carson Middle School
no rating

Posted April 09, 2008
- a parent
im a most outraged parent! my child came home crying because her teacher let her getting picked on go by. my child has come home with tears in her eyes beacause 8th garders are always picking on her, but this school dose no seem to want to care. the nurse let a lice report go by as well. a boy had broken a bone and she gave him ice!!! I will be taking my child away and not ever returning. good-bye

Carson Middle School 5

Posted July 03, 2007
- a student
I disagree completly with these comments. I loved going to CMS. I loved all my teachers. I learned so much at that school, beyond academic.

Carson Middle School 2

Posted June 02, 2006
- a parent
I was highly disappointed when the first of four children entered this school and immediately exclaimed ' I love this school mom, we did this work two years ago in 'XXX' school. This will be a breeze! Not only has my disappointment at inconsistencies in policies, learning standards and expectations (etc.) grown; but, my children themselves have admitted that they know less now than they did several years ago - and that the 'basics' aren't focused on enough for them to build a strong foundation with. Their spelling, writing, printing, math skills, etc. are atrocious compared to previous levels - and I am seriously concerned about how this will affect their college studies ... as are they! They don't feel 'safe,' they don't feel cared about (with a few specific exceptions), and we are considering appling for a variance - or moving!

Carson Middle School 1

Posted July 13, 2005
- a parent
I think the school as a whole provides an environment which includes too much pressure on the individual and not enough attention to the individual. They lack an effective and timely approach to student who are falling behind.

Carson Middle School 5

Posted January 09, 2005
- a student
Hi! I think that CMS is one of the best schools ever. The teachers are really nice, and they teach you a lot of things. They always offer you help whenever you need it. The offer a lot of things (extracurricular activites) to do, and the teachers are concerned about your education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families. 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Carson Middle School
1140 West King St, Carson City, NV  89701
(775) 283-2800
Last modified Carson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Carson Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top