Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edith West Fritsch Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 16, 2013

We just moved here just in time for school and I heard nothing but great things about fritsch elementary. Now that my kids are going there, I would have to agree. This school is amazing. The teachers are excellent and my kids are happy. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2011

We moved here in January and I can't say enough about Fritsch. The staff, teachers, and PTA are all caring and wonderful people. My daughter felt very welcomed when she first started and was excited to go back today for the first day of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

i just graduated from Fritsch and i woulod say that Fritsch is a really good school that has really good educated teachers. Fitsch also has a great principal and vice principal. Fritsch is the home of the Bulldogs so show your spirit every Friday and where red, grey, and white. If you want to send your kid here i would suggest going!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2009

My son is actually districted out of empire but since empire was such a terrible school and a school in need of improvment i was able to take him to Fritsch and i absolutly love the teachers and staff there he wants to continue on at fritsch and i just might move just so he can!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2009

I doubt there is truly a 'perfect' school out there. I like Fritsch and have had a great experience with the teachers my child has had.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

I am very disapointed with the lack of support and respect given from the principal. The teachers and parents are given vey few choices in the education of the student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

I have all four of our kids go through Fritsch and I believe it to be the best school in the area and one of top schools in Nevada.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

They refuse to help student below or above average. As a parent who is always involved it pained me to see the teachers and principal's lack of interested in making the school a success. If you arrive at the school past 3:15 you will not see one instructor on campus. I would think that our children deserve better. The playground is absolutely scary. The children are left unsupervised in areas and major problems have been prone to happen, teachers are rarely seen on the playground. The students have been seen in the front of school as well unsupervised. There are a few teachers who are very good at what they do. But with the lack of unity among staff and parents; you do not have a school which runs efficiently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2008

My son has been attending Fritsch elementary for 2 years and we couldn't be happier. Both teachers have been extremely involved, nurturing and supportive. My son loves going to school and the education he is receiving is excellent in comparison to other children we know in other schools throughout the country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2008

There is an odd feeling of discord throughout this school. Teachers bickering, school administration bitter towards parents and teachers and so on. Our children deserve better than this. We need to 'unite' for our children to receive the best possible education in a safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2008

We are disappointed in the way the administration handles certain issues. It seems instead of being encouraging, the higher administration is gearing more toward fault finding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

We have just completed our second year at Fritsch. We are looking for another school to attend. The office staff is very unapproachable despite the numerous hours of volunteering I have done. There is a severe shortage of services for children with special needs. I have heard a lot of evil spirited competitiveness amongst the teachers. With district changes, the principal of 21 years and 5 teachers are all retiring/leaving at the same time. There is a small handful of great teachers, however they are in the minority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

I recently switched my children to Fritsch from a private school here in town, it was very scary going to a big school, however, the office staff was very welcoming and eager to give my children and I a tour of the school. The teachers seem very knowledgeable, eager to teach and pleasant. My overall experience so far has been wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2004

My daughter has just started the second grade, I think the teachers are very polite, patient, and appropriate. However, I think the office staff are very rude to the parents, judgmental, impatient, and should keep personal matters of others out of discussion when visitors are around. I think that we the parents would feel more welcome to participate and volunteer etc....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2004

The teachers are great with the students but the office staff and principal seem very egar to have the kids leave or not to be bothered by them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

103 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female84%
Male76%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch68%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant81%

Reading

All Students60%
Female61%
Male59%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian68%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch45%
Full price71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female76%
Male80%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian82%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch66%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant78%

Reading

All Students82%
Female76%
Male86%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian84%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female56%
Male62%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian71%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch41%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant59%

Reading

All Students69%
Female65%
Male72%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant69%

Science

All Students61%
Female51%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch49%
Full price72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 37%
Hispanic 28% 40%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

504 Bath St
Carson City, NV 89701
Phone: (775) 283-1400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT